Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thunderbird High School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We've had 1 son graduate with honors and win the state championship in football in his graduating year. He loved his time at Thunderbird as well as his teachers. We currently have another son going into his junior year, following in his brothers footsteps, playing football and taking AP classes. He is doing well also and loves it there.

Thunderbird High School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Good AP program and teachers, but if any teachers leave the administration needs to FIND AND HIRE equally good teachers to keep the program strong, interesting, and effective. Not sure how Thunderbird rates vs. other schools when AP teachers are offered positions and decide which school to accept. Hopefully, Thunderbird can entice strong and motivating teachers. Example: The school lost an AP teacher (maybe others too?) last year. The AP physics teacher so the school is offering the class "online" - not the best way for high school kids to learn and excel in a class.


Thunderbird High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 17, 2015
- a student
Best AP teachers in the state. Throughout my 4 years here I felt that all my teachers actually care about the students.

Thunderbird High School
no rating

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
my daughter is graduatuing this year 2009 she loved all 4 years at thunderbird high and all the teacher were great and helped her out!!!!

Thunderbird High School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
I am the parent of a freshman that came from a very small private school. Thunderbird administration and teachers made the transition very easy for my student. The Chief Parent Association is great very organized and does a great job for the school. I am very very happy with our choice of Thunderbird High School!


Thunderbird High School
no rating

Posted June 02, 2008
- a student
Overall, I really like this school. Accelerated/AP track is awesome - for the most part, the teachers cover their given topics extremely well. There is always something going on and a great sense of family exists at T-Bird. I only wish that some of the money spent on sports went toward performing arts, because we work terribly hard and have extremely good feedback from the community but the music/drama/dance treasuries pretty much run dry by the second semester, whereas the athletic treasuries never lose out.

Thunderbird High School 4

Posted February 27, 2008
- a student
i love this school and all... but its like a tin can. come on... Also some teachers aren't that helpful but i would like to thank some like my english teacher mrs. gebhart. Awesome teacher. nice media center. but like everything else needs more improvement. i am a student there. but sometimes i wish it would change a little.

Thunderbird High School 5

Posted August 17, 2007
- a parent
Excellent School. Administration is awesome and campus looks lovely.


Thunderbird High School 5

Posted August 13, 2007
- a student
I am a current student at Thunderbird High School and it is one of the best schools I have been to. The teachers are always there before or after school to help you with a problem or review for the test. The school also has a wonderful AP program. The teachers are very involved with their work and they will work with every student to help them pass the AP test. Overall, I feel that Thunderbird is an exceptional school because of how much the teachers care about their work and how much I myself have learned over my past three years there.

Thunderbird High School 4

Posted August 10, 2006
- a student
I actually attend this school and it is a really good school and our teachers do care about us

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thunderbird High School
1750 W. Thunderbird, Phoenix, AZ  85023
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (623) 915-8900
Last modified Thunderbird High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top