Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas The Apostle School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

Great school with solid fundamentals. We have loved the preK and the kindergarten levels so far. A wonderful community of parents, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

We have had a tremendous experience at St. Thomas. Our three children have each benefited by a strong curriculum, faculty and administrative leadership. The principal Mary Coffman is exceptional in every way. The school has high expectations for teachers, students and parents. There are no free riders at STA. Faith and values are demonstrated not only in the classroom but by the examples of the administration, teachers and religious (nuns/sisters) who serve the community. The students and families are dedicated to creating a positive environment for students to excel. The only element that Catholic schools should change, including STA, is the grading scale which requires a 94% to receive an A. Every student can find success at the school but it does require effort by each parent. Bottom line - STA is a wonderful place where students benefit from both a strong faith filled culture and high academic standards. In my opinion, it is one of the very best schools in Phoenix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

My son is in 4th grade, having attended STA since Kindergarten. He has received a wonderful academic education and is also receiving a very traditional Catholic education. Check the diocesan website and you will find that student averages in all grade levels are at least one grade level above their current grade. The school ranks consistently in the top 5% nationwide on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills. Most of the families are very involved and are expected to donate their time and/or money to the school. We have had nothing but good experiences with our son's teachers and the administration. Make no mistake about it. The pastor definitely controls the church and the school. It is no democracy, so if you are thinking of enrolling your child, you need to trust in the pastor's leadership. If you want your child to have "rights" to express himself through sloppy clothes and disrespectful language, if your child has behavioral problems, if you have a disdain for grooming and dress codes or if you are a professional victim and expect people to cater to you without yourself first making an effort to participate and become part of the community, you will be happier elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

This have been my child's first and last year at this school. Many of the reviews state that the value of the educations it top notch. I have to disagree with those statements. My child had had a difficult time adjusting to the new environment because the work resembles what was being tough last year. The school does show favoritism to those with money and time to devote to the school. My child has felt bullied and singled out. As a parent I have also experiences this first hand. When dealing with the teachers, I have been belittled and talked down to, my parenting style have been called into question on many occasions. Not all teacher have acted in this manner. The school would be a better place if staff were evaluated for by the success of there students and not who they know. I would not recommend this school to anyone that whats to promote free thought in their household. If you are looking for a better educational environment look some place else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Decent school, but not open to improvement or new ideas. It is run like a dictatorship and despite a school board and faculty, nothing, I mean nothing happens here unless the church's pastor says so and he is NOT open to change at all. I prefer a more collaborative environment where teachers and parents can contribute and continually improve the school....where a school board and not just one man can decide what is best for the school. For that reason, I give it an "unsatisfactory" rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Two years ago there was a tumultuous change in administration that has turned out to be quite the blessing in disguise. The optimum class size has been lowered to 30 (although a couple 'carry-over' grades still have 31 or 32) and the few teachers in the upper grades that many parents took issue with have been replaced with enthusiastic, vibrant educators with a genuine Christian spirit. The academics are challenging, however, the children are also taught grade/age appropriate organizational skills and personal responsibility that goes a long way to making the academics achievable for most. The 2009 Iowa Basics testing STA scored in the 96% in the nation. Aside from the academic excellence, the spiritual and social growth of the students is a primary focus as well. Finally the parent community is amazing willing to give time, talent and treasure for the betterment of the school as well as the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Great teachers! Great community! Great reputation! Great Principal! My children are getting an awesome education at STA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

They have the best students and staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

Our child has attended STA for 3 years now. STA is wonderful school that is not only outstanding academically but spiritually as well. There is no doubt STA is Catholic! Our principal always open to new ideas and has made some great changes this past year. There are always parents willing to volunteer their time at STA. They have a very strong sense of community which makes STA a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Our child just completed the first year at STA and we would highly recommend this school to any family looking to provide their child with a solid Catholic education. The school does a fabulous job of teaching the children academics and the Catholic faith. The parents at STA are extremely involved in their child s activities and there is never a shortage of parents willing to lend a helping hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

We have had children at STA for five years and think it is an outstanding community. The parental involvement is outstanding. The academics are challenging, and the school does a tremendous job of nurturing the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been blessed to be a part of this community for over seven years. Our current Principal has made many positive changes at our school. She is forward thinking and has instituted new and challenging curriculum as well as maintaining a teaching staff that is exemplary. We have children from all walks of life with diverse backgrounds. Students are encouraged to work hard and are given many opportunities to excel academically. Our Catholic faith plays a major role in our children's education as well. The most important thing is that my children are happy and are getting an excellent education at St. Thomas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

We have attended St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic School for the past five years and absolutely love it! Our children are challenged academically, have developed a strong sense of spirituality and feel a great sense of belonging in the community. The principal, Mrs. Mary Coffman, is outstanding. She's forward-thinking and approachable and truly cares about each and every child in the school. We've been very pleased with the teachers and staff at STA and feel that the parental involvement at St. Thomas is unparalleled. Also, the sense of commmunity that you feel on a daily basis is truly special! We feel that STA is a wonderful place for our children where they can learn in a positive and safe environment and we would strongly recommend it to anyone who's looking for a well-rounded, well-respected and excellent Catholic school for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

the two new principals are on power trips. upper grades are getting suspended for the dumbest things like wearing the wrong socks. I have teachers who can not teach (only 1 good teacher in my grade) and need to retire! favoritism is given to kids who have parents who work at the school or donate big money to the church. we can't take home our tests copies because they think we will save it for our friends. our parents do not like this at all as they can't see what work we have done. sta needs better teachers and better stuff to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

My daughter used to attend this school but moved to another private school this past year. I will tell you that the math that was taught to my daughter was unacceptable! For the tuition that we pay, she has learned not too much without the intervention of a tutor. Upon entering our new school, my daughter was nearly 2 grade levels behind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

New administration is trying to turn things around however if your child needs a push and is not self-motivated, this is not the school for you. Its very hard to have individualized attention and children who might not understand concepts, will become lost. I suggest entering STA in the upper grades, but to mold a younger child I would possibly look elsewhere. STA might be running on fumes and reputation right now so just maybe the truth will not come out before things start to change. My child has attended here for 4 years. This school has a very 'un-diverse' student body too. Nevertheless, considering alternatives in the neighborhood, this school might not be so bad. Proceed with caution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

My child has attended STA for 3 years. The overall education currently is very good, especially for strong learners. Special needs children (at both ends of the spectrum) may find themselves frustrated & bored. With a classroom size of 36 and greater, it's difficult to offer focused programs and individual attention. There is a lot of homework issued, especially in the middle school. The students will be prepared to handle the workload of most high schools. The teaching philosophy is very traditional and minimal focus on individual creativity. Parent community is school's strongest suit & volunteer hours spent at the school is very high. Classroom facilties are small & dated. Good catholic school choice but a higher quality education may be had at other private institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

The class sizes are way too big (close to 36 even though diocesan max is 35). If you need your child to learn in a smaller envionment, this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

This school is great, the children and practice their Catholic faith and are kind and welcoming. Sister Patricia is a very popular principal and does a great job running the school. The parents make every event exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

this school has a great student to teacher ratio, they emphasize academics & religion first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4510 North 24th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Phone: (602) 368-5253

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Compass Center
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT