Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Village Vista Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

All 5 of my children attend this school and we are very pleased with what their learning as well as the small intimate setting that this school offers. It's a smaller school and very much family like. My kids loves going to school at Village Vista. The teachers and staff are warm, loving and truly care about the children. I highly recommend Village Vista!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Village Vista Elementary School is fantastic. The staff knows each student by name. The teachers are focused on academic excellence and there is a fantastic PTSA! Children are awarded and recognized often in assemblies and on announcements for their achievements. My child simply loves this school. We moved out of the area, but still attend. I can't imagine any other school for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

We have loved Village Vista. Its very friendly and inviting. The PTSA is very involved and very nice. They do a lot for the children. My son atteneded K and 1st grade, He has done very well, He started out barely knowing his letters and by the end of Kindergarden he was an accelerated reader. He loves the school and has done very well. They really care about the kids and their families. We are not attending next year do to moving to far away. But if you live in this area and looking for a great school I highly recomend Village Vista. We have had a wonderful experience their and were sad to have it end. I hope his new school can measure up to my Village Vista Standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

I have found the school to be very inviting and the staff very warm. It provides a great sense of security for me because you are directed to the office before entering the campus. Also, the teachers are very seasoned and this provides superb structure in the classes. The classrooms are very inviting, with student work displayed throughout the rooms. The grounds are well-maintained with plenty of room for students to engage in exercise and play during recess and PE classes. I would certainly recommend this school to anyone that is seeking a quality education in a secure and nurturing environment for their k-6 child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

The warm caring environment at Village Vista is exceptional. The staff is experienced, dedicated, very clear & consistent on guidelines, while maintaining a very positive expectation for all students. The principal, Jan Stevens is very involved with the everyday events at the school. She is very approachable, an inspiration to the students,provides firm but courteous leadership and manages to integrate diverse extracurricular activities to keep the students excited about their learning environment. There seems to be an exceptionally good balance between academics, citizenship and character. The 'no violence' policy and 'open door' policy are realities at this school.I feel that I have access to the teachers, the principal and the staff whenever I have needs or concerns. The academic standards may be a bit relaxed compared to other PV schools, but we consider the balance of academic, character & citizenship to be much healthier at the elementary school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Class size is to large. The after school program is good. The principal and office staff are nonresponsive to parent requests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This school has a large spanish speaking population which makes it hard for the teachers to focus on the bright english speaking children. My kindergartner is reading at or above a first grade level, and is not challenged in her classroom because the teacher has to work at the average abilities of the class which are very low. Parent involvement is very low, I am a member of the PTSA, and they struggle constantly to get volunteers, it is usually the same small group of moms helping. Overall the teachers are very friendly and helpful, and my daughter enjoys attending this school, but if you want academic excellence, this is not the school to attend. They only have art for half the year, and music the other half, but PE is consistent throughout the year, showing a de-emphasis on the arts. School spirit is usually high though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2005

I think this is a wonderful school - and this is my first year there. My daughter is in kindergarten and she absolutely loves her school. The teachers are very good, warm & attentive. The principal, Dr. Bales, is very good with the kids. It is a small enough school that the kids don't seem overwhelmed by it's size. I think this is a wonderul school. I am very happy I chose it for my daughter's school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

What a wonderful school. Top rate teachers and the best principal around. It is small enough where the kids feel like they have family at this school. The teachers really care as does all the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Both of my children attended Village Vista from 1st grade through 6th grade. Village Vista is an outstanding school. The teachers were warm, caring and supportive of the students. The honors program was excellent and the principal (Dr. Bales) was incredible - involved and inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

The campus is very clean. Teachers and staff are very friendly. Good location by park, very green. School is bright open and well kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

I have lived in this area since moving to Arizona 16 years ago. My son went to Village Vista from 3rd grade through 6th grade. I found they were very attentive to his needs and any concerns of mine resulting from a significant move. Now years later, my daughter is attending the school since Kindergarten (currently in 5th), and I find the values and concern are still part the school's make-up. The school is not too large and creates the atmosphere of a large family. The teachers and staff are extremely accessible and always open to discuss any particular needs. Discipline program is the best, starting at a positive 'Make Your Day' approach that encourages the student to know they are accountable for their behavior. I believe Village Vista has been a help to both my son and daughter to prepare them for later years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2003

Great school. The temporary Principal who was brought in was worthless, but I think everything else is great.


Posted May 29, 2003

My daughter has attended Village Vista since kindegarden. She is now leaving for middle school. I have been extremely happy with the educational and social aspects of this school. It is a safe, friendly and well run school.


Posted April 12, 2003

I have had children at Village Vista since 1986. My older children have excelled in middle school, high school and now college. They were well prepared by many top notch elementary teachers.The PTSA is wonderful. Overall a great little community school!


Posted March 22, 2003

Village Vista is a wonderful school. The front office, teachers, principal and parents are committed to making this school the best it can be. My children love going to school very day!


Posted March 17, 2003

Village Vista is an incredidle School. The staff, especially the principal are outstanding!


Posted October 15, 2002

This is really a wonderful little school!!! The Principal is really involved. The kids are really great. The program they have is called ""Make Your Day"" It really shows the kids to take responsibility for there actions. Wonderful Parent Groups!!! Safety is taken seriously!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 493-6239

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4215 E. Andora Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Benchmark School
Phoenix, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT