Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tumbleweed Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 502 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

Good school overall.no school is perfect.the teachers and staff care about the students.we moved and still choose to drive my son to this school.we have to fill paperwork out and get an ok from the principal.it is worth it.we'll do the same for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

I love going to this school i hope my last year will be fantastic I am excited!


Posted May 26, 2013

I rate this school a 1 star for the poor, unfriendly front staff that greets parents when they come to the school. Not very greeting at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

The school has problems, no doubt. Most of them are due to poor administration in the past. Old principal let kids get away with anything and everything, now the new principal is trying to clean up the mess. Don't look for it to be an incredible school in the next year or two, but it is definitely getting better. Teachers and staff for the most part are great, they're just adapting to a new, better way and it will take a few years for tradition and expectation to sink in to the up and coming students.


Posted March 13, 2012

Very unimpressed with this school! We moved into this schools area at the beginning of the 2011-12 school year and I have had NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS with my sons long term substitute teacher. The receptionist in the front office is rude and short with me everytime I see her! The principal is a nice lady but I think that she has to many problems this year to effectively fix any one of them. My children will finish the school year here but I don't think they will be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I agree with the last poster, terrible, horrible staff and very inattentive to concerns I had as a parent. Result: my child also attends the best school in the area - ALTS. The End.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I would not recommend this school either. Total lack of communication between teacher/parent and the new principal always sides with the teacher. There is no supervision during recess/lunch time. They have 1 teacher aide who stands under the shade tree and can t possibly watch the football field, basketball courts, tether ball area, etc...Total lack of caring from staff.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

My daughter went to first grade here, and the school work was below what a 4 year old should do. She was not challenged, nor did she really learn anything. We subsidized her education at home which helped because she now attends ALTS. I would NOT recomend this school to anyone who wants their child to have an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

My four daughters attend this school and they love it. We have always taken them to charter schools but we tried this public school and the school spirit can't be beat. I would give this school a 5 plus rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Being a single mom of three, I really feel that the staff at Tumbleweed are willing to work with you and are truely there for your children. They are almost like a second family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Great School with great Teachers. Excellent Curriculum in which the teachers take pride in what they teach their students. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great school for their kids.


Posted May 27, 2008

This school has a wide variety of unique features. I am very impressed with the music teacher , school resource teachers and the knowledge base of the teachers. I always feel my child is challenged and supported educationally and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I think the teachers are very nice but are challenged with the different levels of knowledge in the classroom. Teachers seem to spend a lot of time with the children that are behind and leave the ones that are doing very well unchallenged. My concern is the lack of homework and challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

I found this school welcoming to parents but very mediocre in terms of academics. Specifically, very little homework or long-term projects were assigned. I always asked why so little homework and got odd responses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

My daughter is in the second grade. she has gone there the whole time she has been in school. she loves this school. her teachers have been so helpful and they always try to find new ways of keeping her intrest. so far they have done a wonderful job. parents are always welcome to just come a be with their child throughout the school year. this school is in a very nice crimefree area. I really like this school and so does my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My son is in kindergarten and our experience so far has been outstanding. His teacher has been great and has really gone that extra mile for him, making sure he's challenged and excited about school and learning. What an awesome school experience this first year has given our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

School has some issues to work on. Teachers are good but morale seems poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I beleieve that Tumbleweed is an excellent school for my children. I look forward in seeing how much ther can accomplish in the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

Site Council is not utilized to full extent and programs are on the chopping block.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

I have been very pleased with my sons teachers the past two years they have been very caring yet firm. He loves to go to school and has learned a tremendous amount. The office staff is very pleasant and Mr. Sweeney was a breathe of fresh air.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 38% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 896-6620

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 W Laurel Ln
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 896-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ



Sweetwater School
Glendale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT