Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Phoenix, AZ

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Way Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2012
- a parent
Our son is currently attending this school for the second year. We are thrilled with the education he is receiving. He is finally able to read. After three years in public school. This school is teaching him how to manage his dyslexia. This has been a struggle with three types to deal with. He has three types of dyslexia orthographic, phonologic, and dysgraphia.. We had no idea there were so many. The teachers and staff are the best. We love the school

New Way Academy 5

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
New Way is the best choice for children with Dyslexia and ADHD. The New Way staff reversed the damage done in the public schools within the first couple of months. Our son regained his confidence and self esteem. Today he smiles and is eager to go to school. He spent 4 years in public school and could not read, today he completes his first year at New Way and he is reading everything around him. Before, he was convinced he could not learn. Today he is inspired by all the subjects he is mastering and at ten years old he is talking about what he wants to study in college. If your child has learning differences you need to speak with the experienced teachers, staff and parents at New Way.


New Way Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
I am writing this to the parent or families that have lost hope or don't know where to go next after a learning difference diagnosis. I wish someone would have shared us any info on this school. Without hesitation, New Way has changed the life and future of our son. This is the first year that he has friends, his grades are at AZ state standards (he came in at a 2nd grade testing level) and is learning the social skills needed for different environments. We are so proud of him and so thankful for the staff that saw beyond the angry eyebrows and crossed arms. Now with the Bridgeway Program into ASU and U o fA he will get the help needed beyond high school. This school helps all children with learning differences (Dyslexia, Aspergers, Sensory Issues, Speech and Language Development etc). Walking onto campus, these students like all the other children in all the other schools, you would never know the difference except how polite they are to each other and adults. Check this school out, you won't be sorry!

New Way Academy 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has gone to this school for 5 years after attending public school for 5 years. What an incredible difference it has made in her life and ours. The teachers and specialists are exceptional, not only in their professional expertise but in the personal interest they take in each child and family. In fact, the school is like a family with high family involvement and participation. We've made lifelong friends at the school, and our daughter is getting a quality education that will last a lifetime.

New Way Academy 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
We moved from Philadelphia to Phoenix in large part so my son could attend New Way. He is in his 4th year, and still thanks us for moving because he loves his school. The staff is extremely dedicated from the receptionist to the teachers to the principal. The families are very involved as well and accomplish a great deal. Speech and occupational therapy are provided if needed. The school is adjacent to a huge public park and P.E. classes are often held there. My son is very happy to go to school EVERY DAY.


New Way Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
NWLA has changed our son's life and given him a renewed self confidence. I am thankful every day that we have found this school and encourage any parent who has a child with dyslexia to give NWLA a call.

New Way Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

New Way Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
NWLA really helped my son with dyslexia get up to grade level in reading. They have amazing teachers and a really caring environment.


New Way Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2009
- a parent
The best! After our eight year old twins attended seven previous schools we have found the perfect school! The school not only provides an IEP customized to meet each child's needs they follow through! Our twins now have self esteem and friends! This did not happen at the previous schools. We love every staff member that works with our children and Dawn Gutierrez, the executive director, is irreplaceable! I highly recommend this school to children with learning differences who are 'falling through the cracks'. That will not happen at this school! Another big difference here is that not only our your children highly respected by the staff, but the parents are as well. We do not have enough space here to say how wonderful this school is and how it has changed our lives!

New Way Academy 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a teacher
I am not writing here as an employee of this school but as a teacher who has seen the good, bad , and ugly of education. This school is the good. There was an unfortunate incident last year where people who may not have had the students best interests at heart were in charge, that has changed. Dawn Gutierrez has been reinstated as the Head of School and this year has seen an increased focus on curriculum planning and the achievement of accreditation, which was awarded. All of these things aside it is the environment at this school that is truly exceptional. I have never worked anywhere where the focus was so completely on the students and their best interests. I can not recommend this school enough, both as a great place to study and a great place to work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Way Academy
5048 E. Oak Street, Phoenix, AZ  85008
(480) 946-9112
Last modified New Way Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
New Way Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top