Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,895
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Mountain High School 5

Posted December 15, 2009
- a student
I am 2009 alumni, college freshman. This school allowed me to come more out of my shell with the law magnet, cross country, track, volleyball, soccer, and NHS. There is so much to get involved in and so many opportunities. They notified me on scholarships and I got one. I was in top 3% of my class and I have a fullride.

South Mountain High School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter goes to that school, and she hs never done better anywhere else shes very involved in the school, south mountain provides many programs an extracurricular activities.


South Mountain High School 4

Posted March 19, 2009
- a student
South Mountain High School has a lot to offer. We have great magnet classes and clubs. Everyone here gets a long great, i love it here because the teachers and students make me feel welcomed.

South Mountain High School
no rating

Posted March 19, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student and i wouldnt see my self anywere else. The Magnet programs are the best I'm in the Performing Arts and have loved it and the teachers are the best there for you alwyas.

South Mountain High School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a student
To say the least good old South Mountain High School, must be one of the best schools in the state, for education and their outstanding Magnet Progams. Due to the schools 'BAD' reputation and 'heresay', alot of people fail to grasp such an idea of SMHS being a great school. I graduated from SMHS in 2005. I proudly walk out of SMHS with an internship at Honeywell. multiple acceptance letters, to Universitys all over the country, including Tuskegee University, USC, and Unversity of Maryland College Park, and my Private Pilot License. Without the guidance of my teachers and my parents, and the execlent programs i would not be the Man that I am. I hold my head up high any time, anyone ask me where i attended high school at. SMHS


South Mountain High School 5

Posted June 13, 2008
- a student
South Mountain High School has a large campus full of diversity and the disire to learn. With programs including; Radio Broadcasting, Video Production, Aviation, and Robotics, every parent that wants the best for their young adults should take a tour.

South Mountain High School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a student
As a student of South Mountain H.S. I trully thank God I attended this school. All the teachers really do care about us students. All the administraters and Security on campus are good going, Teachers will sit down with students and spend the time to really go over the material, Overal FIve starts for its edication, teachers, neatness, and Professional.

South Mountain High School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a community member
This was a great school. All the teachers were great and very helpful. The reputation is only for those people who have never been there. Great school


South Mountain High School
no rating

Posted March 05, 2008
- a student
SMHS has a great honors and AP program. My senior AP English teacher was by far the most influential person in my life. The teachers at South really care about about the success of their students and strive to provide them witha quality education.

South Mountain High School 3

Posted November 17, 2007
- a student
I can honestly say S. M. H. S. has a bad reputation, but it's a good school. The staff are very very good at doing their job. The administrative staff in the office have a difficult time completing brown slips for extracurricular activities-except for sports, which means that students on field trips, band festivals, etc. are being marked absent from classes. At South music isn't important.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Mountain High School
5401 S 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85040
(602) 764-5000
Last modified South Mountain High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Mountain High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top