Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Biltmore Preparatory Academy

Public | K-8 | 300 students

We are best known for accelerated academics.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2010

We are always trying new programs that help the students be successful. We are a great community to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

EXCELLENT Foreign Language Immersion Program!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

We moved our first grader over to participate in the Foreign Language Immersion program and are so glad that we did! Both of her teachers are amazing and have a great rapport with the kids. The kids are happy and learning on an accelerated path. The teachers challenge kids who need challenging and also work with kids who need extra help. The principal is very accessible. The office staff has taken the time to get to know us and ALWAYS make us feel welcome. SPTA is a very loving environment. One last positive is the amount of parents who are committed to the school and to their kids' education. Great things are happening at SPTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

Caring teachers, small classes, innovative programs (junior ambassadors & the new foreign language program), and involved parents. So far, we are very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

The majority of the kids in the area attend private schools, but the school is making changes in order to bring them back to Squaw Peak. The school boundaries have been adjusted to ensure a 'neighborhood' concept (previously, kids were bused in from throughout the district), and the school has changed to a traditional academy. Given the small class sizes (currently approx. 250 students, and 100 of those are 8th graders who were 'grandfathered' in), combined with increased focus and parental involvement, test scores are expected to improve substantially in this and the coming years. In addition, a group of neighborhood parents are working with the school to start a foreign language program to begin in kindergarten and 1st grade in 2010. With involved parents, a great neighborhood, exceptional teachers, and a rigorous academic program designed to challenge and stimulate children, this school is worth a closer look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I have two children that have graduated from this school and my 3rd and 4th children are now attending Squaw Peak Traditional Academy. There was a time a few years ago when we had some problems with the principal and office staff not being very approachable. Kudos to the district for turning this around. The teachers at Squaw Peak have always been stellar and the best in the state!!! Now we have a principal and office staff to match. There are great things happening at this school. Busing has stopped and we now have a neighborhood school, more parents are getting involved, there is a program in the works to offer Spanish as a 2nd language. The district has done their job to give us back our school. Now it is our turn as the community to support our local school and send our children there. You will not be dissapointed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I live nearby (Camelback Del Este HOA) just east. We are part of a concerned parent grp adding Spanish Immersion at Squaw Peak Traditional Academy (new name). The Principal/officials will offer Spanish Immersion for the 2010 Kindergarteners (+ regular classes also). After research, this move assures English speaking kids a broader ed. with superior academic achievement. For info web page: www.squawpeakimmersion.com. Read about it, get on a mailing list,etc. This school HAD been busing of kids from outside our area (the area got older yrs ago) and so read test results with this in mind. Busing has stopped. There are great things happening at Squaw Peak & a staff to make it a newer better school.This yr only 1 class per grade a smaller quality ed. Scores are up two levels! Come check us out in Nov.'s Orientation. Get in before the waiting list begins. Join us! Meeting date TBD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I am the parent of a student who will attend Squaw Peak next fall and who is currently attending the preschool that is housed on the Squaw Peak campus. Although the test scores are poor and the recent past has been far from stellar, the future is bright at Squaw Peak. The new principal is amazing and has a vision to bring this back to being the excelling neighborhood school that it once was. They have recently stopped busing students from outside of the boundaries and therefore the admission numbers are lower, however many residents of the neighborhood, including myself, are choosing to move forward with the new vision. We believe that Squaw Peak will soon return to excelling and will be bursting at the seems of their beautiful campus with children who live in the neighborhood and parents that are actively involved in their children's future.


Posted September 24, 2006

I think they should'nt wear uniforms, because it looks trashy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

My son has excelled in the Magnet program at Squaw Peak. The teachers have been wonderful and concerned about his future...guiding him to programs like Junior Ambassadors (student exchange) and talking to me about possible scholarships he might qualify for in the future. Since he began attending Squaw Peak 3 years ago, I've noticed he has a higher self esteem I think because he is with other students who are more on his educational level (in Magnet) and the teachers seem to really treat the kids with respect. Squaw Peak also has (in my opinion) the best band teacher. (The band sounds fantastic!) I am not familiar with the sports programs but my son is involved in student council, yearbook, band, and Junior Ambassadors. Each program has enhanced his overall academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

The school is lacking parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

This school has been a bad experience for my children. It is one thing to have rules but this school has gone way over board. I feel my children were mistreated while they were there. The punishment for incomplete homework or tardiness is strict detention in the class or the office during the entire recess while all the other kids are outside releasing their energy playing. They punish the kids if the parents get them to school late!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

The teacher work hard to help the students. There needs to be more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 21, 2005

Squaw peak is a very good school. I think it's one of the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2005

The school facilities are nice. The teachers seem committed to providing quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

My children have gone to Squaw Peak since Kidergarden and have had a wonderful experience. They have many wonderful teachers and had many wonderful opportunities with the school. One of my sons went to Japan another to Germany they have been to Disneyland Five times with the school and different science camps 4 times. They have had a wonderful experience, I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

I have always liked Squaw Peak Elementary. The teachers are great! They go above and beyond. Keep up the excellent work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I live a block away from the school. The only thing I know about this school is that most neighborhood children do not attend it. Most attend private schools or open enroll in another district. To my knowledge, most students do not live in the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

This school has really gone downhill. I sent 2 kids through here and would have pulled my second one had it not been her last two years. There are some good teachers but their efforts are thwarted by the poor ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

I believe that this school has a lot of improving to do. This place is very unorganized and very unfriendly. They do nothing to discipline the bullies at their school and the staff is very difficult to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 42% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • We're an A rated school (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Faith Burtamekh
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 381-6170

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • intramural soccer ages 5-8
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • intramural soccer ages 5-8

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Enroll at Biltmore Preparatory Academy and climb the trail to academic success! Nestled in a shaded established neighborhood below Camelback Road, we offer a traditional school with traditional values. Our safe and secure neighborhood campus offers expanded opportunities for students to be immersed in Spanish, travel the world as a Junior Ambassador while excelling in a rigorous high quality curriculum. We are proud to be an "A" rated school with a long history of high scores and a vision for our future that “We won’t stop succeeding until we’re exceeding”. Our teachers are hand-picked to be caring professionals with your student’s future in mind. We recognize that every family has different needs and priorities when choosing a school. Biltmore Preparatory Academy offers the neighborhood and surrounding area a blend of traditional educational values with today’s technology and provides a structured setting with consistent academics and expectations from year to year. Biltmore Preparatory Academy is a small school combining two powerful forces – caring parents and quality teachers – to provide a challenging academic environment for ALL students – kindergarten through 8th grade. Come join us! Faith Burtamekh Principal
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
North High School
Arcadia High School
Camelback High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 N. 34th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 381-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Phoenix Country Day School
Paradise Valley, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT