Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1733 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2010

Washington High school is finally strutting what it's got. I love Washington with all my heart. I know the teachers have prepared me for college, and all of the faculty members are attentive at their job while still keeping a friendly environment. I always see Mrs. Lippert, the principal, with a smile on her face. It's a refreshing sight. All of the clubs, sports, and extra-curricular activities are worthwhile. WHS has it all. The theater program is amazing along with Interact and well, everything! I love all of my teachers. They care and make their students think and take action. Our school color, purple, floods the campus on Fridays. It's a great and diverse environment and I couldn't have asked for anything better. By the way, Mr. and Mrs. Darrow are my inspiration. Thank you Washington for making my four years a blast! -Jordanna class of 2011
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2010

must say even do i do not recommed this school staff..the principal was great since she immediately was open to have a parent and student meeting and work out the problem....but the damage had already been done and we had decided to take a school teacher's advice to look for a charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I enjoyed WHS while I was there. The principal,Ms. Giboney, then lacked real character on the otherhand,the teachers were outstanding.


Posted March 24, 2009

I say... Washington has the best theater program in the state, and this place reeks (in a good way) of school spirit and pride. I LOVE it here! - Caitlin, '11
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

they have a great way of keeping kids involved in activities, then the kids love to be at school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

WHS is awesome, teachers are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

I Love this school! The teachers and staff are phenomenal! They really care about you and seem like they actually want to be there for you. I have only been going there for 2 months, but it is so much better than my previous school. The school pride and spirit is very strong at WHS. There is also a wonderful diversity amongst the students. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2007

I have had 3 children graduate from WHS. The teachers are fantastic and really care about students. The English dept, especially, is outstanding and prepared my children for the rigors of college. They never stopped encouraging them to do their best and reach for their potential. Interact is another activity that was worthwhile and taught my children to give back to their community. Thank you Washington!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

My Daughter went from 1996-2000. WHS is very supportive of the kids. The Teachers are some of the best. Academically, it prepares the kids for the real world and college. It's up there with more affluent-area schools. The Athletic programs could use some outside coaching help to boost their potential. championships. There are many clubs & activities for all the kids to join. The staff is caring. I always felt my child was safe at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Cool and refreshing and acodemic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

Washington High Scool has a great English departmen. The teachers are absolutly awesome. The teachers keep in excellent contact with the parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2005

The accelerated departments at WHS are amazing. The teachers are experienced, driven, great motivators, and care about the success of their students. The principal, while very strict, loves her students and wants the best for them. I am so thankful for the education I recieved there. Not only was I very well prepared for college academically, but socially as well. I couldn't have asked for more in an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 27, 2004

Excellent accelerated English Department.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2004

I think Washington is a great school and I highly recomend that parents consider sending their children there. My daughter went to Washington and liked it very much. The teachers are very helpful, caring, and polite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

I think the school in itself is a great place for todays upcoming leaders. On the flip side the teachers 'most' are attentive to the needs of the students but the principal in my opinion is not the best person for the job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2003

Washington is one of the best schools in Phoenix. Having had both my son and daughter graduate from Washington, I know Washinton has a great learning environment that is both challenging and fun- with diverse extra-cirricular activities that are both academic and athletic. Washington's academic test scores are particularly good- consistently coming out above average compared to other schools in the state, as well as the district. My experience with Ms. Gibney, the current principal at Washington, has been nothing but good. She does everything she can to ensure her teachers will succeed- She goes out of her way to help both faculty and students. Ms. Gibney is a great leader at Washington. Staff like her are what make the difference between a good school and a bad one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

Our daughter is in the class of 2005. We placed her in this school based on recommendations from middle school counselors and visits to the campus. We live in the Apollo boundaries but chose to send our daughter to WHS. We have been extremely satisfied with her experience at this school. I would highly recommend this campus for serious students. The staff is comprised of a good mix of new and seasoned educators who provide a positive and challenging environment for the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Although Washington has a great quality of teachers, the District Office should really take a close look at the quality of the Principal. Ms Gibney has maintained a reputation of not getting along with other teachers, parents and staff. She frequently passes on her dealings with parents to other faculty members. She creates a tense atmosphere among the faculty and it is know that quality faculty memebers have quit, students have left, and parents have pulled their children from Washington because of her. The district office, who knows of the specific problems created by Ms Gibney absolutly refuse to do anything about her.


Posted July 13, 2003

Washington High School is not a very good school simply because of their aid after graduation. They only helped out students get through high school, not what they could do what the rest of their lives. For example, helping the students decide on a career path and informing them about what type of education and experience they would need to continue on their road to success.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2003

I'm a 1981 graduate of Washington and both of my daughters will graduate from there...one in May 2003. We have always felt Washington is superior to other schools in a lot of ways... mostly academic and the drama department is great!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 42%
White 24% 42%
Black 10% 5%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 915-8437

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2217 W. Glendale Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85021
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 915-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Maya High School
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT