Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus

Charter | K-8 | 485 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

104 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2007

Villa has been and continues to be a second home for my 3 girls. My oldest daughter attended Villa from the age of 2 thru the 8th grade. She nows attends a public high school and has thrived in all Advanced placement classes. She was extremely well prepared for the jump to 'public' school and cherishes her years at Villa. My two youngest daughters are currently enrolled in Villa's Toddler and Elementary programs. They are also thriving and I am confident that they are having their individual academic and emotional needs met. The teachers are outstanding and go the extra mile for the children. My experience with the administration has been nothing but positive, they are always looking at ways to have the school be the best there is and what is right for all children is at the top of the list. Schedule a tour, it's the best there is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I had researched many schools before choosing Villa Montessori for my children. I couldn't be happier with my decision. My children are challenged daily while receiving nuturing support from their teachers and peers. The classrooms are clean, organized, peaceful and stimulating. As far as extra-cirricular activities, all charte schools struggle with this due to finances and space availability. With this in mind, my second grader has managed to be involved in Karate, Boy Scouts, Running Club and soccer. All on campus! I am exhausted, but he is having a blast! I absolutely love this school, this faculty and staff, and my fellow parents who all work tirelessly to keep improvements happening! I highly recommend that you schedule a tour of this school and learn what we are all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I have two children here at Villa in the toddler and preprimary program. I feel that my children are getting the best care possible. The teachers are fantastic and really make each child feel special. I feel blessed to be a part of such a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

We've had two children at Villa for five years. We researched every Montessori School in the Phoenix area before moving to Phoenix. We were amazed at the extracurricular activities offered! We have had experience with the Pre-Primary, Elem.I, Elem.II and Middle School levels. Our children have different needs and challenges. We have been very happy at every level. Each stage has been appropriate for its Montessori and developmental level. Our children have been treated with respect to their individual needs and personalities. Their teachers have been wonderful, kind and have prepared them for the next step. We also experienced Special Education. They helped walk us through the process and provided the support that our child needed to achieve personal best. The Middle School experience has been amazing! Watching our anxious child blossom and excel academically and socially has been a joy! Villa has been worth the daily 90 minute drive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I now have two children at this school... soon to be three, as we are on the waiting list. We are so impressed with the supportive administration, compassionate and knowledgeable teachers, and respectful students at this school. We wonder what took us so long to find this gem! The teachers and staff have an impeccable way with supporting each child s needs and developing the whole child . Extra curricular activities are age appropriate for each grade level, with a wide variety of options. Volunteering opportunities are endless and enjoyable. We love getting the chance to participate in our children s education. We feel we are getting a private education for free. We have found the Villa Montessori community to be one of the most supportive and positive influences in our family s lives. I feel I can t do this school justice in just a few words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My experience with Villa gets better and better each year. My children love school! Focus is placed on the whole child and both my son and daughter are excelling both academically and socially. This last year, with the new discipline policy many positive changes occured. The administration really stepped up and got involved in a consistent plan and behavior in classrooms and on the playground is better. They really took a stance against bullying. I see the teachers as organized, committed, and helpful. They have a genuine love for the students. I love the community at Villa Montessori and I plan to keep my children there through middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I think Villa Montessori is a wonderful school. I recently moved my son from a 'gifted' school to Villa to join my daughter in Elementary II. My daughter is happy and thriving and I couldn't be happier with her teacher. My son, now in another Elementary II class, is also feeling challenged and loving school. His brightness and talents are better met with the Montessori philosophy and I feel the level of commitment from the teachers is much higher. Management and discipline are handled better, too. I love the level at which I can be involved and the unique experiences both children get to have. I appreciate everyone at Villa Montessori and the personalized attention our family has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

Villa is decent in preprimary but not in later grades. Teaching quality is inconsistent. You never know what your child is learning, if anything. Most teachers are too busy to listen to parents. There are some really good teachers, however, many are defensive, disorganized and can't seem to manage the students. The principal is never around. She didn't return phone calls for weeks. Once she did, we were met with denials, excuses, promises but no results. Nothing is perfect but there are better schools around. Our new school has weekly progress reports, great extracurriculars, a brilliant principal, a PTA, fewer demands on parents and happy families who stay! I waited some time to write this in case I changed my mind, but I can now say without regret that our decision to leave Villa was a wise one for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

We've been very disappointed in Villa after only a couple years. Our local public school was better organized, equipped and managed. The school is demanding of parents' time & money, but parents are turned down when they want improved discipline or better communication. A few teachers seem to be pretty good, but others can't manage the kids or they're gone all the time. Many of the kids are wildly out of control and no one seems to notice. Our kids' AIMS scores actually declined in the years we were there. We've hired tutors for the summer and we're playing catchup for the new
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

chaos in classrooms, poor communication at administrative levels, discipline problems and underachievement of kids. My kids are at a new school and their scores have soared along with motivation and self-confidence. Villa was great in the younger grades, but once most kids get beyond grade 3, they lose ground. We miss the great families and some of the talented teachers, but we've never been happier since the move. Villa was once the finest in the Valley. They need to catch up to neighboring public schools with basics such as a developed music program, computer lab, library, lunch program, weekly progress reports emailed to parents, discipline policy they stand behind, etc. If they listened to parents, they may be able to turn it around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

Our children have enjoyed their preprimary and elementary years at Villa. Teachers have been kind, compassionate and thoughtful in their teaching methods and interaction with children and parents. Extracuriculars are available and quite varied. Our kids are growing academically (above grade level) and personally. It is a community in which they feel safe and we feel comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

My experience was nightmarish as I watched my child go from a motivated to non-motivated learner in Elem I. Villa's assessments validated a downhill trend; I was treated dismissively by teacher and admin. as I sought solutions to the problem; 'let's wait and see' was a put off because there is not enough admin. to address parent concerns, or supervise teachers/classrooms. An independent reading comprehension eval revealed 'holes in learning.' My advice to parents: use open enrollment and find a good school quickly if you see problems. The new school contacted me the first week to address deficits. This child now reads voraciously and made the Principal's list. Some Villa parents fear public schools; when I read the new school Code of Conduct, I knew there were peer behaviors (harassment, meanness) tolerated at Villa that would NEVER be tolerated in the new setting. My child is now more secure and flourishing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

We're pulling our kids out of Villa. The classrooms are disorganized, the teachers don't have a good handle on classroom management. The administration lacks leadership. They won't return phone calls and evade parent concerns. Compared to other schools, Villa is weak in music, art, extracurriculars. I am worried that my children have fallen behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

Villa Montessori has been a great choice for our three children since preschool. The best asset that Villa has, are the teachers. The teachers provide very individualized attention with academics and with each child personally. Our experience has been exceptional and it has impacted the independence and self confidence of our children, each in their own way. The staff is approachable, willing and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

It became another job for my husband and me. Poor quality teaching. Too many kids in ea. class. Kids are out of control. Parents always fundraising. They nickle and dime you to death. Lots of nice parents and some good teachers, but too inconsistent for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

Villa has been home to my family since 1994. My son attended school here at Villa, from the time he was 4 years old. He is now a Junior at Brophy. He was well prepared for his classes in high school, and has had the confidence to tackle all of the new challenges that come his way, both academically and socially. I always felt welcome by the teachers to discuss issues that related to my son, academically and personally and found them a great resource, as a parent. I volunteered often and made many close friends over the years doing so. We have another child at Villa, now in kindergarten, and I see him thriving, as well, and as before, the teachers and assistants have been there at each step to give 100% and more for his individual needs as well as mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

Love the idea of villa, but gave up on unmet promises. Great parents. Teachers are hit or miss. Some are excellent. One of my kids lost 2years in an out-of-control room. Assistants and subs belittled the kids, creating a culture of 'bad kids.' The promise of one teacher for 3 years was a mirage. Coordination between campuses is frustrating. The bus - sometimes the only option - is costly and unreliable. Despite numerous attempts by parents to creat one, there is no organized parent organization. Infighting and competition among grades 4-6 teachers made fundraising difficult for costly overnight field trips. Parents have no voice with administration. The middle school, which is what drew us to villa in the first place, went downhill. My kids begged to switch schools. Villa gave them a great beginning, and I hope the school can recapture the founding strengths that contribute to its great reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

I have been going to Villa since third grade, and i have loved every minute of it. I went to a traditional school before this, and it struggled to keep nme interested. At villa, however, I am kept very busy=).Another thing I feel I must add is that I have clinical anxiety, and while I have faced many challenges life has thrown at me, my teachers and peers have been by my side. The middle school is amazing...I advise you to look into it. I am now about to enter eigth grade (my last year at villa), and I can honestly say that I would not be the person I am today without this school. I have done more in my thirteen years of living than many people do in their entire lives because of this school. I really will miss this school...because of them, I know I can succeed in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2006

Villa is wonderful for the preprimary education, but after that, it's hit or miss depending on the teacher you get. Some are incredibly qualified and exceptional, some are, shall I say, Not! When my children moved on to other programs because we were not satisfied with Villa, we found they were unacceptably behind (i.e. not reading after the third grade) although we had been led to believe otherwise by their teachers. It is a great community, but unfortunately, that isn't much consolation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Just an outsiders view of my initial impressions. The school definitely offers the wide range of activities that any average school would have. There was a calm atmosphere in the rooms, lots of things going on without disruption. Definitely a place for self starters, the kids were so interested in their work--very refreshing to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (602) 957-4017

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4535 N. 28th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 955-2210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Center
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT