Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwest Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Southwest leadership has hit an all time low with the new administration. I have never seen a leader so scattered and unable to focus on a single idea or project. Not only are students receiving instruction from teachers who lack their own vision, but also have very little consistency in teaching staff from one year to the next. So sad for the neighborhood.

Southwest Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
Very pleaed with the school overall. Success requires efforts of all involved including the parents. The staff and teachers all seem comitted to great education under very difficult circumstances


Southwest Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
Southwest Elem. School has worked great with my son, who has special needs. I really like that about them, but I do have a strong problem with the uniform policy. My child goes to get an education, what coloring clothing he decides to wear shouldn't be a problem. SOuthwest needs to allow children to wear what clothing they desire and worry more about their education.

Southwest Elementary School 3

Posted February 28, 2007
- a parent
Well were do I start, there is not enough teachers for all the students. They even had to elimanate special classes to make into classrooms. Not inpressed in which the school is organized or operates. Both my sons have a exelent teacher, but both asst. and head principal need to be replaced.Lunch menus you have to ask for english because all they have around is spanish. I could go on!

Southwest Elementary School 4

Posted July 05, 2006
- a parent
The student/teacher ratio is way off! This last year, my daughters six grade class had over 30 kids in class. They didnt get a new teacher until the end of the year when they had that many kids from the start. my other daughters class who is in first was a lot smaller. She had only 20, but just go on campus and you can see how big the classes are ecspecialy older kids.


Southwest Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
Most teacher are doing all they can with the material that the school district administrators give to them.

Southwest Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2006
- a student
this is not a good school.the teachers may be nice but it is not worth it.

Southwest Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2003
- a community member
This school is ok but you should see Greenfield School the princeple is great her name is Dr. Puchi!


Southwest Elementary School 3

Posted March 14, 2003
- a community member
The teachers at Southwest School are great. However, I do have reservations about the interim principal. It is very obvious that this interim principal 'favors' certain children. Especially those whose parents work at Southwest. Hopefully soon, the District will put in a principal that has the knowledge, skill and training, to properly manage the school.

Southwest Elementary School 3

Posted October 15, 2002
- a community member
My child attend this school and I notice there website is outdate and not helpful. Pertaining to school schedule upcoming events & parents suggestion box. Also the student to teacher ratio is off, not enough teachers. Another problem is the after school program, there is not enough teachers to handle the amount of children & lack of communications from the schools behalf on informing the new parents of all the programs the school offers. My child was skipped from the after school program, and we only knew they had a program by the other parents that was able to get there children in the program. Overall I am not impress inwhich way this school is organized and operates.

Nearby schools

Southwest Elementary School
1111 West Dobbins Rd, Phoenix, AZ  85041
(602) 243-4800
Last modified Southwest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top