Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stepping Stones Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 220 students

Our school is best known for its high academics on a small, friendly campus.

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

92 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2007

SSA is a disappointment! It's the curriculum, teacher turn over, homework with no extracurricular activites. The students are paying the ultimate price with this type of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

The students are held accountable for their character- but Stepping Stones principals do not want to provide the best quality of education nor believe students need extracurricular activities. Stepping Stones has not been a benefit to my childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My children are now struggling to catch up in their new school this year. They are now struggling in subjects they passed with flying colors while in SSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Our children do not grow without art, music, physical education, foreign lanuage nor the change of classes. It's a lil compound that has more rules than a curriculm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

The school is divided. Parents and teachers seem at odds with the principals. Ssa is clearly a school in turmoil. It is not a healthy learning environment. I belive the school board needs to get involved and and make some tough decisions in order to get this school up to standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

The quality of academic programs at SSA are well below an acceptable level. Parents are involved and have tried to encourage SSA leadership to upgrade it's programs. The principals continue to resist. As a result, the school lacks in comparison to others in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I think that SSA, like every school, has its pros and cons. The pros are the principles do a great job keeping the kids under control. Students who misbehave are punished unlike public schools. This makes for a very nice and friendly campus for your child to grow up. That said, we did take are child out of the school for a couple reasons. Our child went their for a short time but in my opinion had two low quality teachers. I was willing to put up with this and help out at home since I loved the way the children were taught to behave and respect each other. For us, the cell phone tower was too much we just could not find enough evidence that could conclusively say it was safe or unsafe. I isn't worth the risk to find out in ten years that it was unsafe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

SSA and the principals are getting a bad rap due to the unhappiness of a handful of parents. SSA is an awesome school and these parents were very happy until the principals didn't do what they wanted in the way that they wanted. When looking for a school take time to visit the campus, because the school speaks for itself! When visiting campus take time to talk with the principals. You will see for yourself their genuine passion for the school and children! Tour the classrooms and look at the curriculum. These students are not behind other schools if they are truly earning passing grades at SSA. This is one of the best schools in Arizona! I admire the principals and teachers for weathering the storm caused by this small group of bitter parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

The administration has an open door policy and addresses concerns with honesty and compassion. The rapport between teachers and administration is exceptional! In fact, several teachers who left keep in contact with the principals and return for campus events. The test scores rate above many other schools and I have absolutely no concerns about my child's safety! My experience at SSA has been only wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

As a parent it's my responsibility to protect my children. Placing my children in SSA for their education I thought was the right choice! I became invloved with MVP and classroom parent. They jeopardized my childrens safety. With disgust I removed my children to find out in the DVSD my children tested behind one year! SSA did me a disservice for a year of my childs education! I excepted no extracurricular activities for a better education and was fooled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

This school has been a total disappointment. I've been affiliated with a number of schools over the years. This is by far the worst run school I have ever seen. The school board needs to come in and take a close look at what's going on here. Unfortunately, the children are the ones suffering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Please research carefully. Students have left Stepping Stones in the past school year due to a multitude of issues. From no extra-curricular activities, high teacher turn over to issues with the principals. I would highly recommend that parents look for another school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

We removed our children from Stepping Stones. When my children were tested for enrollment at their new school, we found both to be a grade level behind. This came as a surprise since my children passed Stepping Stones with flying colors. Needless to say, we are very dissapointed with our experience with Stepping Stones Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Our time with Stepping Stones has been the worst educational experience of our lives. The principals are confrontational. Suggestions and recommendations from the parents are met with a closed mind. There continues to be significant teacher turnover as ongoing conflict between principals and teachers is clearly evident. This environment is not conducive to building bright, healthy young minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I'm not sure where to begin to tell all of the great things about this school. Unfortunately the new flag pole with the cell tower in it upset some parents who then overreacted. The principals and teachers have done a great job of not letting that affect the school spirit. We went to Meet the Teacher Night and it was fabulous! I'm sorry for the families who became so upset because their kids are going to miss out on a great school year. One thing I know is that I have not met more caring and honest principals or group of teachers. My experience has been that whenever I've had questions all I had to do was ask. What parents need to understand is that they are not always going to get the answers they want, but this doesn't mean they should retaliate against the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

We have watched SSA since it opened and we were very happy when our children were old enough to begin school. Sending our children to SSA was an easy decision and has proven to be an excellent decision for us. We are so thankful to have our children in such a safe and caring environment. Plus our children love learning and many days do not want to go home. We love the high standards and how the teachers and principals take time to talk with the children and parents when there is a problem. One thing is for sure. The people who started this school love what they are doing and this rubs off onto the teachers, children, and parents. Thanks SSA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

I bring my children to Stepping Stones Academy for the excellent academic curriculum, safe environment and high parental involvement. The school is very up front with parents letting them know that after school sports and other programs are not offered. The school focuses on academics. (Isn't that what is most important in our children's lives?) At this school, parents are heard. I am tired of hearing parents complain when things don't go their way--grow up! My children have attended a district school before and this school is 100 times better. My children are safe, they are getting a great education, they love going to school, all the teachers and the two principals really care about each child on campus--what more can parents ask for? I would highly recommend this school to parents. And parents who complain about it probably have never experienced a district school before!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

If you are looking for any type of after school programs you sre out of luck. There are no sports, P.E., Art classes,music or spanish. In my opion the school is lacking what a lot of children need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

This school is known as a back to basics school and places a strong emphasis on academics. From what I've seen, a lot of time is spent on worksheets rather than hands on projects-- even in kindergarten. A few extracurricular activities are available but they are very limited. Parent involvement is high and parents are encouraged to participate at higher grade levels. It seems very little participation is encouraged in lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

I think the teachers are great, but the principals are very strict and only see things there way. The small classroom size is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dedre Alliger
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Visit campus
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 587-8514

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Junior Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
215
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
245
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35812 North 7th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 465-4910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ridgeline Academy
Phoenix, AZ




The Caepe School
Anthem, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT