Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus

Charter | K-8 | 485 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

105 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2006

Just an outsiders view of my initial impressions. The school definitely offers the wide range of activities that any average school would have. There was a calm atmosphere in the rooms, lots of things going on without disruption. Definitely a place for self starters, the kids were so interested in their work--very refreshing to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Have been a Villa for years and years since toddler age. It is wonderful for infants/toddler, preprimary and lower elementary. A bit less satisfied with upper elementary and middle school...but this could be due in part to this being a more difficult age for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

There are tons of great extra curricular activities like a chess club, drama, hip-hop, and cooking. The only sport available through the school is soccer. The teacher turnover for my son's classroom has been ridiculous. One teacher just left in the middle of the year without saying anything to her students or thier parents. If you child is not a self-starter or very self disciplined, this school does not do much to help them. I find that I tell the teachers when my son's homework has not been turned in. They don't seem to notice on thier own. The sense of community between parents is nice. We're leaving the school this year. They just don't seem to be trying to better themselves anymore, thier test scores are unimpressive, and I'm tired of feeing like I'm the only one taking a special interest in my son's individual sucess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

Villa Montessori is a wonderful school. My child was not successful in a traditional school setting. She has been very successful at Villa. With their hands-on Montessori Math, she has made a great deal of progress. The school offers Music, PE, Art Masterpiece, and many fieldtrip experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

I have two children at Villa - both under 4-years old. They love it and they are thriving so I am very pleased with the programs. The teacher to student ratio is good. The programs keep children interested and involved. I like the parental involvement required - 10-hours/year. I researched many options before placing my kids at Villa. I have never regretted my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

Excellent program. Kids work at their own pace. Student responsible for making sure tasks are completed on schedule. Values stressed. Non-violent, peaceful resolution to problems practiced. Bullying is not tolerated. They teach to the whole child, working with the student's strengths and weaknesses. Teachers are very caring and involved with the students. Small groups, hands-on teaching. Low student-to-teacher ratio. Parental involvement required, 10 hours per family per school year. Many parents actively involved in all aspects of school life. Several teachers are former Villa students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

What a great year! Villa has got their act together!! Staff working fabulously together, campuses just seem so peaceful! Definitely upward and onward! So organized and ready for a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

My son starts 3rd grade at Villa Montessori this year, and has gone since Kindergarten. He loves it there. He has needed some extra attention, and he's gotten it. Their philosophy of teaching each child at their own level works out great. We have really been impressed with the level of parent involvement at its many functions. They offer P.E. twice a week, music, Spanish and pottery once a week and many extra-curricular activities. Even among other Montessori schools, we think this one is special. Worth driving 30 minutes each way for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

My daughter has attended Villa from kindergarden through 5th grade. On the surface the Montessori method, their teaching philosphy, seems like a great way to approach elementary education. Unfortunately, lack of structure, academic discipline lead to under permormance and weak motivation. The teachers expectations of the students performance is too flexible, allowing them to turn in homework assignments and projects 'whenever they get them done' doesn't teach real world consequences. I'm dissapointed in the education my child has received and will be transferring her to another school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My child hs been at Villa since he was 2. He just completed second grade. His teacher's at Villa have all been diligent at seeing to his academic development. But equally importantly, they have all been equally attentive to his emotional and social development. I am also very happy that the school hads a peace curriculum and works hard at helping the children to resolve conflict. I love the warm encouraging atmosphere of the school as well. I do wish that the school had more of an emphasis on the arts. There is not a music program(i.e no band or orchestra), not is there theater. There is some art, but not as frequently as I would like to see. My other greatest concern is the amount of staff turnover of the assistants, though the lead teachers have many years seniority. We are very happy with the education our son receives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This school has great community/parent involvement. My children love the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

We just love this school. It has a great foundation of teachers and after school support staff that makes it great. Parent Involvement is a must at the school which makes it more like a family atmosphere and the kids stick around for several years - our son has known the same bunch of kids since he was 2 years old. We love the activities they have for the kids; gymnastics, soccer, cooking classes, ceramics and the retile man. Our son has turned out to be very compassionate, a quick learner and very social person and we believe that is thanks to the team work between school and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

This school has a fantastic middle school program. It has allowed my daughter to feel as though she has been part of a family of fellow students and teachers. The academics are challenging and are complemented by a curriculum that focuses on the whole. A very well rounded, balanced education in store if you are lucky enough to get into this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

The school grounds are pretty big and the kids seem to love it. Parent involvement is mandatory, and the group can be somewhat cliquish. It is very different from a public school and not pure montessori.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 5, 2005

The teachers and administration are very compassionate to the needs of their students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

My god daughter goes here and it is a great school full of caring people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

Teachers are great, learning is made fun. Great student to teacher ratio. The outdoor environment is supposed to be an extension of the class room but is not overseen directly by the teachers. In some areas it has become and afterthought and neglected. The after school activities are expensive and there is not a sports program available. Art classes during school are run by parent volunteers and not funded. There is not alot of school unity because of the scattered campuses. Although we loved the teachers and beautiful campus we knew our kids would benefit from a sports program, library, computer lab, science lab, school auditorium, and lunch program. There is a heavy financial burden placed on the parents to fund the growing needs of the school. Highly recommend for preschool and early education not strong enough for most 4-8th grade students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

The teacher at this middle school are dedicated and very organized. The curriculum is strong and interesting. My child loves her school and her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

Our child attended this school from prekindergarten through sixth grade.He received good to excellent academic attention and this was objectively seen through great Stanford 9 scores. However, accountability for student's behavior is poor.There was no attention given to playground bullying or general disrespect students showed each other. Also, they were continually asking for more money and parents were beginning to question appropriate use of funds.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2003

What a great school! My two children are thriving and I couldn't be happier. The classrooms are enticing to a curious child, so much to do and see. Parents are encouraged to be involved and contribute to an overall sense of community. The school is clearly operating with the children's best interests at heart. There is a waiting list, but definitely worth the wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (602) 957-4017

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • T-Ball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4535 N. 28th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 955-2210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Center
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT