Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 502

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tumbleweed Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Good school overall.no school is perfect.the teachers and staff care about the students.we moved and still choose to drive my son to this school.we have to fill paperwork out and get an ok from the principal.it is worth it.we'll do the same for next year.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
I love going to this school i hope my last year will be fantastic I am excited!


Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
I rate this school a 1 star for the poor, unfriendly front staff that greets parents when they come to the school. Not very greeting at all

Tumbleweed Elementary School 2

Posted May 11, 2012
- a community member
The school has problems, no doubt. Most of them are due to poor administration in the past. Old principal let kids get away with anything and everything, now the new principal is trying to clean up the mess. Don't look for it to be an incredible school in the next year or two, but it is definitely getting better. Teachers and staff for the most part are great, they're just adapting to a new, better way and it will take a few years for tradition and expectation to sink in to the up and coming students.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Very unimpressed with this school! We moved into this schools area at the beginning of the 2011-12 school year and I have had NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS with my sons long term substitute teacher. The receptionist in the front office is rude and short with me everytime I see her! The principal is a nice lady but I think that she has to many problems this year to effectively fix any one of them. My children will finish the school year here but I don't think they will be returning next year.


Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I agree with the last poster, terrible, horrible staff and very inattentive to concerns I had as a parent. Result: my child also attends the best school in the area - ALTS. The End.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
I would not recommend this school either. Total lack of communication between teacher/parent and the new principal always sides with the teacher. There is no supervision during recess/lunch time. They have 1 teacher aide who stands under the shade tree and can t possibly watch the football field, basketball courts, tether ball area, etc...Total lack of caring from staff.....

Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to first grade here, and the school work was below what a 4 year old should do. She was not challenged, nor did she really learn anything. We subsidized her education at home which helped because she now attends ALTS. I would NOT recomend this school to anyone who wants their child to have an education.


Tumbleweed Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 2

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tumbleweed Elementary School
4001 W Laurel Ln, Phoenix, AZ  85029
(602) 347-2600
Last modified Tumbleweed Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tumbleweed Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top