Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tavan Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2007

We chose this school (after researching all the schools in the Scottsdale District) for our children in spite of warnings from other parents about the challenges of sending our children to school with a large percentage of non-English speakers. They couldn't have been more wrong. Our children are receiving a high quality education. They are adequately challenged and are very happy. The PTA is really strong and the atmosphere at the school makes it easy to be a part of the life of the school. If you want to prepare your children for the world, this is the school for them. Our children are receiving a well-rounded education and they are happy to go to school and don't want to miss out on even one day...which will ensure their continued success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

We have had a positive experience at Tavan. Our daughter has been adequetly challenged and the teachers and administration has been quick to address any arising issues/concerns. The teachers are amazing and truly 'make' the school. Tavan continues to grow in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

My son started out very slow and his 1st teacher immediatly noticed the struggled and envolved other teachers to help evaluate the situation. He worked with the Tavan reading group, who saw the need for a summer reading program (a free service w/ SUSD). His self esteem and reading shot up a great deal. The school picked up right where they left off when my son started 2nd grade and continued testing to see how things were going. He continues to need the service of special education, which I feel has helped him a great deal. He enjoys his core class and is involved in the weekly music, art computer & gym classes. Tavan also offers many social activities, allowing for families to meet. The PTA is strong and is trying to get more parents involved. The staff is great and the VP is very involved with the school. It's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Tavan has been a great experience for our family. The teachers are truly concerned with my child's progress and ensures that she is adequately challenged. The diversity has been a great experience for our family as it is teaching tolerance and acceptance of everyone! The greatest challenge that I see is parent involvement, however, I am begining to see this increase. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a diverse, positive and enriching public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

I find that Tavan has been very academic orientated. The especially focus on reading in the beginning grades. My children are very happy and enjoy the circulim offered. However, I do wish there were more school sponsored extra curricular activities available. I have found that Ms. Serna, the principal, to have an open door policy and is very easy to talk with about any concerns you may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Tavan is an excellent school. My son will be a 4th grader this year and is very successful academically and socially. Tavan teachers are all highly qualified and committed to meeting the educational needs of every student. Tavan's incredible diversity makes it a place for children to thrive and build life long friendships and learn about acceptance and equality. My son participated in the 'Kindergarten Spring Play', first grade 'Dr. Suess Celebration', second grade 'We Are The World Program' and the third grade 'Patriotic Concert'. Summer of '05, my son was provided an opportunity to participate in the dynamic free Tavan Summer Fine Arts and Writing Program. At Tavan learning is fun! My son continues to thrive academically and displays great confidence. I commend the teachers, staff and Tavan administrators for their high expectations and excellent learning experiences they provide for all students. Tavan is a true learning community for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My kindergardner loves this school, He has learned alot. The teachers are phenomenal and admin staff is very visable. I recommend this school, and parents should get more involved. I have one concern, one class seems to have more non english speakers than the other classes and seems to miss on some curricular activities due to the language barrier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

Okay, so Tavan is diverse. Well, hello, so is our society. I laugh at myself for struggling with this issue. Tavan is a place where all children are accepted, challenged and empowered. It is void of social pressures and allows children to be children, build self confidence and value systems important for life. We have found it to be accademically challenging for any level. It has wonderful teachers and administration that have a true love of children. The children are provided all of the art/music/computer type programs. Yes, we need more parent involvement, which means if you are interested enough to research this, we need you. Parent particiapation is needed and appreciated. I feel my children will be great assets to this school and be more prepared for life. Most importantly, my kids are happy. We feel we made the right decision choosing our neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I have had a wonderful expierence at Tavan so far. My daughter is in Kindergarten and she is involved in an accelerated reading program where she is pulled out in a small group to work on an elevated level of reading. Her teacher is a master teacher an is amazing! We have been involved in many fun and exciting programs this year such as a family Thanksgiving feast, 100th day celebration, a room-mother organization, and two great field trips. The staff is great and very helpful. The administration is very involved and visable and puts the children first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

A very dedicated staff. This school has a great deal of student diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

I was a student teacher at tavan, it is a really troubled school but they are working hard to improve educational quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

A huge lack of control in some classrooms. The Principal promises and does not follow through. She does not manage her time well. She's irresponsible and does not speak the truth. She says one thing and does another. Just full of excuses! There seems to be no accountability of the staff. Very poorly run school. This one needs some major reorganization! They really need to implement the 'Character Counts' program, and fast! Starting with the adults...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

Great school - high expectations for students, diverse student population, dedicated and talented staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2004

Excellent school. My son is doing well and is very successful academically. The teachers are highly qualified and the administration very interested and hard working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2003

This is a wonderful school. Under the leadership of Ms. Serna, Tavan has become an exemplary educationally centered school. Tavan has dedicated staff and students who continually achieve at high levels. I am impressed with the test scores and also the level of learning.


Posted October 17, 2003

My daughter has attended Tavan since preschool. Margret Serna is a great leader. She is personable and listens to each parent who has something to say. My daughter is excelling in every subject. Mr. Bailey (3rd grade) and Ms. Burket (5th grade) are exceptional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

We are now in our 5th year at this school. The administration and teacher staff are fantastic. The principal and assistant principal are very energetic and involved...they are always fighting to make Tavan better for our children and for the teachers. We have had the same incredible principal for all 5 years. We could not imagine a better school atmosphere.


Posted April 29, 2003

We are so happy to have our son attend such a great school. The teachers are fantastic and the principal and assistant principal really get involved with all the kids - I think they know all the kids by name!! Our son has learned so much this year and truly think Tavan is awesome!


Posted April 2, 2003

Tavan has a very upbeat atmosphere, the children are happy both arriving at and leaving from school. My child has had a wonderful experience here for four years. The principal is dynamic and the assistant principal wonderful.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
White 30% 42%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-3501

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4610 E. Osborn
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






New Way Academy
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT