Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunrise Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 475 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2012

This is an amzaing school. Not only do they offer all day kindergarten for free but the teacher's are outstanding, the principal is amazing, and the communication we receive is more than a parent could ever expect. We could not be happier. We are thrilled to see what 1st grade will have in store for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

i have had 3 children in this school. the teachers are very caring but the principal needs work, their are safety issues that need to be resovled still after 10 years and no improvment. good teachers are leaving because of administration, so sad. we are looking for a new school or charter children with speical needs are put aside:(


Posted May 29, 2011

My Daughter has been going to Sunrise, Kindergarten through 5th grade. Every single Teacher has been first class, helpful, caring and courteous. Im sorry we have to move. I just wish they had a yearbook every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

We have been very happy with this school, this year. Our son has a great teacher, has been invited to many fun events, and has had the opportunity to grow and learn and exercise with a fun afterschool program. The office staff are typically very helpful and curteous. We are disappointed that the lunch period and recess are so incredibly short and sometimes communication is lacking a bit, but overall, we have had a good experience with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

My grandaughter has attended Sunrise Elementary School kindergarten through 6th grade. The teacher have always treated her in a positive, kind manner. They have also been supportive to her family, enabling them to assist in her education. Any problems we have had are handled quickly and fairly by the Principal and her Office Staff. With this start we are sure that she will go on to a successful middle and high school experience.


Posted September 28, 2009

I am extremely disappointed in this school. The only thing good about this school is the teacher. Everything else is horrible! The office is staff is indecisive and unorganized. The principle runs the school like a boot camp and also is very rude. The children at the school only get 10 minutes of recess and no P.E. for the younger grades. With childhood obesity rates sky rocketing we're teaching our children to sit on thier butts all day. Great habit to create for the rest of thier life. Never take you child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Teachers I've met are so into the childrens needs. I know many use their own money to purchase educational products for their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This school has been a great disapointment. Many of the teachers are caring and experienced, but with a total lack of leadership, or support from the never availble principal, there is constant chaos in the classrooms. There are severe discipline problems that are ignored, and the staff is often left to fend for themselves. It's too bad the welfare of the children is left out of the picture by the current administration. Some of the amazing teachers will probably be at a school near you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

This school has extremely dedicated teachers and staff members who go out of their way to help the students be the very best they can be! The PTO is involved in assisting the teachers and the students. The special education department has lots of challenges, but their students are making great strides in their achievements. All in all, Sunrise is a great place to be!


Posted October 23, 2007

This school needs more parent involvement. I do not like how the monthly news letter comes out in the middle of the month after some activities have already happened and parents are not aware of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

This is the most horrible school I have ever been in contact with. They are short staffed especially for special education and just do not understand kids with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

My son went to Sunrise K-4th grade. I don't think Sunrise has done enough to help him with the things he has trouble with in reading and writing. They put him in a different reading program, but just kind of left him there. When he didn't improve, nothing was done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

I am very disappointed with the extra-curricular activities provided as well as a lack of administration involvement with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Not thrilled about the lack of extra curricular activities, but like the timely response of the teacher when emailed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Both of my children attended Sunrise from kindergarten throught sixth grade. They both had wonderful, caring teachers that were very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I have two daughters that attend Sunrise. I have found the teachers to be fabulous! They truly care about their students. The school tries to include parents in many learning opportunities in the evenings. This is great for working families. They also have an afterschool program (Lion's Den) that is run by a fun and caring staff. My daughters love going to school each day at Sunrise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I have been extremely happy with the education my children are receiving at this school and with the additional help they receive when they need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

Two of my four children have attended this school for the last four years, both boys, a year and three weeks apart in age. The older a confident honor roll student his entire school career the younger in special reading class ( for slow comprehension) for his career. I appreciate this schools programs like SAGE for my son who needs greater challenges and the title one programs for my son who has reading challenges.Currently at different ends of the boat, they areboth treated with respect and kindness and placed where they can individually grow. my 5th graders male teacher has superceded any hopeful expectations I had with his patient help with our zealous, yet challenging son. thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

They have a wonderful afterschool program called The Lions Den. My daughter is in kindergarden and so I am dissapointed they do not have all day kindergarden. I am dissappointed in the quality of programs they have and group activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2004

Sunrise has very good teachers but they seem to be having problems getting the material need to bring up the test scores that are lagging behind the state average. the school is lacking in other areas as well. extracurricular activities are disappointing the facilities are out dated and showing there age. The computers are very few and fare between.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 43%
White 43% 42%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 467-5980

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17624 N. 31st Av
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT