Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Theresa Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 516 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2014

Transferring our children to STCS a few years ago was a great decision. Though not Catholic, we were looking for faith based curriculum that is Christ centered. Junior High program is excellent with the biggest emphasis in literature, grammar and writing, important for applying to a private High School. Math and Science programs are a bit weak. ALL the Jr High teachers are excellent, a good balance of nurturing & holding older kids accountable. There are consequences for your actions, so do your work and act respectful in class. Turnover in elective areas such as Spanish and the absence of a librarian is quite noted this year. With their new Principal, we hope to see continued staff improvements and the return of a full time librarian. Socially, It is a tight knit community and many of the families have attended the school for a long time. They have welcoming social events to reach out to new folks. However, the onus is on you to try and get your child acclimated. My kids were accepted like they had been their all the time. The extracurricular activities are amazing. Scout troops, after school tutoring, music lessons, and athletics are superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2014

Our son has been in at St. Theresa for 7 years and we are so pleased. With the smaller class size, he gets wonderful individual attention with very qualified teachers. Most of the teachers have master's degrees and decades of experience. He has an amazing, close-knit group of friends and all of our families help each other out with rides, sports and school activities. It really is a great community that prepares kids for successful futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2014

St. Theresa is a wonderful community of students, teachers, staff, and parents who embody Catholic values, academic excellence, personal responsibility, and compassionate outreach. This school is as a High School prep school, preparing students every step of the way for how to be personally responsible, spiritual, high achievers, and social leaders. My children have thrived here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2014

St Theresa epitomizes a balanced approach of mind body spirit. The community is warm and welcoming. The preparation for Brophy and Xavier is apparent in the curriculum, teaching style, sports programs, and theology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

how can anybody believe these reviews where are the real reviews anybody with an email address can write a review.


Posted June 4, 2013

My school is going through a transition...lower enrollment...new staff. My kids still love it there, so that is why we are still there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

This is our first year at St. Theresa. My son is currently in prek and we have had a wonderful experience! We love the small community feel of this school, Communication has been great. Religion in school I find has made a positive impact for our entire family. Looking forward to many more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

We are not Catholic, yet my son felt very comfortable at St. Theresa and graduated from St.T with honors. It is an accepting, loving, but rigid environment. Some kids do great at Montessori and flourish in a laid back, permissive environment. Other kids do better in a structured environment with definite due dates and consequences for missed due dates, which resemble what they will experience one day in the workforce. As a parent it is your job to know what kind of environment best suits your child. The teachers at St. T are awesome! They are caring, concerned, will help out in finding tutoring, if needed. The sports are great! This school will make a succesful young man or woman out of your kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

St. Theresa Catholic School is a wonderful environment. We are members of the Parish and our two children attend school. This entire campus is our second home, my children love coming to school and have loved every teacher they have had. The curriculum is demanding and the teachers are dedicated to helping form not only an intelligent child, but a compassionate, responsible child. As a parent there are many ways to become an active part of the community. Like any other school, the more you invest, the greater the return. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

We are in our fifth year at St. Theresa and we are extremely pleased with our decision to send our child there. Every teacher we have had has shown exceptional dedication and passion. It is obvious that they love what they do and that they care deeply about the children. The parent community is strong, active and supportive. Through our involvment with the school we have become friends with some truely wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I don't recommend this school.I didn't like how it changed my son .It was very frustrating and horrible experience. I don't think teachers are qualified enough or the admenistration either . I don't recommend it .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

lack of communication is profound and very troubling. definitely in my opinion not good environment for building succesful children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

My son attended STCS for 6 months before I finally pulled him. He went from being a happy little boy to someone who didn't want to go to school. I felt his spirit was being squashed right in front of my eyes. After I started paying attention, I noticed most of the kids walk around like zombies...going through the motions of life & just getting through. It was all very sad. STCS was about rigidity & rules. Not about empowering a child to be the best they can be. I was very disappointed & would not recommend this school. We went down the street & blossomed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

I graduated from St. Theresa in 2002, and though I did gain a remarkable education that prepared me to continue my schooling at St. Mary's High School, I was only one of several who exhibited social problems with several cliques that developed over the nine years that I was there. I saw some effort from the staff to try to work on these issues, but nothing seemed to help.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 8, 2004

Saint Theresa Catholic School has provided an exceptional educational experience for my son in Pre-Kindergarten. The Spiritual focus coupled with academic excellence has laid the groundwork for his future success. I value and appreciate the love and care of the staff toward children. Saint Theresa is truly a community of compassion and care. I am blessed to be a parent of one child and look forward to the day when my next child will attend school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

This is a fantastic school with a kind and nurturing environment. Parents are very involved in the daily activities and teacher communication is great. Religion is a factor in everyday learning and values are instilled. The school is not large, but large enough for diversity. Grading scales are more rigid than public schools and students are encouraged to excel. It is a positive place to leave your kids for 7 hours everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (602) 840-8323

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 East Thomas Road
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 840-0010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Way Academy
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT