Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tumbleweed Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Every teacher my child has had in the last 7 years - THANK YOU!! You have helped her and me get through it and make it on to the next school and the next step while she is still involved and interested in her schooling

Tumbleweed Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
This school has made great strides over the last several years. The teachers for the most part are amazing. The music teacher should probably move on though, the way she is so hot and cold and the kids never know if they are her friend or going to get yelled at. The principal is ok, not the best. The front office staff has improved immensely. The PTA is doing their best. I think there really needs to be more parents out there that care and want to help their children succeed. So if you are looking at this school as an option - The teachers are great and the school is good. Just get involved. Be a part of the PTA (as cliche as that is), even if it is just to volunteer at 1 event, or just receive the emails, and stay in contact. We as parents are as big of a part of their education as the teachers are.


Tumbleweed Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
My son started kindergarten this year, and I have been really happy with the school, the staff, and the teachers. My son comes home with a homework packet with around 2 worksheets to complete per day, along with some reading and sight words. I'm amazed at how much he is learning, and how enthusiastic he is about it. His teacher is amazing!! He couldn't have asked for a better teacher. The school has a very active PTA and Site Council that are constantly organizing fun events. They even have cross-country for the kids from kindergarten age. The principal, Mrs. Russel is a wonderful lady that has always been friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this school, and am very happy that I decided to put my son into this school.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Good school overall.no school is perfect.the teachers and staff care about the students.we moved and still choose to drive my son to this school.we have to fill paperwork out and get an ok from the principal.it is worth it.we'll do the same for next year.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
I love going to this school i hope my last year will be fantastic I am excited!


Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
I rate this school a 1 star for the poor, unfriendly front staff that greets parents when they come to the school. Not very greeting at all

Tumbleweed Elementary School 2

Posted May 11, 2012
- a community member
The school has problems, no doubt. Most of them are due to poor administration in the past. Old principal let kids get away with anything and everything, now the new principal is trying to clean up the mess. Don't look for it to be an incredible school in the next year or two, but it is definitely getting better. Teachers and staff for the most part are great, they're just adapting to a new, better way and it will take a few years for tradition and expectation to sink in to the up and coming students.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Very unimpressed with this school! We moved into this schools area at the beginning of the 2011-12 school year and I have had NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS with my sons long term substitute teacher. The receptionist in the front office is rude and short with me everytime I see her! The principal is a nice lady but I think that she has to many problems this year to effectively fix any one of them. My children will finish the school year here but I don't think they will be returning next year.


Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I agree with the last poster, terrible, horrible staff and very inattentive to concerns I had as a parent. Result: my child also attends the best school in the area - ALTS. The End.

Tumbleweed Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
I would not recommend this school either. Total lack of communication between teacher/parent and the new principal always sides with the teacher. There is no supervision during recess/lunch time. They have 1 teacher aide who stands under the shade tree and can t possibly watch the football field, basketball courts, tether ball area, etc...Total lack of caring from staff.....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tumbleweed Elementary School
4001 West Laurel Ln, Phoenix, AZ  85029
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (602) 347-2600
Last modified Tumbleweed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top