Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Valley Academy is proud to be a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School! The United States Department of Education recognized Valley Academy as an Exemplary, High Performing School. What a great way to celebrate 20 years of excellence in education! We are a traditional school that focuses on providing an environment that is carefully crafted for academic success. We have received the highest possible rating from the state of Arizona every year and have been an Arizona Charter School of the Year. Our highest goal is academic excellence, particularly in the fundamental areas of reading, writing, spelling, speaking, mathematics, and science. We believe in a well-rounded education, and Art, Music, P.E., Spanish, and Computer classes enhance our advanced academic curriculum. We support our families in teaching discipline, respect, and personal responsibility. We believe in fostering genuine self-respect based upon individual achievement and appropriate competition. Our students learn citizenship through understanding our history, heritage, and government. We respect your role as a parent in guiding your child through his or her education. Parental involvement is a cornerstone of our school, which was founded by parents wanting a better education for their own children. Our parent volunteers are welcome on campus, and we are grateful that they bring their abilities and interests to enrich the school. Our students promote from 8th grade with a solid academic foundation for their future learning and have a history of success in advanced Honors, AP, and IB high school classes and beyond. I invite you to visit our website to learn more about our programs, and see how we can help your family meet your education goals.
October 14, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
152 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 195 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
I have a daughter who began attending Valley Academy in the second grade. She promoted to high school well prepared for the challenges thanks to the guidance and education she received from the teachers, staff, and Administration at Valley. My son started kindergarten and is going to begin his 8th grade year at Valley. He has grown into a well rounded, respectful and educated young man. He too has been blessed to have received the benefit of his teachers and staff on the campus. Valley's focus on academic excellence is what makes this school so successful. They also have high expectations for students when it comes to behavior standards. It is a relief knowing my children are and were in a classroom with other children that are there to learn and not be a disturbance. I am grateful to Valley Academy for the all it has been to my children.

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended Pre-School at Valley and was extremely well prepared with all necessary skills to enter Kindergarten. She is about to complete her Kindergarten year as a fluent reader! She has read over 300 books this year! We are also impressed with her strong knowledge of math facts at such a young age. We could not be happier with the academic growth we have seen in our daughter this year and cannot wait to see what is to come for her in first grade! Thank you, Valley!


Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
All four of my children have attended Valley Academy for all of their elementary school years. I cannot say enough about the quality of the education they received. The behavioral and academic expectations are high, but my children left extremely well prepared for high school and beyond. I am so thankful that we were able to find this amazing school!

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 3

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
My kid attended the first three years of his schooling here. We have some neat memories but overall was not a good fit in our case. Our son struggled to keep up and did not relate to most of the other kids. He is not one to complain, is respectful, and a very hard worker, but the amount of effort required to keep average grades was affecting him emotionally. At one point, the school recommended that he repeat a grade even though he was hanging in there and passing. I decided to sit in on some classes and found that some teachers were noticeably skilled and engaging. But was shocked that in some classes, the teacher would completely loose control of the class with kids misbehaving and literally running amok. As I got to know the parents more, I also came to a realization that for various (and mostly valid) cultural, religious, generational, or other sometimes pretentious expectations, it was difficult for our family to really feel "at home" and "belong" in that school environment. At that point, we decided to transfer him to public school. What a major relief that was for him that he could be himself and engage socially and interact fully with his peers. The teaching methods now made a lot more sense to him that those at Valley (That Phonics method is just not for everyone). And when he did struggle with certain subjects at his new school, they had him evaluated which led us to having him diagnosed with a form of rolandic epilepsy that was impacting his comprehension. Thankfully, he has outgrown the condition and is a model student at public school, but I am disappointed in Valley for not having the resources, capability, and/or desire to help and instead want to hold a student back a grade to pound more learning into them. To be fair, I thought Valley Academy was a great option for the exceptional/gifted students. But for a regular kid that needs some balance in his life, Valley Academy may not be best. Hope this helps other parents if they find themselves in a similar situation.

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
A thank you to a teacher that in confidence helped us understand what was the best move for our child.


Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
Overall the teachers were effective, but some were ineffective. Many students were expected by their parents to continue instruction at home, or with tutors. I believe this glossed over the bad school teachers.

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
There was too much homework without enough creativity to go along with it. Homework is fine, but not if it comes in a punishing and relentless fashion.

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
As a former student, I loved this school. It is a bit strict, but you need that so that you can focus on learning, which is highly effective. I loved the teachers and they work together really well. I know uniforms sound boring, but the uniformity takes all the peer pressure off so you don't have to worry about what to wear. I made some good, life long friends there and I will miss seeing them every day. If you are looking for a good school, this is it.


Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Two of my children have graduated from here and received an amazing education! The staff & teachers are so dedicated and incredible.

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
I am a former student of Valley and I really liked how well it prepared me for high school. The teachers are really great and helpful. I went there for all K-8 years and made some good friends. It was a fun and educational experience.

Nearby schools

Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools
1520 West Rose Garden Lane, Phoenix, AZ  85027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 195 reviews. (623) 516-7747
Last modified Valley Academy - Reid Traditional Schools is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top