Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus

Charter | K-8 | 485 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

95 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2008

I've been a great school supporter in the past and consistently given them the benefit of the doubt. Enough is enough with their continued sales pitch and lack of follow-through. The Villa mantra of we love our parents and want them involved in their classroom stops at the classroom door and the car line. My student's upper and lower elementary teachers all talked the talk but do not walk the walk. I've had a student at this school for many years. Parents are not made to fell welcome in the classroom unless you are a big money donator or have free resources they want. They consistently avoid returning phone calls or emails about important issues regarding students, problems or academics. This is common knowledge among the non-teaching staff and other parents I have spoke to about the school. Too much click -i-ness and not enough love of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I agree with the previous posting saying the meanness and cruelty would not be tolerated at public school and also those who say the administration is difficult to deal with. Some of the teachers also model unkind behavior. We will not be returning. I recommend anyone considering the school really listen to their gut and observe whether the children look happy. I also recommend that if you do choose this school you 'drop in' to visit your child in class, PE and at recess. Don't just listen to the teachers and pep talks, listen with your own ears to what is going on at Villa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

The previous reviewer referenced 'over the top fundraising'. That is nonsense. Of course there are fundraisers (the main one being the auction)--such is the reality of trying to run a charter school with poor funding from the state--but there are no 'high pressure' calls to your home asking for money or anything like that. On the other topic, I'd like the Head of School to be a bit more visible around campus, but she is certianly a million times more capable than leaders that you will find at a typical district school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

Our experience matches those who previously expressed disappointment with the Head of the School (inattentive and unprofessional), unmet academic expectations, and over the top fundraising. Certainly there are problems at any school...some schools self evaluate and correct them, it's called accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Villa is only great if your child does not have special needs. I have fought with them for so long to provide the proper education for him. Unfortunately their only solution was for him to be taken to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I was fortunate to find Villa Montessori 13 years ago when I was looking for childcare for my then infant son. In our time at Villa, my son has become a self assured young man ready to take on the challenges of high school next year. I believe he has received a superb education from the well trained teachers he has had. He has also learned about a multitude of topics that he might not have learned until high school had he attended any other school. I count myself lucky that Villa has been there to educate my son and I would highly recommend it to any parent seeking a high quality school that has a great family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

Villa Montessori has been the best experience for 2 of my children. Both my children excelled and thrived afer changing from other schools. For a child, the environment and influence at Villa elementary and middle schools provide a strong foundation for compassionate leaders and lifelong learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Villa was great in the younger grades but my kids lost ground after 3rd grade. When they hated school, I knew it was time to look elsewhere. Their classes were wildly out of control in terms of discipline and order. My eldest child just reminded me that for his entire 6th grade he 'got away with doing nothing.' We have found a school that is far more organized and challenging and my kids finally love school and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I have put trust in the teachers and administrators at Villa Montessori for 10 years and found that they are helpful and honest. It is this honesty along with knowledge about the Montessori philosophy that makes the administration effective and good for the community. I know that Montessori isn't the perfect place for all children with it's need for self-direction, but it has been great for both of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I think this is a wonderful school and have been nothing but happy. My child has attended for many years and he is excelling in all areas, but more importantly, he loves school. The teachers are wonderful, caring, supportive and well trained. The parent community is like a family and full of support. Bravo Villa Montessori!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

The common line at Villa is trust us. Okay, I will trust you when you respond to parents concerns begin providing consistent education and provide a classroom of learning that stimulates my child. I say this to perspective parents. Margo (principle/owner) has a long history of being inattentive to parents concerns and is unable to offer or provide any substance beyond philosophical Montessori practices. Her conflict resolution skills are horrendous and she would rather you leave the school then question how she runs the school. Our problem is that we have expectations that a school has experienced consistent teaching practices, administrators that are responsive and a curriculum that can be taught consistently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

Villa has been and continues to be a second home for my 3 girls. My oldest daughter attended Villa from the age of 2 thru the 8th grade. She nows attends a public high school and has thrived in all Advanced placement classes. She was extremely well prepared for the jump to 'public' school and cherishes her years at Villa. My two youngest daughters are currently enrolled in Villa's Toddler and Elementary programs. They are also thriving and I am confident that they are having their individual academic and emotional needs met. The teachers are outstanding and go the extra mile for the children. My experience with the administration has been nothing but positive, they are always looking at ways to have the school be the best there is and what is right for all children is at the top of the list. Schedule a tour, it's the best there is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I had researched many schools before choosing Villa Montessori for my children. I couldn't be happier with my decision. My children are challenged daily while receiving nuturing support from their teachers and peers. The classrooms are clean, organized, peaceful and stimulating. As far as extra-cirricular activities, all charte schools struggle with this due to finances and space availability. With this in mind, my second grader has managed to be involved in Karate, Boy Scouts, Running Club and soccer. All on campus! I am exhausted, but he is having a blast! I absolutely love this school, this faculty and staff, and my fellow parents who all work tirelessly to keep improvements happening! I highly recommend that you schedule a tour of this school and learn what we are all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I have two children here at Villa in the toddler and preprimary program. I feel that my children are getting the best care possible. The teachers are fantastic and really make each child feel special. I feel blessed to be a part of such a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

We've had two children at Villa for five years. We researched every Montessori School in the Phoenix area before moving to Phoenix. We were amazed at the extracurricular activities offered! We have had experience with the Pre-Primary, Elem.I, Elem.II and Middle School levels. Our children have different needs and challenges. We have been very happy at every level. Each stage has been appropriate for its Montessori and developmental level. Our children have been treated with respect to their individual needs and personalities. Their teachers have been wonderful, kind and have prepared them for the next step. We also experienced Special Education. They helped walk us through the process and provided the support that our child needed to achieve personal best. The Middle School experience has been amazing! Watching our anxious child blossom and excel academically and socially has been a joy! Villa has been worth the daily 90 minute drive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I now have two children at this school... soon to be three, as we are on the waiting list. We are so impressed with the supportive administration, compassionate and knowledgeable teachers, and respectful students at this school. We wonder what took us so long to find this gem! The teachers and staff have an impeccable way with supporting each child s needs and developing the whole child . Extra curricular activities are age appropriate for each grade level, with a wide variety of options. Volunteering opportunities are endless and enjoyable. We love getting the chance to participate in our children s education. We feel we are getting a private education for free. We have found the Villa Montessori community to be one of the most supportive and positive influences in our family s lives. I feel I can t do this school justice in just a few words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My experience with Villa gets better and better each year. My children love school! Focus is placed on the whole child and both my son and daughter are excelling both academically and socially. This last year, with the new discipline policy many positive changes occured. The administration really stepped up and got involved in a consistent plan and behavior in classrooms and on the playground is better. They really took a stance against bullying. I see the teachers as organized, committed, and helpful. They have a genuine love for the students. I love the community at Villa Montessori and I plan to keep my children there through middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I think Villa Montessori is a wonderful school. I recently moved my son from a 'gifted' school to Villa to join my daughter in Elementary II. My daughter is happy and thriving and I couldn't be happier with her teacher. My son, now in another Elementary II class, is also feeling challenged and loving school. His brightness and talents are better met with the Montessori philosophy and I feel the level of commitment from the teachers is much higher. Management and discipline are handled better, too. I love the level at which I can be involved and the unique experiences both children get to have. I appreciate everyone at Villa Montessori and the personalized attention our family has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

Villa is decent in preprimary but not in later grades. Teaching quality is inconsistent. You never know what your child is learning, if anything. Most teachers are too busy to listen to parents. There are some really good teachers, however, many are defensive, disorganized and can't seem to manage the students. The principal is never around. She didn't return phone calls for weeks. Once she did, we were met with denials, excuses, promises but no results. Nothing is perfect but there are better schools around. Our new school has weekly progress reports, great extracurriculars, a brilliant principal, a PTA, fewer demands on parents and happy families who stay! I waited some time to write this in case I changed my mind, but I can now say without regret that our decision to leave Villa was a wise one for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

We've been very disappointed in Villa after only a couple years. Our local public school was better organized, equipped and managed. The school is demanding of parents' time & money, but parents are turned down when they want improved discipline or better communication. A few teachers seem to be pretty good, but others can't manage the kids or they're gone all the time. Many of the kids are wildly out of control and no one seems to notice. Our kids' AIMS scores actually declined in the years we were there. We've hired tutors for the summer and we're playing catchup for the new
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 14% 42%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (602) 957-4017

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4535 N. 28th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 955-2210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Center
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT