Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shea Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 625 students

Core Knowledge/Fine Arts Signature Program
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 13, 2014

Welcome to Shea. Our school environment is awesome. We've become a Core Knowledge school and beginning in the 2014-15 school year, we will also become a Fine Arts Signature School. The Shadow Complex for the Arts will encompass Dance, Theater, Visual Arts and Music. Similar to the Arizona School For the Arts, Shea will offer great opportunities for all.

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

I have a child who went to Shea and a couple more to follow. My child had amazing teachers and was in honors. Shea prepared her for high school. Teachers and staff are on it. Couldn't be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

The School is fun! There is school dances and more.IF YOUR WORRIED THAT THIS SCHOOL IS A PLace with many bullies there is none.You don't have to be hot or popular!!! All you need is friends and don't forget that.You r You no matter what! This is yvette from my other review that I said ha to read that too it was written august 13th


Posted August 14, 2013

BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!!!!! All Pv schools are Really great and all but Shea is most amazing School I have ever been to. The classes are just unexplainably awesome and interesting I have ADD and I had forgotten my focus pill but I was able to focus just as well as I did on any other day! Not once have I ever been bullied nor have I seen someone be bullied on school campus. The teachers here know how to have fun but when it's time to work the students know that there has been enough fun for that class for the day.


Posted December 14, 2011

I'm a student here. If u wanna have fun u gotta be hot abd popular. That's the only way.. good luck I guess? Oh ya tbere is like no hot guys here :(


Posted July 30, 2011

My special ed son attended here for about a month when a discipline issue arose. Shea said they had a zero tolerance level and transferred him to another school immediately w/ promises if he behaved well he could return there shortly. I felt this was a little extreme and no one took any initiative to get to know my son personally or possibly find a reason for his acting as he did. If you are going to work with teenage kids you are going to have some problems from time to time. You can't just dispose of kids like schools some honor to be at, when most of them don't want to be there anyway at that age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

Some good teachers, very low on extra curriculars and arts, unless you are into sports. Needs improvement in discipline and needs more after school programs. Needs alternative learning for ADD and ADHD. My child is brilliant, is in honors, and is bored there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

Teachers are overwhelmed by too many students and too many students who misbehave. Spending time at this school opened my eyes. Those who want to learn are outnumbered, and administrators and teachers have their hands tied as far as how to deal with the situations. Parents of students who want to be here: Make sure your child is in Honors programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I am the parent of a child who attended Shea Middle for two years. While I appreciate what a challenge it must be to deal with children at this age, the missing factor at this school is consistancy. My child is an honor student who struggled in this enviroment. Uneven discipline, lack of supervision, and teachers who are either too lax or too heavy-handed are some of the weaknesses. Admistrators seem to be totally inaware of the pervasiveness of drugs, bullying, and outrageous behavior. There are some truly dedicated teachers at Shea. Unfortunately, the inmates run the asylum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Excellent school. Principle and the teachers give 110% a day...Every Day!!! Go Shea!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

My kids go there and they have great grades and have very good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I feel that Shea Middle School is a very good school. It prepared my oldest child for high school. Teachers successfully covered the requirements and more. They created a positive learning environment for my child. I like being able to view grades and assignments daily. The teachers were available and responded to any issues. Shea allows students to try many different electives by rotating them quarterly. All students are able to participate in different sports through Sports Festivals and don't have to make a team to participate. Fine arts are also available which is nice. My child was able to grow and learn in a safe environment with people who cared. Shea embraces students with all learning abilities and helps them succeed. Parent involvement is welcomed and students are encouraged to volunteer by giving back to their community and prior schools. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My child is in special education and I find the program, teachers and district psychologist outstanding. The class size is small and I see my daughters reading and verbal skills skyrocketing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Great teachers, awesome sports program, caring counselors. Beautiful location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I love SHEA great people and amazing teachers... the Dream team and the A team have amazing teachers! Plenty of ways to keep your kids out of drugs and gangs with all the wonderful things the school ofers. You would be crazy not to send your kid here. If they get picked on someone always stands up and thats a garentee
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

This is, I believe, the best school in the Paradise Valley School District. The teachers that my daughter had on the Dream Team were Excellent and the Vice Principal is the best and knows how to get the job done. There are some racial issues regarding the students though. But, we really miss this school and wish there were more like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I think this is the best school in the whole district. Teachers are very nice and the DREAM TEAM rocks! rules and regulations are always being follwed. I hope when i go to shadow, i can remeber shea>......... i have also made the best of friends, an guy friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

This school is preety cool, great people, great teachers. this school will be great for your child. I will be going there this year, in the 8th grad..... this school is great!.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2007

Both my son and daughter have attended this school. My daughter this year (2006-7) has had a better experience than my son previously. The school went through a lot of teacher changes, but it has seemed to stabilize. It is I think the best middle school in Paradise Valley School District. Parent involvement is one of the most important things in a school, and Shea Middle School has a lot of that. I'm not thrilled with the emphasis they put on dating, or bringing a date to the Valentines day dance, but I guess I'm in the minority when it comes to thinking 12-13 year olds are too young for that. The school does offer a nice after school sports program, which is great and prepares the kids for high school sports. Overall the school does a good job teaching this age group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

This is a great school and is a good place to be. It is right next to the high school for a great transition. It has a great staff. You really should consider this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2005

The academic program seemed to be strong for 7th grade. The teachers were caring and responsive. The school has a number of electives to choose from including drama, language and computers. Parent involvment is encouraged. Power school makes is possible to see your child's grades every week.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:40 am
School Leader's name
  • Dan Knak
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 449-3505

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Shea is a caring and nurturing school environment. Please contact the front office for a tour of our school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
100
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Desert Cove, Mercury Mine
Hidden HIlls, Larkspur
Indian Bend, North Ranch

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Shadow Mountain High School
PV CREST Program
IB at North Canyon High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2728 E. Shea Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85028
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ


Roadrunner School
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT