Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 2,860

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trevor Browne High School 4

Posted March 28, 2014
- a teacher
I currently work at Trevor and find that there are pros and cons. Pros: there are so many great sports, clubs, arts programs, and activities to be a part of. That is where you will find the most loving and engaging teachers. They want to be there for students and in return, those students find an interest in school and life. Teachers also give their time for the students, even if they know think they will succeed. Aims is tough because seniors, who have taken the tests 3 times now, still do not pass. What you don't see are all the Saturdays and evenings spent to make them increase just a little bit to make their spirit rise. :) Cons: It is easy to tell which students' parents are involved in their life. It's sad, but students showing up in class, but not caring about class, at least they aren't at home getting in trouble. Also, we have roughly 3,000 kids...that is too many! Students need to find a place here with those clubs, sports, arts, etc, or they will find themselves with friends that hurt them, and not help them. Trevor is a great school, but it is the kid's choice to make it great. If they find themselves in bad spots, or no support, the teachers care and will help. :)

Trevor Browne High School 3

Posted November 30, 2013
- a student
It is unfortunate that TGBHS has such great teachers, and the students are mostly friendly but the poor parent/community involvement, low school-spirit, and many administrative restrictions are what really hold the school back. It is safe for the most part and there really aren't many cliques. However few students preform well academically and electives offered are very generic. Our sports teams help build character, but we rarely go to state these days. The experience here is what you make it.


Trevor Browne High School 1

Posted November 30, 2013
- a student
I attended TGB the entirety of my junior year and half of my senior year. I had never before been in such an emotionally claustrophobic environment in my life. Granted, it IS in a shoddy part of Phoenix, but this should inversely serve as motivation to succeed in high school and live better lives. Instead, the majority of the students seem to have been sucked dry from the ability to put in a bit of extra effort. The staff also appear to be harboring hate to their higher-ups. They seem forced to pass any student who has a beating pulse. Yet they're not forced to talk to parents, to challenge kids, or pay attention to the students ("Does anyone have any Q's?" [I raise my hand] "No one? Good, let's continue with the rehashed Powerpoint lesson.") There is ONE good teacher at this school. He taught me AP Calc and is underpaid. There is obviously an issue that is attacking the majority of the alumni, and instead of discussing ways to improve the academic rigor, the principal spends his afternoons in his little exclusive "book club" instead of coming out to the pep rally. The 1.5 years that I spent at this diploma mill hardened me. Please, find an alternative school for your child.

Trevor Browne High School 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a student
I think Trevor Browne is a very good school besides all the rumors that are told about it. It is filled with excellent teachers that push students to excellence.

Trevor Browne High School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a student
i am a freshman at trevor browne and i feel that it is a good school. there are no big cliques or any differences but everyone blends in and i find that to be very good in a school that big!


Trevor Browne High School 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Trevor Browne High School 1

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Trevor Browne High School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Trevor Browne High School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Trevor Browne High School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a student
i go there n theres nothing bad there

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trevor Browne High School
7402 W. Catalina, Phoenix, AZ  85033
(602) 764-1500
Last modified Trevor Browne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Trevor Browne High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top