Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Paradise Valley Christian Prep

Private | PK-12 | 320 students

Our school is best known for its scholarly, Christ centered community.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $190,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Our son has been a student at PVCP for 5 years, now in 5th grade. He thrives both academically and spiritually. We have been blessed by the community, the teachers and the administration. Our son loves the Lord his God with all his heart ... and with all his mind and with all his strength. PVCP instills this in all that they do. Headmaster, Sheryl Temple is incredible. Focus is where it should be. Our son's heart and mind have expanded immeasurably while at PVCP. He is challenged academically, as staff and administration pay close attention to individual strengths and weaknesses with respect to class placement and instruction. His test scores are consistently multiple grade levels higher than his current grade level on standardized tests. His heart is playful (he is a 5th grade boy, after all), loving, gracious and full of wonder - the PVCP community recognizes this, nurturing who he is as an individual and as a child of God. We are grateful and humbled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

My son has attended this school for two years and I am extremely pleased on several levels. First, the responsiveness of each teacher exceeds expectations. E-mails, papers, and tests are returned promptly, events, activities, class projects are communicated well in advance of the planned date; parent involvement is supported and encouraged. Second, the curriculum is well developed, utilizes several modes of learning techniques, and special projects are done on both an individual level, as well as a class. Third, the emphasis on living a moral and responsible way supplements what we teach in our home and at our parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

We have been a part of the PVCP family for 13 years. Our oldest son attended from preschool through 8th grade and went on to excel at Basis High School. PVCP prepared him well for the rigorous academics at Basis and we trust our second son will do equally as well in high school next year, and, in a few years, our daughter. They have all been working and testing ahead of grade level over their years at PVCP. Along with excellent academics, PVCP develops each student's Christian character and encourages them to have a heart for others. Our children have also had the opportunity participate in a variety of sports under terrific coaches. Also, PVCP families genuinely care about it other and about encouraging the students to be their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My oldest daughter attended Paradise Valley Christian Prep (PVCP) from first grade through 12th grade. My youngest daughter has been there since Pre-K and is currently in 7th grade. PVCP perfectly combines high academic standards with nurturing support. Their test scores are years above other schools when compared nationally. The kids are well prepared for college. I can say this from first hand experience. My oldest daughter graduated Valedictorian from their high school last year. Now she is in the honors program at Grand Canyon University and finding it too easy. She is an English major, but found her classes not challenging enough, so this semester she took Anatomy and Physiology as an elective and is getting an A in it! PVCP not only prepared her for the academics, but also to think and defend her faith. She is in 3 different Christian apologetics groups and has a heart to share her faith in meaningful ways with people who have tough questions. . Faith is woven into every subject and role modeled by the highly skilled, yet very loving and supportive teachers! Come take a tour and find out if this amazing school is right for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

A wonderful community who loves learning and loves The Lord. Teachers, staff and administration are all amazing individuals who are truly invested in raising the next generation of leaders. You will not find a better school in Phoenix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This is a fantastic school. The academics, staff, parent community, and students are exellent. The students are kind to one another and the school gives great consideration to how students are placed together in the classrooms. The teachers are thoughtful and dedicated. We chose this school for its great reviews and are thrilled with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

PVCP is a hidden jewel in our valley! More people would be blessed to know about it. The environment fosters a very high level of learning and is small enough to address the most individual needs of students and families. A biblical world view is integrated into subject matter so students grow in their understanding of who they are in relation to their Creator and the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My children have attended Paradise Valley Christian Prep for the last 12 years (one child graduated in the 8th grade and we intended on having the other 2 attend through the 8th grade). I could not imagine my children attending anywhere else! Teachers and administration are very caring and knowledgeable. The class sizes are also small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My three children have been at PVCP since 2010. Academically, the curriculum are advance; students are well prepared as they move up in their grade level. They advance in core subjects and extra curricular activities and are well rounded in and prepared in light of Christian morals and values. The community of families are genuine and supportive of each other in every level. PVCP is a beacon of light in the Valley of the Son ; our family is privileged to be a part of this community.:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

We, our family, really appreciate the high school at PVCP. The academics are strong, sports programs are growing as the school partners with other like sized schools. The small size of the school provides the students the opportunity to learn to work in teams with one another and establish influential relationships with the high school teachers. I have a son attending, I as a parent, am additionally appreciative that the high school has several positive male role models as teachers. The students are also able to participate in retreats, special events and activities as a small group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Paradise Valley Christian Prep has been one of best gifts in the life of my family! My two sons have begun their education there starting in preschool. I couldn't have asked for a better start and foundation for their education! The teachers are everything that you could wish for or ask for in an educator. They are professional, display genuine care and kindness to the children, and demonstrate excellence and passion in their teaching! They blend academics with shepherding to prefection! Further, there is a "familial" feel to the school as is evidenced by the relationships that happen in the families all throughout the school. All the parents are involved in some shape or form in the school. It is a close-knit community that only adds to beautiful ambiance of the school. As well, the administrators have INCREDIBLE reputations throughout the valley. The leaders of the school are dedicated, passionate, and stellar academics and leaders themselves. It is comforting to know that the school and children are cared for on every level. Lastly, PVCP is a gift because our children LOVE school, learning, and all that is PVCP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

This school is excellent in every way. From small classrooms and attentive teachers to emphasis on excellence in academics, I am thrilled my children have the opportunity to attend here. Teachers and faculty communicate regularly with parents and students learn independent study skills and are encouraged to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My children have attended PVCP since preschool and now one is in 8th the other 6th. My 8th grader would not think of going anywhere else for high school. The small class size, high academics and teacher involvement can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

The school challenges children while making learning fun.Children learn about Christ and how to become responsible citizens who continue to seek out wisdom and knowledge. Parents are involved. Teachers work as a team to help each student reach his/her potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

Both of my children attend PVCP. I have a first grader and a 7th grader. This school promots the Christian spirit. The academics are outstanding and the small class sizes provide a low student teacher ratio. We have had no issues with bullying since my daughter started 4 yrs ago. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

We interviewed with a couple of Christian schools and decided on PVCP because we felt that the school has an amazing curriculum that it is very advanced which may be due to the smaller class sizes. Our child has attention struggles but the teachers here seem to do a great job of redirecting him. I don't think that a larger school would be able to provide the specialization that PVCP does. Our family is truly blessed to be able to send our children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

PVCP is a top performing school academically and incorporates sports and extra curricular activities to produce well rounded children. Equally important is their Christian teaching and high standards with regard to conduct and behavior. An outstanding school on every front where students are encouraged to achieve their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This is our first year at Paradise Valley Christian Preparatory. Our child is in the PK program. So far we have been very impressed! All of the great things we had heard of are all true. The school really treats you like family and most importantly the children are the schools #1 priority. Mrs. Pickett is excellent. She is loving and cheerful and somehow manages to teach an impressive curriculum and still make class fun. Our child is already starting to read basic words and counts over 100!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My son has been attending PVCP since Kindergarten. We chose the school because of the Christian values, which are incorporated into every subject. However, the academic excellence is amazing. Most students are scoring at least 2 years above grade level. Because of the small class sizes and genuine commitment of the teachers and staff, each student is given an opportunity to learn at their level whether that is 3 years ahead in math or slightly behind in another subject. I highly recommended it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

PVCP is a great family-like community. The teachers are fabulous and there is a lot of 1 on 1 attention for students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sheryl Temple
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (620) 992-8152

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11875 N 24th St
Phoenix, AZ 85028
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 992-8140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ


Shea Middle School
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT