Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas A Edison School

Public | PK-8 | 604 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

Thomas A. Edison is a great school because it has great teachers. These teachers are unfortunately ready to quit though. Not because they don't love and aren't dedicated to the kids, they are. But the new pressures placed on them because of the new requirements and the constant badgering by reviews is forcing them out. What will replace the good teachers are people not dedicated, very young and immature and will only last two years at best. Anything that can be done to get the state off the backs of our good teachers would be of great help. I'm an IA with a masters in political philosophy. I was thinking about becoming a certified teacher but there is no way I will now. I know that what everyone wishes to hear is positive talk and I want Edison to alway be a great school. I hope Edison will keep being a great school but I just don't see AZ having any great schools in the next few years. We can change this.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2014

am parent at Edison school is a great school, because Ms Chavez is great helper and help everyone at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

my school is Edison. what I like about this school is its clean,all the teachers are friendly and bullying is doubt with. and the principle is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

Edison Elementary School is a great school cause is always clean and teachers are very helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

my school is Edison and what I like about their school is its clean and friendly and everybody works hard with the students!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I like the structured environment of Edison Elementary as well as the general setup of parking, student drop off, and monthly parent meetings with the staff for updates on school events throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

The Principal is so cool! The school is clean all the time. All the teachers are so cool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

The teachers are excellent. The school has a lot of programs for students. They have a good P.E Teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

my school is Edison and what I like about this school is if there is ever any problems with any of the students there parents are contacted right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

my school is Thomas Edison and out of all the school where my kids have been this is so far way better, specially the teacher and principal, I have a kinder boy and he is already reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I like the way the teachers are with our students. I like the way the principal and the front office present themselves as well. The teachers are very loving and really attend to our kids and their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I like everything about the school, ever since I brought my kids starting about 10 years ago I loved this school. I love the attitude of the principal. My daughters teacher is very loving and attends to my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

The kindergarten teacher has been helping her learn a lot. I think the teacher is very advanced and I Love this. I love the teachers attitude and I like the ways she takes care of my kids. My sons 8th grade teacher is helping my son advance and he used to be behind.. I love the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Lots of parent involvement. This year has been a full turn. More smiles around campus .Loving school, Teachers and parents. Everyone is so helpful!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My school is a warm and friendly community. I am happy to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

Edison is a wonderful school and community. The teachers and staff work very hard to ensure all students are successful and reach their full potential. Teachers here really care about all students at the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2013

This school is great! Really involved teachers who are focused on kids and they have their hands full with discipline. This is a community school that really tries to meet the needs of the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

These students are in trouble. Teachers fail to teach so as the students move along they get deeper in the hole. This is a community school tho it accepts out of district students to pad numbers. Hence the oversized classes. Not good when the majority are remedial. Bad school because of bad administrator and early educators especially. Check out the scores. Might as well re-enroll the middle schoolers back in third grade with a new teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

I feel sad because this school has so much potential. There are some talented teachers at this school (some of the best I've had the privilege to know, actually), but the leadership is very poor. The expectations are not clearly communicated to staff or students, and there are no clear and consistent consequences for students. As a result, students get away with rude and disrespectful behavior that is excused away because these are inner-city kids. I have seen the results of good leadership on this same demographic of students. I agree with the poster who commented that there is a "teach to the bottom" mentality. The students at this school are very bright, and the main thing they are learning is how to work the system. In my dealings with the Phoenix district, I think the problem is not just with this school, but that entire district could use a fresh dose of quality leadership. Do not send your students here. They will not learn and they will not be safe.


Posted September 21, 2008

a amazing school with lots of greate kids with much potential


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 90% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
White 1% 42%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 257-3704

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

804 N. 18th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85006
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-3848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Garfield School
Phoenix, AZ


Excelencia School
Phoenix, AZ




St. Agnes School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT