Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools

Charter | PK-8 | 752 students

Valley Academy was named 2011 Arizona Charter School of the Year
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

121 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2005

Great curriculum ideas but poorly trained teachers and too much inconsistency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

This will be my daughter 2nd year at Valley, and we are gratified the academic challenge the school offered to students. Parents involvement increase students interest in learning, as well as awareness of student class standing. It is like a large family. We fully understand that it is hard to be a teacher without assistance. Parents valued teachers by volunteering time, that would help her daily task, so she can concentrate on teaching. We feel like a part owner, for the school inform all parents of current update. Academic is rigorous, and you do need to be involve in your child daily schoolwork. Furthermore, you need to follow guidelines or else this is not the right school for you and your child. Arts and sports awareness are high, as well as physical fitness to being a well rounded personality. I am extremely proud that my daughter attends Valley Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Valley Academy is an excellent charter school! I have never sent my child to a better school. He made genuine friends and learned priceless values. I would recommend this school to any parent. The only challenge is the is work is intense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I have to say I am glad I had two years with Valley. I had three kids there, my two oldest had a hard time during there second year, one in 7th grade and the other in 3rd. My 1st grader did great, unfortunatly I couldnt drive to three different schools. I have to say I was dissappointed that my two older kids couldnt make it at Valley, and holding them back was just not an option for them. That made them feel like they were dumb when the school suggested that, there self esteem took a nose dive. I was also not happy that the school doesnt have a program so that it keeps them from being held back for ex: summer school. Im glad to say my 1st grader will take what she has learned and will use it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Valley Academy is a quality school that focuses on the fundamentals! Reading and writing are the foundation of this excelling school. I would not have my children go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

We absolutely love this school. Traditional teaching, parent involvement, communication. What more could one want out of a school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Valley Academy is an excellent example of parents and school working together. For each student enrolled in the school, a parent is asked to volunteer three hours a month. Parents are involved in curriculum decisions through the parent organization (of which every parent is a member), and teachers, as well as administrators, have an open door policy where parents are able and encouraged to come in a see what's going on in their child's class. Academically, Valley Academy is among the best. Students are taught a traditional education in a structured, well-disciplined classroom. Because of Valley's commitment to 'time on task' students often exceed NCLB's expectation of a year's growth, and show more than a year's growth. The curriculum is challenging, the teachers and administrators are commited, and the parents are involved, who could ask for a better school than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

My daughter is completing her Kindergarten at Valley. I have nothing but good things to say about this school. The quality of education my daughter has received have exceeded my expectations. The teachers are well trained and the academics is not too easy but it is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I have found this school to be academicly challenging. So much better than the public school. Office staff is very friendly and ehlpcul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My daughter began Valley Academy as a new student last fall in the fifth grade. I am exceptionally pleased with her transition to Valley and can not say enough good things about this school. She had not been taught the Spalding phonics system at her old school, so the principal assisted in arranging for one of the other teachers to tutor her after school several nights per week to catch her up. The principal is very involved, knows all of her teachers abilities and monitors their performance. She is also very involved with the students, and stopped in several times at the beginning of the year to check on my child and ensure that she was appropriately placed. Parent involvement is highly encouraged and welcomed, from volunteering to serving on curriculum and standards committees, etc. This school has very high academic standards and expectations, an excellent curriculum and excellent educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Very high academic standards. My child is challenged all the times. Not a lot of extra curricular activities. The level of parent involvement is very high and it requires every parent to devote some time to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

The school has good academics and a good staff of instructors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My youngest son has been attending VA for 6 years now and we just love it. They give him the best education you can possiblly give a child, he has learned so much. I have an older child who attended also and is now attending Brophy College Prep. We believe that if he did not receive this high quality of education at VA he may not have been able to attend Brophy (very high standards). I have recommended this school to many of my friends who now have children attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

School is really great in teaching children all the book 'smarts' but lack in assisting children with specail needs. Yes' by law they have to assist these children in their school, but they screen most of this kids out. Their numbers are excellence but the question should be asked about the children who don't learn by sitting in the chair looking forward all day. How do they help these children. V.A. will suggest going to a 'public' school. If your child is like our oldest daughter and adapts well to many different learning enivornments your child will do well. If not you may want to look at other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Very disappointing! We were promised 'this really nice' teacher, and after testing for 2 hours, was told there was not enough room in her class. My daughter was thrown into a different class with no direction from the teacher and no assigned buddy. I spoke with the principal, and was promised results, but to no avail. I withdrew her after two days. While I was in the office waiting for a withdraw slip the administrator told another prospective parent that her child could have the 'really nice' teacher we were denied! Overall they were rude, totally inconsistent, and not at all understanding of the plight of a young transfer student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

This has the potential to be an excellent school for a traditional education; however the administration is more interested in the funds they get for your child rather than the education they give to your child. There are very few extra-curricular activities available and they refuse to provide any challenge or activities for more gifted students. Many of the teachers are new to the school and - the ones we have experienced - have very little, if any, classroom management skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Mmost of the extremely negative comments made about Valley on this site were made by parents with undisciplined kids. No school is perfect because people work there. If you like conservative and traditional education you will like valley. As a responsible parent one should to pay attention to your kids activities at Valley just like any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

Valley Academy is a great school. The teachers are good and keeping the parents involved. The Spalding method of learning makes it so easy for the kids to learn to read and write. The Extracurricular activities need a lot of improvement but the school is more concerned about the children getting a good education. So if the two could be addressed and more activies added, it would be great. My kids will continue to go to Valley Academy throughout their elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

Valley Academy has provided the back to basics education that I wanted for my children. The principal has provided the leadership in creating an environment of excellence and discipline. In fact, as I had looked at various schools, my discussion with the principal and her approach to education, cemented my decision to attend Valley Academy. The teachers at the school work to help all students to achieve academically without dumbing down the educational process, which happens in many of the public schools. The parents have more opportunity to work with the administration and work as a team to ensure high academic achievement. My experiences with the principal and the teachers have been rewarding in striving to ensure the best education for my children and the rest of the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

Valley Academy is a great place for our kids. The environment is safe and caring. Our children are learning far beyond the local public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 3%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Charter School of the Year (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Victoria Wilber
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (623) 516-2703

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Spalding Phonics, Saxon Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Co-ed Softball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Scrabble
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1520 West Rose Garden Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85027
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 516-7747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT