Advertisement
Advertisement

Sts. Simon & Jude School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $48,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

I thought this school would be wonderful for my daughter, and that the staff would be kind compassionate Godly people. I found out that is not true. Scholarship students are treated like low class citizens, even in Kindergarten! I was also not allowed to participate at all in the classroom or even attend mass with my daughter, but other parents saw my daughter being bullied. They told me about it, but did nothing to help her or notify the leadership. The principal and kindergarten teacher ignored that my daughter was being bullied, and even suggested that we were lying. After the teacher called my daughter a tattle-tale, and humiliated her in front of her class more than once, I tried to get help but the principal would do nothing. So I removed my daughter from that school. I am very angry at the people involved, especially since I have been told that they are telling people that my daughter was the problem and the reason we left. But that is not true. I have never met such a horrible people disguised as Christians. Sad. I wish I had made a better choice for her first year in school! Now she is at Madison Simis and much happier without the mean teacher and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

This school had been an answer to a prayer. Sister Raphael is wonderful! My son had a LD and the teacher he had last year worked very closely with us to ensure that he was on track. My daughter's teacher was great at communication and very approachable. The only downside is that some of the older employees maybe do not understand a child with a LD. My children had attended another Catholic school before and SSJ is far superior. I feel like everyone truly cares about my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

The lower grades were great for my daughter, however once 5th grade came around the school took a turn for the worst. My daughter was constantly being picked on for being to fat, although she was only a size six. The teachers were either very young and inexperienced or very old and very crabby. My daughter is a very smart and creative girl and the school did not allow her to explore her creative side. The amount of homework each night for 6th grade was absurd, almost 3 hours every night! My daughter would cry and stress out over every assignment for fear of humiliation in front of the class if she did poorly. Finally we just pulled her out at the semester break and sent her to Metro Arts. She is much happier there and is learning a lot and enjoying her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

must say that it was the best decesion and investment of a lifetime...my children have been students there since kindergarten...awesome...students are thought study skills and to serve others!!!! Best years: middle school!!!! When my Joy graduated from SSJ she turned out a full rounded students...please if you cannot afford the tuition ask for assistance to the Principal...all the staff is wonderfull...you'r child should become a part of our school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

Good school as far as activities and curriculum, but I found that there were too many students in each class. My child went in the middle school grade and had a hard time integrating with students that had gone to the school since the lower grades. My child's teacher was new in the home room and she was too young and inexperienced to be teaching so many students in her class. The other teacher that did some of the alternate classes had been teaching too long. I would not recommend this school for the middles school grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

I went to this school and loved it, if you want a school with a strong catholic values, and a family feel go to SSJ. At SSJ kids come from all backgrounds, but have only one thing that really unites everyone and that is their catholic religion. Every teacher, but one I had was terrific.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2009

I just graduated SSJ this past year. I loved everything about it. I was very involved in the activities and played almost every sport. SSJ taught me to be out going and accept people for who they are. I also learned to pay better attention in class and how to take good notes and to study. Thanks to SSJ, I'm more confident about attending a public high school this semester. Sr. Raphael is a wonderful woman and she encouraged me every step of the way through the eight years I was there. SSJ ROCKS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

This school is wonderful. Absolutely amazing community to be a part of. The principal Sr. Raphael is a wonderful, caring, kind person and truly devoted to the children and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

The best school ever! they are excellent at sports, the school is full of trophies!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2008

Great school, excellent teachers. Faith based programs, discpline with purpose. Incredible community, strong sense of accountabiliy and community service. Great academics. Sister Raphael is the pillar of this academic institution. She leads with integrity and faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

As a graduating student of this school, I have really good things to say about it. The Junior High years have prepared me in many ways to attend Xavier College Preperatory, and have improved my outlook on life. In addition, my teachers have inspired me to reach to my full potential and always go 200%. Although pitfalls lie in the music and spanish programs, the overall experience is very high. It is fantastic to have such small classes becuase you literally know everyone's life story.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

Fantastic school with caring, involved teachers. The prinicpal, recently named Principal of the Year by KEZ FM radio, is amazing with her lifetime dedication to the school and its families....goes well beyond academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

SSJ is a great school with a history of great leadership. As a family struggling to make tuition, we still believe it is worth every penny. The teachers are great, even though some are better than others, as with any school. The high level of parent involvement is a great example to our kids of what people can accomplish when they all pitch in. Much more than just great academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Spanish program is one to be desired. The Spanish teacher has taught my 8th grader nothing -- she after 3 years cannot put sentences together. The music department/marching band is horrible. The principal favors those who can put $$ into the school those of us have very little input. The bad teachers stay despite complaints because of the difficulty in hiring/keeping teachers in the private sector. If your child is athletic, the athletic program here at SSJ needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I went to SSJ for six years, and I didn't really enjoy it. I got a good preparatory education, that much is true, but when I began at a public school in sixth grade, I realized that as we got older, that fact didn't stay consistent. This school really focuses on teaching their younger students, but the older ones have a little too much time on their hands, and are often busy complaining about and trying to gloss over rules that they consider unfair. Discipline is not a huge matter here, regardless of the school's statements; bullying is a particularly big issue for many students, especially those who are at Saints Simon and Jude on scholarship. There aren't many extracurriculars either, and the band program is horrid. A lot of the teachers here are wonderful, but they won't get you your money's worth on thier own.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2005

High quality Catholic school, with heavy emphasis on basics and faith. Disipline is carefully monitored, but fair, and a high level of decorum is obvious in classrooms and on campus overall. Much opportunity for parental involvement. Expect moderate to homework in all grades, increasing with upper grades. Attendance at Mass is monthly or more depending on grade level. Children learn much about faith and integrating it into daily life. Overall, teachers are very supportive, and extra help is available on campus when needed. Originally founded by Irish priest and nuns, some still in active service as pastor and principal, and a rich Irish 'feel' is present in this school. Some would catagorize this school as strict in discipline, but parents wanting a school that feels, 'like school should be,' (meaning children are well behaved and attentive, and expected to respect themselves and others), would be happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

We worked very hard to get our daughter into SSJ and have been well rewarded for our efforts. The academic programs keep children in tip top form, the social environment is kind, and spirituality is taught throughout the day. She has blossomed into a thoughtful and caring child. When you go to SSJ, you know you are in a better place. The recess play is kinder and gentler. The children are well mannered. Parental involvement is encouraged. Visit the campus at anytime and you will find parents working in the classroom, on fund raising activities, or just helping out. After 3 years at the school, I know the majority of the parents in my daughters class; which is nice because after school play dates are common. Drawback to the school: too many children, usually a class size of 30 (but there are aides and parents to help the teacher.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

SSJ provides an excellent liberal arts education with an emphasis in core Christian values. The teachers are outstanding, the curriculum challenging, and the extracurricular activites are plentiful. SSJ graduates are critical thinkers who are able to successfully transition into the most competitive high schools in the area. I would strongly recommend this school. My children love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

This is a wonderful school. My children are really well taking care of in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

The principal and staff at Ss. Simon & Jude school provide a rich, academic environment for children to excel in. Strong, Catholic values are reinforced through the Discipline with a Purpose program. Many educational opportunities are available to all students from band, Spanish, Latin, art, computers, and Irish dance to name a few. The school started in 1954 by the Loretto Sisters from Ireland. Many are still there today as the convent exists on the school grounds. The teaching staff is dedicated to the development of the whole child. Ss. Simon and Jude is rooted in basic faith filled values and strives to produce academic excellence from its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 21% 39%
Asian 11% N/A
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 11%
Black 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6351 N 27th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85017
Phone: (602) 242-1299

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bennett Academy
Phoenix, AZ



Montebello School
Phoenix, AZ



Ocotillo School
Phoenix, AZ


R E Simpson School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT