Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
115 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 160 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
I am so grateful to a number of teachers that have dedicated their passion, care, and talent to my children who have benefited greatly from it. Teachers are the reason that Villa is great.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
With 3 children at varying levels at Villa, I would say that some teachers have been very effective and others much less so. There do not seem to be uniform standards across classrooms and certainly not in effectiveness. What is true is that every teacher cares deeply for each child. They just may not be equipped with the skills or confidence to execute their job with each child effectively.


Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
I have not come in contact with anyone, except the former physical education coach, that creates circumstances to help children develop persistence, grit, or determination. Studies have determined that grit is cultivated through: Facing fear, Having a moral compass, Using social support, Having good role models, Being physically fit, Making sure your brain is challenged, Having "cognitive and emotional flexibility," Having "meaning, purpose, and growth" in life, and "Realistic" optimism. While Villa provides some assistance in a few of these areas, it is inconsistent and completely dependent on the teacher paired with your child.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus 3

Posted August 16, 2016
- a community member
The parent community is outstanding at the school and the teachers offer a safe and inclusive environment for the children to learn and grow. As the parent of 3 children at Villa, the academic rigor has wildly varied from teacher to teacher. There does not seem to be consistency from classroom to classroom in delivering the curriculum. The administration is not responsive to feedback and does an exceedingly poor job of communicating to parents.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Villa offers an extremely nurturing environment for the kids. They instill a love of learning and I can see it in my daughter everyday. She is always eager to go to school and most importantly is a happy, engaged learner. She is in 3rd grade but reads at a 7th grade level. I have Villa to thank for that! We love this school.


Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I really liked the parent community at this school and wish that if they have Kindergarten-aged children, that they will make a point to stop in at random times to see if the academic portion of the school day (between 12:30 - 2) is being taught in the dark while the younger kids are sleeping.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I think that they teachers seem compassionate and engaged with the children. I don't like to see all the "teachers assistants" who perform a wide variety of duties, yet don't have college degrees.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I have not idea if they give an adequate amount of homework. I can't say anything about this.


Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I don't know because we did not have the persistence, grit, and determination to pursue our grievances with the administrators at the school after we discovered that they had been very deceptive with us. We initially believed them that the "lights out" in the Kindergarten was a genuine mistake, but after checking in the classroom several times after this, we realized they administrators knew this and it was standard operating procedure.

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
Once again, I don't know because we didn't stay at this school after a horrible 3 week experience.

Nearby schools

Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus
4535 North 28th St, Phoenix, AZ  85016
(602) 955-2210
Last modified Villa Montessori - Phoenix Campus is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top