Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 27, 2015
- a teacher
Most teachers at WHS use multiple methods to get and keep all students engaged in the learning. They are held individually responsible but as they work with other students they develop team characteristics that include fairness, honesty, and integrity. It is a beautiful thing to watch as students from incredibly diverse backgrounds reach out to one another for support and are not let down.

Washington High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 27, 2015
- a teacher
Washington H.S. teachers have high expectations for their students, but I am most grateful for their generosity. This is a team that truly cares about their students. The relationships that are built between staff and students provide the motivation for our students to reach for those high expectations. I watch it every day that I go to work, because I am the luckiest teacher of them all.


Washington High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
In a world fraught with uncertainty and challenges that can easily misguide our children we are extremely grateful to all the Staff at Washington High School for taking great care of Andreya. Her first year she was so timid and fragile; but the Staff stepped up and took it upon themselves to ensure she didn’t fall through the cracks. We were taken back with how they went above and beyond to ensure our child felt welcome. They encouraged a group of second year students to befriend her that first year and made sure she felt comfortable. Through the years Staff continued their support with guidance and encouragement enabling our child to express herself through volunteer work and peer mentoring. She has blossomed into a wonderful individual and is well on her way to becoming a valuable member of the community. Her commitment to the environment and service to others will continue to guide her to change the world for the better. The Staff at Washington were pivotal in shaping not only her mind but her ethical and humanitarian values to always give back to those in need. Sincerely, Jeffery and Melissa Wise

Washington High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
I love coming to work here everyday. We are an island of kindness in the middle of a large inner city community.

Washington High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
Great caring staff. Students all get along very well. Freshman and Seniors sit together at lunch. Special needs students are fully accepted by the other students. We are like a little United Nations with students from around the world. We are ranked as one of the top schools in the State and Nation. Coming to work here every day is a joy. I have been hear nearly 20 years and I love this school more each year. Thank you to all the staff and students.


Washington High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a teacher
I am so grateful to Malee Johnson, who is an amazing teacher, mentor, and most importantly, friend. She is not only an amazing role model for our students, but also for her fellow colleagues. I am so thankful to be able to teach with her and call her "friend".

Washington High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Mr. Jeff Parsons, I don't know or if you know how thankful I am that you gave me a chance to come aboard and help the students of WHS with their goals and careers. I hope with the help of the staff here at WHS we will have a outstanding year for our graduates of 2016. Also, Ms. Strege and all the rest of the faculty and staff here at WHS, thank you for all your help. It is greatly appreciated. GO RAMS

Washington High School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 18, 2015
- a school leader
I'm grateful that Mrs. Rabat took time to speak to a new student from Syria. Hearing his familiar language in an unfamiliar and scary place put a smile on his face instantly.


Washington High School 5

Posted August 20, 2015
- a community member
Everyone on the staff and administration goes above and beyond for our kids. They do so much, with so little, and are rarely complimented. The teachers are so dedicated to educating our kids. They truly care!

Washington High School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a community member
Washington High School is rated by U.S. News and World Reports as one of the best high schools in the nation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington High School
2217 W. Glendale Ave., Phoenix, AZ  85021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (623) 915-8400
Last modified Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top