Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwind Preparatory Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 225 students

Small size, athletics, excellent teachers, students getting scholarships
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

I have been a student at this school for two years, and I will be a senior next year. I transferred to WPA from a good school. After I graduate, I plan on going to VMI or NGU. I am involved in different sports and I like that we do well in sports. I like it because the teachers pay attention to all students. They give us challenging work, but help us do well. I also like that we have students from all over the world who attend. I would recommend this school for students who want to go on to a university because it prepares you for that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2013

This school challenges the children every day pushing them to be very successful adults . The teachers are also so willing to help the children with anything that they may be having problems with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Westwind is a wonderful school! Small class sizes, more individualized attention. My Son is attending and is in almost all Honors classes. They really challenge the kids to do their best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

If I could rate this school a ZERO star I would. Our son was "recruited" to play basketball for them in a "post graduate program." It is a VERY expensive program at over 20k PER year. We relocated, spent over 3,500.00 in doing so only to have the superindentent (Debra Slagle) FIRE the coach two days after school started! The replacement was a former videographer from the NBA with NO prep school experience name Steadman. When I brought this to Mrs. Slagles attention, I was told we could withdraw and she would refund our deposit. Approximately ONE week later, we noticed the assistant Coach, named WEAVER appeared to have a "dislike" for our son saying rude, disrespectful comments to him. We again attempted to bring this to Ms. Slagels' attention. She did nothing, My son went to her office to meat with her and discuss the incident...she was TOO BUSY TO SEE HIM! We contacted the head Coach, again-NOTHING. Ultimately, our son chose to leave the program two days later. SHE WOULD NOT REFUND OUR DEPOSIT! I filed a complaint with the school board. She had EVERY reason as to why she did not OWE us a refund despite saying she would offer us a complete refund earlier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Westwind is the perfect mix of community feel and strong academics. The administration has been diligent about improving this school the entire 4 years that my daughter has attended. The teachers are attentive and helpful and do a good job controlling, guiding and supporting their classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

The school is great. It is a college prepatory school so they have high expectations. The classes are great with good teachers. They are flexible with problems they you may have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2011

Excellent supportive learning environment. Great teachers and hard working dedicated principal. With small class size and the range of subjects to choose from e.g. forensic science. you will get value for your efforts in selecting this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I am graduating from Westwind this month 5/10. I am extremely grateful for the office staff, counselor, principal, assistant principal and teachers. I have seen alot of changes over the 4 years that I've attended Westwind. The last 2 years have been the best due to new principal and counselor. They treat the students like family. As if we're their own children. They take the time to let us know when we're off track as well as praise us when we're doing good. If you're looking for a small school that has a family feel and you want one on one time with your teacher. This is the school for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2010

We at Westwind take alot of pride in our school. We believe that every student has the abilitiy to achieve the goal of graduating from high school and college. Please take the time to visit our small family community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2010

I attended Westwind Preparatory my sophomore year. I literally begged to go to that school. My first day there i found out that they didnt have any of the accelerated classes that i wanted. The counselor chose which classes I went into and when i suggested another class she would answer with 'the teacher is a b', (she said 'b' and not the whole word). At lunch I found out that they served fast food from the McDonalds that was nearby. They gave my brother a class that he didnt need and when we went there to talk to the office about it they would send us back to class saying that they would fix it later. Finally the last time we went they seriously yelled at us telling us that it was too late to change it and that we should've came in earlier but we .....


Posted March 5, 2008

My son attends West Wind as a Junior he is involved in every sport there is. He absolutely loves this school! He attended a Public school his freshman year, and his academics were very poor. Since WestWind he has improved dramatically in his academics. Most of the teachers are most helpful and wanting to see success in their students, while others i question. My nephews have also attending this school back in 2003 and they loved it. It is small school, not over crowded with alot of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I am a freshman at Westwind and I love it. They are pretty strict especially with like cellphones and discipline. Almost all of the teachers are amazing. The principal is not my favorite peron though. my favorite person though
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I would recommend this school to other parents. My daughter was at a large school but wanted to be in smaller classes. The school has grown leaps and bounds in the area of extracurricular activities. They are now a part of AIA. My daughter has participated in volleyball, basketball and cheer. She is also a part of National Honor Society. Now that the school has been around for ten years, they have established some traditions that both students and parents enjoy. We have another daughter who transferred here from a private school, and she is liking it, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

The teachers are great. but almost everyone in the office/administration is as rude as can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

We love this school. The principal and staff are awesome, and the teachers are great! Our kids like to dodge doing homework, but the online PASS system makes it so that we can check their homework & grades every day on the web. Thanks teachers for caring so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

My child has just started at Westwind but, so far I am very pleased with how that teachers seem to be working with my child on a one to one bases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

We moved our son from public school because of lack of concern for individual needs and lack of discipline. Westwind solved both of these problems. He hated public school but loves Westwind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

This is my daughters first year at the school and we love it! She has awesome teachers who take the time to teach! I recommend the school to alot of people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Very good teachers, but the administration is questionable -- especially the head principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2006

Not enough parental involvement. Very little music and art program. Teachers need more resources for their classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 38% 42%
Hispanic 37% 43%
Black 16% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Bennett Academy
Amerischools
Caurus Academy
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation ASU
NAU
Phoenix College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club: hip hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Dual enrollment university cla
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Debra Slagle
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 864-7720

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Dual Enrollment College Classes
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Dual enrollment university cla
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club: hip hop
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
225
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
300
Students typically come from these schools
Bennett Academy
Amerischools
Caurus Academy

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
ASU
NAU
Phoenix College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Dual enrollment university cla
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 30%
4 year college - 60%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 3%
Workforce - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2045 W. Northern Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85021
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 864-7731

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cortez High School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT