« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 220
Before care: No
After care: Yes

Contact this school

35812 North 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85086

School website
(623) 465-4910
(623) 587-8514
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Stepping Stones Academy address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
April 17, 2014
Stepping Stones Academy The standard for academic success is higher than the school last attended. The teachers and principle were amazing at helping my two children reach that standard. Both children were getting exceptional grades in public school but did not seem to be progressing in a way that challenged them to be the best according to their abilities. The personal attention that was put into place to make that happen made it evident that they not only wanted to raise the bar in education for them but were willing to take a personal interest in making that happen. The standard of social behavior is also high on the list of requirements. What they are receiving is not just a seat in the classroom but education that will truly give them a better chance for a good life and future. The principle and teachers have made themselves available to assist in everyway necessary to assure success in the children s education. Among the list of things that make it a great school is all the unique and positive ways they encourage the children s desire to be the best they can be. Stepping Stones makes the high standard happen by giving the support necessary to make it happen.

- submitted by a parent
August 16, 2013
Mr. and Mrs. Alliger have been friends and fellow eduactors for years. They are dedicated to educating children by truly working for what is best for kids. I love the MicroScociety aspect of the school which brings real life learning to the classroom every day.

- submitted by a community member
March 24, 2013
Thank you to Mr. and Mrs. Alliger (owner and principal) they have put their hearts and souls into this school for the last 15 year, and ask for us to just do the best we can. I have never met more commited boss's to something they believe in. The support you give us is outstanding!

- submitted by a teacher
February 26, 2013
What a great little school we are so happy that we found! My children enjoy school and are learning so much. I have sent so many of my friends to this school and are also pleased with the progress their children are making. Thank you to the staff for all their hard work.

- submitted by a parent
February 13, 2013
I think SSA is an amazing school where the whole child is being educated and valued as an individual. They are taught leadership, personal accountability, citizenship and has strong academics. There may not be Spanish or music but the Micro program more than makes up for it with real life application. May not be for all but we couldn't be more thrilled we are here.

- submitted by a parent
February 07, 2013
We've been here five years and each year gets better. Some great changes made this year that we love. Staff is exceptional and really cares. They go above and beyond to help kids. Our questions have always been answered and staff is great answering questions after school and even week-ends. We love how everyone works together and looks like they are having fun.

- submitted by a parent
February 06, 2013
Like the small school and small classrooms but staff seems overworked and stressed especially office staff. My husband and I don't get straight answers from school. My children enjoy going to school there but there is a lot of homework.

- submitted by a parent
December 31, 2012
I love my school! The teachers help until I understand without making me feel bad. I have great friends and no bullys here.

- submitted by a community member
December 27, 2012
We love this school! The small school works well for our kids and the teachers are the best! They care about kids and help them learn. The principal has an open door policy so we are able to visit with her anytime. We love how she is so involved with the kids. Our kids are learning and love going to school!

- submitted by a parent
December 26, 2012
Getting frustrated with principal and my child's teacher. Principal talks in circles and my child is not making progress in the classroom. Lots of homework--more like busy work! I like the small campus but I think my child is paying the price with a poor education.

- submitted by a parent
October 20, 2012
Great school with awesome and caring staff and teachers! Above state standards with teacher/parent involvement. Thanks for the outstanding guidance you give my son!

- submitted by a parent
June 04, 2012
I am a mother of two children that have attended this school for two yrs. now. I also have an older child 21yr. that I experienced many other schools with. So I can say with experience that this school has really been a blessing. The class size is around 20 and if you start your child in Pre K that means they will be with the same class for 9yrs. I think that has helped my children feel a sense of belonging building close friendships with both students and parents. I gives a since of community that you don't always find in larger schools. Any time that I have had a concern I have always been able to easily schedule an appt. with the principle, etc. and when you are done you come out feeling as if you have a voice and your concerns are addressed. There is alot of family involvement and they really make a difference. We have alot of functions and no school buses so families usually go on the trips or help transport students to the fieldtrip when other parents are working/busy. We really work together. I will keep my children in this school as long as we are in driving distance:) So if you are looking for a school that you can make a difference this would be the school.

- submitted by a parent
April 25, 2012
My son has been attending Stepping Stones Academy since Kindergarten, and is now in 6th grade. Their standards academically are wonderful- and their standards morally are great too (which in this day and age seems to be a vital part of true growth). The teachers are experienced and have an open door policy. Parental involvement is enormously welcomed. If there are ever any conflicts, the principals are open to discussing in detail and are reasonable in responses. You are not just a number at Stepping Stones.There is a strong sense of a faculty who really likes kids and truly want what is best for them ! Safe and protected are two other descriptors I'd use for the campus... many parents and I feel extremely lucky to have a school like this in our community. SMALL class sizes, attention to detail, and an overall atmosphere of acceptance (NO bully zone and they mean it) has led my kids to thrive and take more steps in becoming academically prepared along with responsible, helpful and caring people of our future..

- submitted by a parent
May 29, 2011
I have two children in this school and could not ask for a better place. The staff, teachers, and principals are WONDERFUL. After experiencing horrific experiences in public schools- This school is heaven sent. We absolutely love the way they teach academics , kindness,and responsibilities. It is a wonderful school and proud to my children go there

- submitted by a parent
March 30, 2011
I am a student at Stepping Stones Academy. My teachers are nice, caring, and fair to me. My principals think of fun activities for the students. Many parents are involved with the school. The work is harder than my old school but the teachers make it fun.

- submitted by a community member
March 30, 2011
We moved our daughter to SSA right before the winter break. We are thrilled with SSA. The teachers and staff are great. Everyone at the school has welcomed our family with open arms. The school encourages parental involvement and the teachers truly care about their students. The administrators are accessible to the parents and are visible around campus every day. The academic standards are very high. However, the school also has many fun activities that the students look forward to every week. The teachers and staff not only focus on academic excellence they also emphasize the importance of kindness, manners, and responsibility. Stepping Stones also has classes that teach the students life skills and the importance of hard work and cooperation. Our family feels very blessed to have found a school like stepping Stones Academy.

- submitted by a parent
January 06, 2011
My son had a horrible experience at this school! This is my story. I enrolled my son into this school and he was able to adjust well. He was very well liked and I had thought I found the perfect school. This is a very small school: the entire middle school population was around 25 children. My son started to have some issues with four boys at the school. At first he just brushed it off because he knew they were a little rough around the edges. It became unacceptable when these boys began extreme bullying tactics. When I brought this to the attention of the office, I felt they were extremely unprofessional in handling this situation. After allowing the school two weeks to remedy the situation, I realized they were not capable. The bullying was so extreme that I could not allow my son to be in such an environment. We were shocked and disappointed that our only option to resolve this problem was to leave the school. In my opinion the school culture cultivates bullying and this is apparent in the middle school grades.

- submitted by a parent
November 29, 2010
I wonder if parents actually ask the kids if they like this school, because I highly disliked it. There was no P.E., art, or music! I missed that alot. The classes were so small, and I did not have a lot of friends. I dreaded micro EVERY day. When I got to my new school, I was behind in so many classes. I was soooooooooooo happy once I got out of the school. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone!

- submitted by a community member
August 11, 2010
We LOVE this school. Better yet, our children love going there. We are very pleased with the quality of teachers they hire. The principals are great and very friendly. They know every child and seem to know every family. It's a great family environment.

- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2010
Great job of teaching kids academics and accountability. Kids excell in scholastic and social skills

- submitted by a parent
March 11, 2010
This is an amazing school! My son was lost in the crowd of the local public schools and slipping behind. Stepping Stones teachers care and have helped him regain his confidence and his grades have improved! Communication is great at this school I always know what's going on and the Microsociety class they have is awesome. We are really happy the only thing I wish they had was music or PE but other than that you won't go wrong with this school.

- submitted by a parent
August 10, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 04, 2009
Academically this school is one of the best. Its small class sizes are ideal for students who might otherwise struggle in a larger environment. The principals make it a point to know each student and are always very available when needed. The only thing lacking is after school activities, PE, music, and art, but the kids expected to do their very best in their studies and are held to a very high standard.

- submitted by a parent
July 26, 2009
Stepping Stones Academy's environment promotes focused learning of the '3 R's', fun, and insperation. It's a great school with dedicated staff.

- submitted by a parent
March 18, 2009
What a nice change from the local district school. My child loves going to school at Stepping Stones. The small classes and friendly campus has done wonders for him! Thank you, Stepping Stones:)

- submitted by a parent
October 09, 2008
I am really happy that my kids are at Stepping Stones. I heard about Stepping Stones from my neighbors. They had kids at Stepping Stones and thought my kids would like it. My kids like having only 15 kids in class instead of 30 and they like the school has control. Kids aren't running all over the place calling names and fighting like at their previous school.

- submitted by a parent
October 08, 2008
We've been going here for a couple of years now and each year gets better and better! I can't believe how much my kids are learning and how much they like school. I highly recommend this school!!!!!

- submitted by a parent
October 07, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2008
We attended two other schools in the area before choosing Stepping Stones. Choosing Stepping Stones was the best decision we made. At the other schools our girls were lost and hardly anyone knew them. At Stepping Stones everyone knows them and they know everyone. It makes it so much easier for them to go to school. The small class sizes and small school have been a big plus for our family!!!

- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2008
A friend told us about SSA, because our son was getting picked on at his other school and nothing was being done. We didn't want to switch in the middle of the year, but we are so glad we did. After one week at SSA our son was once again happy and was not worried about kids picking on him. How refreshing!

- submitted by a parent
June 18, 2008
I can't say enough about how this school has helped my kids. They all had fantastic teachers and the principals always took time to listen to me. I only wish I would have found the school in time for my older kids. One of the best things is how nice the kids are to one another. It is so nice to not worry about my kids being called horrible names or picked on. They are able to go to school and learn.

- submitted by a parent
June 16, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 15, 2008
We just finished another great year at SSA! My husband and I are amazed year after year at how much SSA is able to accomplish. Here is this small school in the middle of nowhere with very limited resources and it accomplishes such great things! SSA is such a perfect fit for us. We love the small classes and how everyone knows everyone. In all of our years here, we have seen only happy and caring teachers and we appreciate the personal involvement of the principals. We especially appreciate the warm greeting whenever we call or walk into the office. We know we can call with any question or just to see how our boys are doing. We love the small community spirit of SSA and we are happy we are part of it!

- submitted by a parent
June 15, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 15, 2008
I read many reviews and don't be baffled or confused listen to your kids that are frustrated and aggravated by the same teacher for the entire day. I am that kid! I'm in the 8th grade and can't wait to be out of SSA. I hope high school is better than the years I had at SSA. My parents love the small compound but for me it was horrible. I had no extracurricular activites, no pe, no guidance for the changes to come in 9th grade and worse no gifted program so I can be recognized going into high school. SSA is a small school with small minds leading this campus. Your not welcomed if you have a mind of your own and if you speak up your shut up real quick! So don't be 'baffled' be a student that has no option! *-*I am a student*-*

- submitted by a student
June 14, 2008
We chose SSA because of its outstanding education program! The kids are required to pull a C average to pass to the next grade and we like this because we know then that our kids are not just being passed through the system. We have seen many families leave and go to other schools so their kids could get by with Ds and Fs. We commend SSA for sticking to its policies and trying to improve education. We are glad the principals and teachers do not give in to whiny parents who threaten to go to another school if things don't change to what they want. If kids are behind at other schools when they leave SSA, then they probably weren't up to par at SSA. Thank you to the principals and everyone at SSA for another fun and great year! We are already excited about next year!

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
If you want a school with a strong education program, this is your school! If you want a school where you are welcome to help out, your kids are treated with respect, the teachers really teach, and the rules are enforced equally to everyone, this is your school. If you want a school where kids don't have to do homework or get good grades to pass, this is not your school. If you want a school where kids get by calling names and being bullies, this is not your school. If you want a school that lets the loudest or pushiest parents run the school, this is not your school. If you want a school that takes time to make kids feel special and teaches good old-fashioned education, this is the school.

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2008
I hope readers read the harsh comments about SSA with an open mind. What school does not have controversy, usually caused by a few loud parents? What school does not have teacher turnover? What school does not have unhappy parents at one time or another? What impresses us is how SSA has so professionally and efficiently handled it all and still maintained such a high quality school program! Though SSA does not focus on art, music, or pe, my kids come home with art projects made in art class and sometimes they even study famous artists. Each year I attend a wonderful music concert and I know my kids have pe class because they tell me about the games they learn to play. This school has been a great find for us! We have experienced only caring and helpful people from the minute we walked through the door!

- submitted by a parent
June 13, 2008
Why parents think this school has lack of leadership continues to baffle me. This school has more leadership than any school I have experienced. The leaders are so visible that this seems to cause problems with some parents, because they are unable to 'persuade' school personnel, such as teachers, into doing what they want. It is true that the principals are very involved in this school, and I am glad they are so involved. They know every student by name and they care about every student. SSA is and was the best thing I did for my children!

- submitted by a parent
June 09, 2008
I cannot believe parents are focusing education on micro in these reviews- let's discuss the lack of leadship in these directors. They run the teachers out year after year- they offer no extacurricular activites and discipline is extreme- When I removed my child in Dec - my child was behind in the public school school- also, my child has option each day with art, gym and music- It's not micro it's not miserable directors and unhappy teachers - its education where my child is cared for and learns and loves each day going to school- SSA is not and was not the best thing I did for my child!

- submitted by a parent
May 29, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
May 28, 2008
The best way to describe this school is fantastic! It has so many of the components that schools need today to help kids get a really good education and be readyto face the big, bad world. When we came here I was a little overwhelmed because I found out my kids were behind, but I knew it would be worthall of the work. Now my kids are caught up to where they should be and they have so much self-confidence. Thanks to the fantastic teachers and everyone at SSA for caring about my kids. I was lucky that my kids were treated as individuals and not just numbers in an overcrowded classroom!

- submitted by a parent
no rating May 14, 2008
I am a parent that has had my children at SSA for several years and I am happy to say that through everything the school continues to thrive! The school has continued to focus on academic excellence, but has not lost sight of the fact that the children are the most important! The Micro program is absolutely wonderful! In my opinion, SSA is the best school around!

- submitted by a parent
March 15, 2008
Great school! Great teachers! Great campus! The kids are respectful and friendly. The rules are enforced. The teachers are helpful and care about the kids. The office people are the best I've ever seen. The principals really care about what is going on and know all of the kids.

- submitted by a parent
March 08, 2008
It saddens me to read such negative comments about SSA, because I have been at SSA for a lot of years and have seen so many parents try to push their way around. Since SSA is a small school and not a large district school, parents seem to think they can walk in and demand unrealistic things. Then when they don't get their way, they get mad, blame the school, and begin telling false stories. This school is not for every family. But for families who want their kids to receive a great education, then SSA has a lot to offer. For parents just looking to push their way around, then SSA is not for them. And lucky for my kids, SSA sticks to its policies.

- submitted by a parent
March 08, 2008
SSA has been a lifesaver for us! We were tired of the red tape at large schools and not being able to talk with the administration. At SSA there is not any red tape and the administration has open doors whenever we need to voice our concerns. Our children are very happy. They easily made friends and felt right at home after the first day. The small campus is just what our children needed.

- submitted by a parent
March 08, 2008
I would highly recommend SSA! We found SSA just by driving by and we are really glad we stopped to check about enrolling our sons. This is a safe school with great teachers! We know not everyone has been happy at SSA, but there are always two sides to every story. We are glad we have a chance to be at a small school where we know everyone in our son's classes and where we have a chance to be active in the many school functions.

- submitted by a parent
March 06, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 05, 2008
I would not recommend Stepping Stones Academy(SSA) charter school. We were forced to move our child from SSA due to the schools dishonorable practices and placing the child s best interest second to person agendas. SSA has been surrounded by controversy in the past. We choose to overlook these facts. Unfortunately, I now see exactly why so many other frustrated parents have moved their children. SSA was unwilling to work with us to make small accommodations. They went against their own words and made changes to my child s education without our consent or knowledge. They were not focusing on doing their job, but more concerned on proving that they are right and not respecting the parent s involvement. This is all done at the expense of the child. There are too many other options available to allow oneself and family to be treated in such an unprofessional, boorish and despicable manor.

- submitted by a parent
March 04, 2008
As a former parent of children that attended the school I saw many changes. The school was once full with a waiting list and now there is only a hand full of children in the classroom. The parent involvement is limited and there is no PTA for parents to be involved and to have a voice. There are no after school activities, advanced classes or special ed programs. It was not until we pulled our children out of the school did we realize how behind our kids become in the world of education. It is very hard for children to adjust when teachers are always coming and going. When interviewing a SSA ask yourself why attendance is low and how long the teachers have been teaching at SSA. Desert Hills is one of the fast growing cities with a largely populated public school ask yourself why SSA has so few.

- submitted by a parent
March 03, 2008
We came here after moving to the area last year. We visited other school in the area and talked with a lot of parents before making our decision. This school has many things we were looking for. It has small classes, it's safe, and we are able to be involved. Our kids quickly made friends and we like how they are held responsible for doing their work. This has really helpd our oldest son use better study skills.

- submitted by a parent
February 29, 2008
The school is great. I like how the teachers know all of the children and how they let me know so often about how my child is doing in class. We have had only great experiences at this school in our three years here.

- submitted by a parent
February 24, 2008
If you want your children to learn, then this is the school! Our three children have spent almost all of their years at SSA and have been so well prepared for high school. It was tough sometimes because we had homework about every night and the school expected our childen to read and practice their math every night, but it has been so worth it. The teachers have been great and the principals are so committed to what they are doing! That's one reason why the principals have taught classes when a teacher leaves mid-year. Instead of just putting anyone in the classroom, the principals taught the class until another good teacher was hired. Both of the principals are certified teachers, and our daughter was actualy sad when the principals quit teaching her class. Our advice is to visit SSA if you are looking for great school!!!

- submitted by a parent
February 23, 2008
This school provides kids with a great education! The kids work hard and parents need to be involved, but that was just what my wife and I wanted. We were tired of seeing our kids passed on to the next grade because we knew they weren't learning what they really needed to know. When we came to SSA that all changed. Kids must earn C averages to pass and I have yet to visit a classroom and see teachers not teaching. Instead I have always seen the teachers up and teaching or helping kids. The principals are great. They lead by example and the kids respect them for this. And the kids like the principals. This is the first school we have gone to where the principals knew our names on the first day and my kids talk to the principals every day.

- submitted by a parent
February 22, 2008
My children love going to Stepping Stones Academy! The teachers are so nice and always willing to sit down with me and discuss any problems. The communication is outstanding. I always feel welcomed at SSA.

- submitted by a parent
February 21, 2008
My family has been at Stepping Stones for four years and we are glad we came. We saw the school deal with overzealous parents who seemed to think they coud come in and tell people how to run the school. Luckily the school stood by its convictions and it is a better school today. This is a wonderful school! No one should judge Stepping Stones or any other school by parent comments. If you are looking for a great school you need to go and visit Stepping Stones. Some of the finest people work there and I feel lucky to have found the small school.

- submitted by a parent
February 19, 2008
A very disappointing experience. The quality of the academic program is extremely low. Poor quality teachers who assign hours of busy work to hide the fact that they are not teaching in class. When teachers leave the school the principals teach the classes rather then hire new teachers with experience. Expectations of the children are held at high standards while the principals are deceptive, deceitful and rude. They frequently give lengthy lectures to the classes on behavior, many times talking poorly about children who have left the school. The principals have created a stifling and controlling environment where creativity is shutdown and independence frowned upon. It is true that the students respect each other and feel safe in an environment where bullying and disrespect are not allowed, however the principals are the true bullies at this school and do not give students and parents the respect they deserve.

- submitted by a parent
February 05, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 08, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 03, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 27, 2007
SSA has been a terrific educational experience for my children. I already had a 8th grader graduate with honors and was very well prepared for high school. I have two other children attending this school and we are now in our 5th year. The small school environment gives the kids a feeling of family. The curriculum is top notch as well as the teachers. If any problems arise, I know they will be handled quickly and the children will benefit from this. As for the extra curricular activities, I knew that ahead of time and found other alternatives for my children. Thank you SSA for being so terrific. Keep doing the job you are doing.

- submitted by a parent
October 26, 2007
We are on our 6th year and 4th child at SSA and are overall very happy with how its gone. It is important to remember that no school is perfect including SSA. The principals seem sincere, well intentioned and down to earth; very approachable along with the teachers. Extracurricular activities certainly are not abundant, however, why do we expect the schools to provide that outlet for our families? Aren't schools meant to teach our children reading, writing and 'rithmetic? SSA does a good job of focusing on the academics. I also like how well disciplined the student body is... we don't have to worry too much about weird stuff going on at school. And yes, parent involvement is very good. I am thankful that our children are at a small school with decent people in charge. I believe SSA is a nicer alternative to the public school.

- submitted by a parent
October 26, 2007
My daughter has changed schools three times in the last five years of her education. After coming to SSA last year, we feel as if we have come 'home' to a school where she can thrive academically, socially, and morally. As a secondary education teacher myself (and a parent), I am able to look at her educational experience from both sides and I can honestly say that I wholeheartedly support and entrust my daughter's education to this school. The lack of extracurricular activities was an initial concern, but I had to ask myself hard questions about what is most important to me. The fact that my daughter is not just a number at this school was the selling factor. She is thriving and learning at an appropriate pace and level. Music and art are things she enjoys, but I can add them to her life myself. We love her school!

- submitted by a parent
October 09, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 07, 2007
I have been going to Stepping Stones for five years.(Since kindergarten) I love it there. All my teachers are friendly and wonderful. They help me in all my school work,and they really care about me. Everything there is made special. Mrs. Alliger, and Mrs. Short do a great job.

- submitted by a student
October 06, 2007
SSA is a wonderful place for my child to learn academically and socially. They have high standards for our children to be respectful to one another and care about one another. My child loves this school and its staff! The school doesn't have a lot of extracurricular activities, but those can be found in the community if a parent really wants to find them. Parent involvement is very strong and the principals welcome all input for discussion. They have an open door policy. The SSA campus is a warm, friendly environment that welcomes your child and they feel safe there and feel like its their family, not just a school. Our concern is that our child gets the best education possible, and we believe that SSA is the best place for that. The classes are small and the children are happy and want to learn.

- submitted by a parent
October 05, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 02, 2007
SSA is far from fantastic maybe if your a parnet and its convient. The children are in the classes- frustrated with no extracurricular activities, bored with with the curriculm. So fantastic for who!!?? Our children don't have the choice we make it for them as a parent and I apologized to my child for choice I made -- it's my fault for not knowing SSA's history.

- submitted by a parent
October 01, 2007
SSA is a fantastic school. They don't offer extracurricular activities, but parents know that when they choose to enroll their child. The academics have been great. My child was well prepared for high school and has excelled with straight A's. All SSA kids know what is expected of them and are given every opportunity to get a great education. They are taught to use an agenda and record daily homework assignments so that they know exactly what is expected of them. My kids have learned to take responsibility for their own work and accept the consequences when they don't complete assignments. Kids who can follow rules and work hard will excel here and will reap the rewards of a job well done.

- submitted by a parent
September 27, 2007
Stepping Stones Academy pushes kids too hard. Even the homework in kindergarten is astounding. I could make a list all that is wrong! Everything is one-sided. They principals took the passion and excitement from teaching it's challenging for parents, children and teachers not a healthy environment for an education or our children. SSA has issues far more than extracurricular activities and PE! Parents of this academy need to be aware.

- submitted by a parent
September 26, 2007
When looking at stepping stones please don't be fooled by the aims scores look close to academics/extracurricular activities and look even closer to how long has the teacher been teaching at ssa! This school lacks stability, activities and success! It's a pathway I took and it was something my child lost out on - a year of learning! ~kathy

- submitted by a parent
September 17, 2007
SSA is a disappointment! It's the curriculum, teacher turn over, homework with no extracurricular activites. The students are paying the ultimate price with this type of education.

- submitted by a parent
September 17, 2007
The students are held accountable for their character- but Stepping Stones principals do not want to provide the best quality of education nor believe students need extracurricular activities. Stepping Stones has not been a benefit to my childs education.

- submitted by a parent
September 13, 2007
My children are now struggling to catch up in their new school this year. They are now struggling in subjects they passed with flying colors while in SSA.

- submitted by a parent
September 11, 2007
Our children do not grow without art, music, physical education, foreign lanuage nor the change of classes. It's a lil compound that has more rules than a curriculm

- submitted by a parent
September 04, 2007
The school is divided. Parents and teachers seem at odds with the principals. Ssa is clearly a school in turmoil. It is not a healthy learning environment. I belive the school board needs to get involved and and make some tough decisions in order to get this school up to standards.

- submitted by a parent
September 04, 2007
The quality of academic programs at SSA are well below an acceptable level. Parents are involved and have tried to encourage SSA leadership to upgrade it's programs. The principals continue to resist. As a result, the school lacks in comparison to others in the area.

- submitted by a parent
September 03, 2007
I think that SSA, like every school, has its pros and cons. The pros are the principles do a great job keeping the kids under control. Students who misbehave are punished unlike public schools. This makes for a very nice and friendly campus for your child to grow up. That said, we did take are child out of the school for a couple reasons. Our child went their for a short time but in my opinion had two low quality teachers. I was willing to put up with this and help out at home since I loved the way the children were taught to behave and respect each other. For us, the cell phone tower was too much we just could not find enough evidence that could conclusively say it was safe or unsafe. I isn't worth the risk to find out in ten years that it was unsafe.

- submitted by a parent
August 31, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
August 31, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2007
SSA and the principals are getting a bad rap due to the unhappiness of a handful of parents. SSA is an awesome school and these parents were very happy until the principals didn't do what they wanted in the way that they wanted. When looking for a school take time to visit the campus, because the school speaks for itself! When visiting campus take time to talk with the principals. You will see for yourself their genuine passion for the school and children! Tour the classrooms and look at the curriculum. These students are not behind other schools if they are truly earning passing grades at SSA. This is one of the best schools in Arizona! I admire the principals and teachers for weathering the storm caused by this small group of bitter parents.

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2007
The administration has an open door policy and addresses concerns with honesty and compassion. The rapport between teachers and administration is exceptional! In fact, several teachers who left keep in contact with the principals and return for campus events. The test scores rate above many other schools and I have absolutely no concerns about my child's safety! My experience at SSA has been only wonderful!

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2007
As a parent it's my responsibility to protect my children. Placing my children in SSA for their education I thought was the right choice! I became invloved with MVP and classroom parent. They jeopardized my childrens safety. With disgust I removed my children to find out in the DVSD my children tested behind one year! SSA did me a disservice for a year of my childs education! I excepted no extracurricular activities for a better education and was fooled!

- submitted by a parent
August 29, 2007
This school has been a total disappointment. I've been affiliated with a number of schools over the years. This is by far the worst run school I have ever seen. The school board needs to come in and take a close look at what's going on here. Unfortunately, the children are the ones suffering.

- submitted by a parent
August 29, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 27, 2007
Please research carefully. Students have left Stepping Stones in the past school year due to a multitude of issues. From no extra-curricular activities, high teacher turn over to issues with the principals. I would highly recommend that parents look for another school

- submitted by a parent
August 27, 2007
We removed our children from Stepping Stones. When my children were tested for enrollment at their new school, we found both to be a grade level behind. This came as a surprise since my children passed Stepping Stones with flying colors. Needless to say, we are very dissapointed with our experience with Stepping Stones Academy.

- submitted by a parent
August 27, 2007
Our time with Stepping Stones has been the worst educational experience of our lives. The principals are confrontational. Suggestions and recommendations from the parents are met with a closed mind. There continues to be significant teacher turnover as ongoing conflict between principals and teachers is clearly evident. This environment is not conducive to building bright, healthy young minds.

- submitted by a parent
August 24, 2007
I'm not sure where to begin to tell all of the great things about this school. Unfortunately the new flag pole with the cell tower in it upset some parents who then overreacted. The principals and teachers have done a great job of not letting that affect the school spirit. We went to Meet the Teacher Night and it was fabulous! I'm sorry for the families who became so upset because their kids are going to miss out on a great school year. One thing I know is that I have not met more caring and honest principals or group of teachers. My experience has been that whenever I've had questions all I had to do was ask. What parents need to understand is that they are not always going to get the answers they want, but this doesn't mean they should retaliate against the school.

- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2007
We have watched SSA since it opened and we were very happy when our children were old enough to begin school. Sending our children to SSA was an easy decision and has proven to be an excellent decision for us. We are so thankful to have our children in such a safe and caring environment. Plus our children love learning and many days do not want to go home. We love the high standards and how the teachers and principals take time to talk with the children and parents when there is a problem. One thing is for sure. The people who started this school love what they are doing and this rubs off onto the teachers, children, and parents. Thanks SSA!

- submitted by a parent
June 21, 2006
I bring my children to Stepping Stones Academy for the excellent academic curriculum, safe environment and high parental involvement. The school is very up front with parents letting them know that after school sports and other programs are not offered. The school focuses on academics. (Isn't that what is most important in our children's lives?) At this school, parents are heard. I am tired of hearing parents complain when things don't go their way--grow up! My children have attended a district school before and this school is 100 times better. My children are safe, they are getting a great education, they love going to school, all the teachers and the two principals really care about each child on campus--what more can parents ask for? I would highly recommend this school to parents. And parents who complain about it probably have never experienced a district school before!

- submitted by a parent
June 19, 2006
If you are looking for any type of after school programs you sre out of luck. There are no sports, P.E., Art classes,music or spanish. In my opion the school is lacking what a lot of children need.

- submitted by a parent
May 12, 2006
This school is known as a back to basics school and places a strong emphasis on academics. From what I've seen, a lot of time is spent on worksheets rather than hands on projects-- even in kindergarten. A few extracurricular activities are available but they are very limited. Parent involvement is high and parents are encouraged to participate at higher grade levels. It seems very little participation is encouraged in lower grades.

- submitted by a parent
May 03, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 09, 2006
I think the teachers are great, but the principals are very strict and only see things there way. The small classroom size is excellent.

- submitted by a parent
November 10, 2005
We love this school! My kids have been attending Stepping Stones for three years. We do not have to worry about them being bullied, made fun of, or called mean names. The small school is like its own community. If we have any concerns, the teachers and principals are always willing to listen and help out. We know our son and daughter are getting the best education. And we are having fun watching our kids learn so much!

- submitted by a parent
May 25, 2005
Solid academic program. Good intentioned administration. Some turnover among teachers that is atypical and can be viewed as disruptive when it comes in the last 6 weeks of school. Stringent rules - that some children need and other will find very constrictive. Not all the rules are aligned with what a parents home practices may be. Keep this in mind as they are not 'bad' just restrictive. Limited resources - no extracurricular activities. Interesting academics - such as micro society.

- submitted by a parent
May 18, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 16, 2004
I think it's an O.K. school

- submitted by a parent
September 28, 2004
Excellent school for those that want a smaller classroom environment. As with most Charter Schools there are limiited resources, bussing, lunches, after school activities. Please take that into consideration. Couple of unique programs at this school including Micro Society. Very inventive and intersting to the children. Teacher range from average to outstanding. Head staff is at the outstanding end. Very caring and passionate about their school.

- submitted by a parent
June 01, 2004
Great teachers and support staff. Wish extracurricular activities were offered!

- submitted by a parent
June 01, 2004
The staff is wonderful. Academics are first rate. The school would benefit from some type of sports activities for the older kids, however.

- submitted by a parent
March 17, 2004
My son loves going to this school! He has many friends and is learning so much. The work challenges him and the teachers are so helpful! I really like the friendliness of all of the teachers and other staff. They make me feel welcome whenever I visit school or just call on the phone, plus I know my son is in good hands with people who really care about him.

- submitted by a parent
July 29, 2003
Stepping Stones Academy is awesome! My daughter was very apprehensive about entering an extremly large, overcrowded new school, then we heard about S.S.A. The staff, administration and the students welcomed our family and treated us as if we were 'family'! My daughter has felt safe, gained self esteem and progressed in all her academic classes! The friendly, energic, knowledgeable staff definitely strives to go that extra mile, with each and every student. Our family is looking forward to another great year at Stepping Stones Academy!

- submitted by a parent
July 21, 2003
Stepping Stones Academy pushes kids too hard. Even the homework in kindergarten is astounding. The principals are unwilling to listen and the teachers are too strict, overbearing, and even grouchy and definitely nit-picky. I could make a list a thousand words long! Everything is one-sided. A group of parents speaking on an issue makes no difference to these educators. My child hated going to school every day. It was a fight to get him to go. Once I changed schools, his outlook on schooling completely changed. He is actually beginning to learn in his new, upbeat, challenging environment.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


9 / 10

Rolling deadline

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: December 16, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stepping Stones Academy
35812 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85086
(623) 465-4910
Last modified Stepping Stones Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stepping Stones Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 105 reviews. Top