Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
499 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
St. Thomas provides a fantastic environment for kids to learn and families to grow. We are very excited to be a part of the community that is dedicated to education of the mind and the heart. Building character following Catholic teachings are emphasized in the classroom as well in day to day interactions with staff, classmates and parents. We love STA!

St Thomas The Apostle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
To all that have come before us. We thank you for building a tradition of excellence at STA. And we thank those who have followed and embraced the opportunity.


St Thomas The Apostle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Our children are in 3rd grade and below. I can only speak for those grades.

St Thomas The Apostle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The staff is amazing and deeply care about the kids' success, in the classroom and as a community. They sets a great example for the kids and parents.

St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
This school is such a breath of fresh air. We have 4 children K through 7th grade, and made the difficult decision to change schools mid quarter after an extremely frustrating experience and with another diocesan school in north Scottsdale . The STA administration and teachers care so much about your child and will do anything to help your child achieve success. All teachers are available for after school help, they can tutor your child, even the principal offered to tutor my 7th grader if he needed help! What?! Jaw-droppingly amazing. I was told by a middle school teacher that they will give each child the tools and knowledge each needs to achieve success and get into the high school of their choice, but each child has to meet them half way--I loved hearing that honest and heartfelt statement. STA parents and kids are so down to earth, you can feel the community of the school the minute you walk in and spend a few minutes there. It's that amazing . We feel so blessed to be at this school-- it has a rigorous and exceptional traditional curriculum--we love the fact that technology is available and used but kids are taught the way they learn best-- textbooks, paper, intense emphasis on reading and writing ( they are taught extensively on the art of proper essay writing which is enormously beneficial for high school), they have differentiated reading and math in classrooms for kids that learn at a higher level or perhaps need a bit more help, they teach kids to be virtuous and respectful. Not only is their elementary school truly outstanding, the middle school is by far the BEST I have ever seen with quality of curriculum and teachers-- that's peace of mind. I honestly could go on and on- - if you want your child to be socially happy, spiritually enlightened and academically sound you must look at this top notch school.


St Thomas The Apostle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Coffman exhibits such class and is truly a leader, she listens and truly wants each child to be successful and happy.

St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Great school with solid fundamentals. We have loved the preK and the kindergarten levels so far. A wonderful community of parents, as well.

St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
We have had a tremendous experience at St. Thomas. Our three children have each benefited by a strong curriculum, faculty and administrative leadership. The principal Mary Coffman is exceptional in every way. The school has high expectations for teachers, students and parents. There are no free riders at STA. Faith and values are demonstrated not only in the classroom but by the examples of the administration, teachers and religious (nuns/sisters) who serve the community. The students and families are dedicated to creating a positive environment for students to excel. The only element that Catholic schools should change, including STA, is the grading scale which requires a 94% to receive an A. Every student can find success at the school but it does require effort by each parent. Bottom line - STA is a wonderful place where students benefit from both a strong faith filled culture and high academic standards. In my opinion, it is one of the very best schools in Phoenix.


St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
My son is in 4th grade, having attended STA since Kindergarten. He has received a wonderful academic education and is also receiving a very traditional Catholic education. Check the diocesan website and you will find that student averages in all grade levels are at least one grade level above their current grade. The school ranks consistently in the top 5% nationwide on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills. Most of the families are very involved and are expected to donate their time and/or money to the school. We have had nothing but good experiences with our son's teachers and the administration. Make no mistake about it. The pastor definitely controls the church and the school. It is no democracy, so if you are thinking of enrolling your child, you need to trust in the pastor's leadership. If you want your child to have "rights" to express himself through sloppy clothes and disrespectful language, if your child has behavioral problems, if you have a disdain for grooming and dress codes or if you are a professional victim and expect people to cater to you without yourself first making an effort to participate and become part of the community, you will be happier elsewhere.

St Thomas The Apostle School 1

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
This have been my child's first and last year at this school. Many of the reviews state that the value of the educations it top notch. I have to disagree with those statements. My child had had a difficult time adjusting to the new environment because the work resembles what was being tough last year. The school does show favoritism to those with money and time to devote to the school. My child has felt bullied and singled out. As a parent I have also experiences this first hand. When dealing with the teachers, I have been belittled and talked down to, my parenting style have been called into question on many occasions. Not all teacher have acted in this manner. The school would be a better place if staff were evaluated for by the success of there students and not who they know. I would not recommend this school to anyone that whats to promote free thought in their household. If you are looking for a better educational environment look some place else.

Nearby schools

St Thomas The Apostle School
4510 North 24th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85016
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (602) 368-5253
Last modified St Thomas The Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top