Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunnyslope High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Sunnyslope's parent group: Viking Parent Club, for always keep parents informed and for doing so much for our students, parents & faculty!

Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
A well-rounded student body and very involved & caring teachers. There are top notch scholars that come out of Sunnyslope and the scholarship opportunities are many! Why pay $12K for a private school education when you can get the same opportunities here?! The AP and Honors classes are challenging and well-populated. The student body is highly involved in extra curricular activities and school spirit is very high. The parent group (Viking Parent Club) is very involved and is a great support to students, teachers and parents. So glad this school is in our community!


Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Sunnyslope has thus far been fantastic for this, my youngest daughter's Freshman year! She is a straight A student as of the end of the first quarter, is in Marching Band and LOVING every hardworking second of it (yes, even during October, affectionately referred to as "hell month" because of the intensity of band competitions as they try to qualify for State, added to daily class, practices, and football games), was encouraged to enroll in Honors English before school ever started and has had her Science teacher point out in front of other teachers and classmates how smart and well-behaved she is and how she should be in Honors Science as well (at next opportunity, she will be enrolling in Honors Science). I am thrilled with the school, the students, the teachers, and the level of parental involvement! AWESOME HIGH SCHOOL, locally and nationally!

Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Great teachers, awesome school. I am so glad that I chose this school for my daughter to attend.

Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted June 26, 2011
- a parent
This is my daughter's senior year class of 2012... yea, go Vikings! I love this school as much as my daughter; we had moved out of the district, but my daughter loves this school so much she takes the city bus to get there...My daughter is active on cheer for the last two years going on 3, swim, tennis, link crew as ambassodor for her school for all freshmen coming in, she is involved in community service; she has been nominated for several leadership programs in DC, Calfornia, and locally prescott UNI-Town and the best Choir ever. SHS has amazing faculty, staff and the principle has amazing leadership. Viking parents club is always involved in student affairs making the best events for SHS... I can't say enough for this excelling school for at least 6 years in a row !!! GO VIKINGS!


Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted July 01, 2010
- a student
I had an awesome freshman year! The staff are so very helpful, the school events are the best, it's just an extraordinary school!

Sunnyslope High School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
..... or as Koffka's saying 'The whole is other than the sum of its parts.' Meaning that SHS in reality as a whole represents the big picture independently, but the students depending on where your coming from experience something different leading to the same goal... an excelling education!

Sunnyslope High School
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Very diverse school with great academics, great staff and great kids


Sunnyslope High School 1

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
I am a former student. Let us be perfectly honest here. There is a huge disparity of how students are treated by faculty. The wealthy student's of 'slope' fair far better than your students of the lower income bracket....let us say the barrio or hood kids. All the rave reviews sounds like polital correctness-try living on the lower income side before you brag about how well all students are treated...There are well behaved bright students on both sides!!!Let them all be treated consistently fair or your best alternative is step out of G.U.H.S.D and try P.U.H.S.D where the schools consistently treat all students fairly....Just simply my opinion but there are several others who I have heard agree.

Sunnyslope High School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
i think the school is a good school i also think the MArching band is great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunnyslope High School
35 West Dunlap, Phoenix, AZ  85021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (623) 915-8760
Last modified Sunnyslope High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top