Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shaw Butte School

Public | PK-6 | 936 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2010

this was a really great elementry school at least for me. It had amazing teachers who taught really well.


Posted May 12, 2010

its really help my kids improve school thankyou shawbutte.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

my son goes to this school, and i think the teachers are really nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Teachers and staff appear to be quite capable and professional, but really have their hands full. We will be looking for another school to place our grandchild in, in the fall.


Posted May 24, 2007

My granddaughter has been going to Shaw Butte for three years and I feel that there should be special classrooms for the little or non-English speaking children, with a bilingual teacher. I believe this type of student holds back the progress of the English speaking children both in the classroom and in testing. I believe some non-bilingual teachers have left because they can't work with the language barrier of their students (without someone to interpret for them). I have attended some functions and see very little parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

Starting with the 2006-2007 year, Shaw Butte has a new administration. We welcome you to Shaw Butte and have started some new intervention programs to best meet the needs of all of our students. We also love to have parent involvement! Andrea Willingham(Principal) and Janice Moore(Assistant Principal)
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 7, 2005

If your child needs special services I won't not suggest this school. I would not recommend this school to any parent that truly cares about their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

School is satisfactory. Teachers seem dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Very diverse school, lots of different ethnic backgrounds. this school caters to forien students providing them with every effort to learn english and progress.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 26, 2004

This school is consistently behind in academic achievements. If the teachers didn't have to spend so much time with the students teaching them how to speak english they might have more time to teach the students the bacics. Maybe its time we start to look at the administration at this school as the core problem. Obviously this administration isn't getting the job done. The school is losing a lot of great teachers as of the beginning of the school year. Something has to be wrong for a teacher to leave a school and start over somewhere else. One more question, wouldn't it make sense, if the district is in such a financial hardship to do away with the vice principals at each school and have the principals pick up the slack. We could save a tremendous amount of money this way and could afford to hire the teachers needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

This is a school you should not send your children to. My fifth grader is in Shaw Butte, and has complained many times about it. The lunch food is either not hot enough or not cold enough, and there has even been hairs found in it. The teachers do very little teaching, and the students there are out of hand. The school grounds are dirty, and they do very little to fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2003

The lack of leadership from the district level and the fear that all have of the Principal is one of the reasons this school is underperforming again. The teachers are not allowed to adapt to thier students and are spoon fed an ineffective philoshpy and outdated teaching practices. Until the completely apathic attitude of the district and most of the parents are overcome this school will only continue to fail the students and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2003

My son has gone to this school for 4 years, the school is more worried about discipline of the child than the learning of a child. This school seriously needs to take a look at their test scores and do something about it. They are a failing school and I see nothing being done for improvement and I agree with the parent that the office needs to be looked at, I have not seen great things since this principal/asst. principal have come aboard. They have almost lost their entire PTSA because of this. I am pulling my child out the end of this year because they do not listen to their parents.


Posted April 7, 2003

Most of the teachers at Shaw Butte are awesome. My child has attended from grade 1 to 5. We cannot say enough about the teachers she has had. We need to encourage the teachers, staff and Principal, get involved, support them. This is a very large school...until you have walked in their shoes...it is really impossible to know how difficult it is to manage a school of this size.


Posted April 2, 2003

To find the number one problem, look in the office. Someone somewhere has to take a stand for our kids, they deserve better!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 42%
White 18% 42%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 347-4220

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12202 N. 21st Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sahuaro School
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT