Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Phoenix Christian Unified School

Private | 6-12 | 53 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $67,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

My 4 year old has been in Phoenix Christian Preschool since he was two. He loves going to school. Although I had him with a nanny prior that worked on academics, I noticed an immidiate improvement within weeks. I cannot wait to see how much he learns and develops in the years to come. I love the Christian principles thought. I am very happy I decided to send him here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

This school is great it got my child closer to god and i love the christ like environment and it is definetley worth paying for it has helped my son in his studies very well also he is now getting as and bs and im proud and the sports are great. if u are deciding to send your child here you wont regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

We have 4 kids in the school. We couldn't have asked God for a better school for them. My son attended public school the first 2 years of schooling and was getting c's and d's. We thought, how on earth do you get a C or a D in the first Grade!!! Lack of attention, lack of one on one, BUT when he got to Phoenix Christian, it was a complete turn around. The classes are as large as public schools and the academics are amazing. Their spiritual growth is a great addition and we LOVE this school! Its a GOD send. We drive 27 miles ONE WAY to get our kids to this school and wouldn't change it for the world. God provides.... and this school is GREAT.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

I have had two children graduated and a third will soon. The school has done so much to help my children spiritually that is is worth the financial sacrifices. The academics are strong as my first two children have academical scholarships. In athletics all students get an opportunity to play and experience the ups and downs of what life is like. The school may be in a rough area but once you walk in the quad area , you sense that God is truly on the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Our My daughter LOVES PC and so do we! The teachers and staff are top notch! The Christian education is beyond compare and the academics have her ready for any college or career she chooses! Phoenix Christian is definitely a Christian school. They don't just add a little Jesus to the math program, but they teach what it is to really follow Christ! There are community outreaches where they can put into practice some of what they learn. They offer all the AP she can handle! We are very pleased with the school and recommend it to anyone with a strong Christian faith and a desire to have their children trained in the best school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

Other Christian Schools in our region, say that we are the 'ghetto' school just because we are by the middle of Phoenix doesn't mean its bad. The area around our school isn't the same as what actually goes on on our campus. We come together to help each other when it is needed and help our community with our work that we do. When we get to go on a trip somewhere (i.e. the JH mission trip), we really come together and help preach to people and each other. At PC the teachers are amazing and are there when you need help or just want to talk. It isn't thst big, but that's good. In small classes it's easier to learn, and we learn a lot there. So all-in-all I love it there, people are really nice. It's amazing!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2004

Investing in your future is investing in your children and this is the school to do it in. I myself am an alumni of Phoenix Christian and currently have one daughter attending and another daughter will be joining her next year. The tuition payments are difficult to make each month but it is a matter of priority. The teachers, staff and sports programs are wonderful and my daughter is so self confident that going on after graduation will not be a problem. If you are looking for an excellent school, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

I have been very pleased overall with the quality of the faculty and staff at Phoenix Christian. Everyone I have encountered has been extremely helpful and professional. I sincerely feel the teachers care about their students. The academic program is well thought out with much care given to advance planning for each students future educational endeavors. As a Non-denominational Christian school, I have seen a great emphasis on spiritual development of the students. I am thrilled that we decide to send our child to Phoenix Christian, I only wish we had done it sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

The teachers of this school have goals to see the children succeed. It is wonderful when the teacher knows who your child is by name. It sure is rare when you find a teacher in the public school system that even knows who your child is. My family has trouble making the tuition payments, but I am sure that the investment that we are making in our children by sending them to Phoenix Christian will be worth every penny. If you are considering Phoenix Christian for a school, go visit the campus and talk with the teachers. You will be convinced. Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (602) 277-7170

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1751 West Indian School Road
Phoenix, AZ 85015
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 265-4707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clarendon School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT