Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 560 students

A well rounded program to prepare our students for any high school option.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2014

The church and school are so united. You will see pastors and church staff joining the school staff to greet students and families each day. They have fun here, but they work hard, too. My children learned to work hard, study hard, serve others, care about their friends, and their faith was strengthened by the terrific role models--both adults and fellow students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2014

This school prepares the students both intellectually and spiritually. All three of my children went to school at CLS and formed long term friendships, deepened their faith and excelled at academics. They were well prepared for Brophy and now as they look at colleges I know that foundation from CLS will serve them well. I can't say enough good things about CLS. It was a true blessing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2014

CLS is excellent. High academic standards and expectations for students, offers differentiation for individual learners, teachers loved and nurtured my 3 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2014

I have always felt that my children were cared for and taught good morals and values. The teachers are dedicated to doing their best, and providing support to their students. They are truly loved, and given attention they need with small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2014

Administration appears to be good at organizing people to post favorable online reviews but in real life is mostly unresponsive to if not mocking/dismissive of parent concerns. Other problems include: Surprising amount of bullying by both students and teachers, considering this is a Christian school Children who worship at other churches are not eligible for NJHS membership Hours of homework each night, mostly worksheets High rate of teacher turnover and many inexperienced teachers on staff. Low rates of acceptance to private high schools. I believe that there are kind teachers here who try hard to do a good job, unfortunately they do not outweigh the disadvantages above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2014

We have three children at Christ Lutheran and could not be happier. Each have different academic capabilities and CLS has met each of them where they are and offered extra programming to help one of our kids. The have three new classroom buildings and a deep commitment not just to academics, but in teaching kids the values they need to be great members of their community. I completely disagree with some of the negative reviews below. My experience has been the exact opposite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2014

Christ Lutheran School as been amazing for all three of my children. The dedication of the teachers and administration is superior. One of the best decisions I have made for my family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2014

We couldn't be happier at Christ Lutheran. I have 2 children who have graduated from there and gone onto to be successful in high school and college, while our final child is getting ready to graduate. I'm so sad to see our time there end. The teachers and staff are loving, especially in the junior high. I feel like they've prepared my kids for not only academics but for how to be loving and caring young adults. I also appreciate the church staff who are active in the classrooms as well. If I had to do it all again, I would make the same decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2014

Two third grade classes with 25/26 students per class, no teachers' aides & one of the teachers is relatively inexperienced w/ little or no resources to back her up. A common complaint amongst third grade parents (& parents here do talk w/ one another) is the teachers are non responsive to attempts at communication or to clarify assignments & they fail to effectively implement their child's educational plan or to coordinate the limited resources that are available. Often times the right hand knows not what the left hand is doing. And, if your child needs a little extra help, forget about it - CLS simply does not have the resources & seems to be only interested in building more buildings rather than effectively teaching or meeting their staffing & resource needs. In sum, the administration will greet you at the door with a smile on their face, but after that your child is on his or her own. Indeed, God's fallen sparrows have no place at Christ Lutheran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2014

Christ Lutheran School is a joke. Save your money and send them to a public school. If you were looking for religion, take them to church, or find another school. The math teachers give your student a false sense of security by not teaching them the basics of math. Plan on getting a math tutor in high school if you attend CLS. Ask them how many students failed the math portion of the Brophy/Xavier entrance exam? This was after taking the expensive after school class they offered. The ones that passed took a different class outside of CLS. CLS had a record number of student applications rejected from Brophy and Xavier. So much for paying all those years for a phony private education! They also allow kids to bully and tell the victims to ignore it and advise them to "Thicken their skin." Plus, all the staff is related to each other, I've never seen anything like it! They all stand together and the students are the ones to suffer. If you have a lot of money to contribute to they school, or if you are related, you may be okay, because they play favorites that way! We pulled him out at the end of the year with no regrets after paying for years at CLS. Save your time and money, don't go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2014

Our experience was horrible! If you start in earlier grades and grow up with the students, it's amazing! If you are a new student, it's really hard and nobody mentions that! Friends are already in clicks & it's tough to make new friends from our experience in 7-8th grade. Lots of bullying at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2013

Our children have all graduated from Christ Lutheran and my husband and I look back on our decision to send them there and think it was one of the best decisions we ever made. Our children were love, supported, and educated by people who believe in the value of an excellent education, but were more importantly, positive Christian role models. As our children move into young adulthood, they cite their years at CLS as part of their strong foundation in their love of learning and their faith development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

- Video language and Art teacher - Bullying - In Junior High students receive an automatic F for late assignments - High tuition, but always raising money for new buildings -As far as field trips, students ate sizzler, shared a bed with someone the didn't know in an old motel - Teachers fail to provide a real learning experience, they just hand out stacks of papers for students to complete -No gifted program No, I would not reccomend this school


Posted October 18, 2013

Our family was looking for a learning environment with strong academics and positive atmosphere for our children to learn and grow into well-balanced people. CLS has exceeded every expectation. Our children are excited and love to go to school. There is enough guidance to keep the children challenged while increasing their responsibilities as students that are age-appropriate. The parochial atmosphere has been a blessing in guiding our children through social and moral situations in a positive and hopeful way. Our children are allowed to succeed or fail and try again. The resources available allow children to face academic or physical challenges as "speed bumps" in life to be addressed and not ignored. Many social and volunteer events create an interactive and supportive community for children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

CLS has been an outstanding choice for our daughter. She began in the 3rd grade and is mid year in 6th grade. We moved from a beloved public school due to overcrowding and saw the difference immediately with the successful combination of an intimate classroom settings, smaller teacher student ratios but also the true value of enriched course offerings, Rosetta Stone for foreign language, various parent-student activities and a responsive, attentive staff and faculty. This last feature - responsive staff stands out now most in my mind as a key factor in any school decision. We love CLS and have referred several others to our treasured find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Christ Lutheran School is exactly where my child should be. Thanks to the teachers and staff, my child is confident in the knowledge that Jesus Christ is her savior and loves her dearly. Moreover, she knows that she is accepted unconditionally by her teachers and that they love her almost as much as her own parents love her! With that kind of security, it is easy for her to thrive in academics, relationships and other activities. Christ Lutheran School is an exemplary school and one that I will be forever grateful for because of the positive impact in my child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

CLS is a school that combines a rigorous scholastic curriculum, wonderful mix of non-core classes, warm/caring teachers and staff, and high-class facilities and ambiance. As I walk around this campus, all I can think is, "if I were between kindergarten and 8th grade, this is the kind of school I would want to be a part of." We feel blessed to be able to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

As an alumni from 2001, CLS has been a fond memory of my childhood. I formed strong friendships, benefited from the nurturturing environment, and count my former teachers as role models in my life. As I have gone on to become a teacher myself, I use my experiences as a guideline for how to care for young minds and develop the mindful leaders of our future. My greatest joy has been the opportunity to return to the school and join their elite staff as a 6th grade teacher, with my mentors serving and teaching alongside me!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2013

Although the education was pretty good, with a nice gifted program and good Christian classes, our experiences at cls were not good at all. My child was a target to bullying because they were on a scholarship at the school and not as wealthy as the other kids. The faculty took no action to this despite my many reports. It felt like even the teachers and staff were bullying her! I was once called in for something during work that my daughter was said to have done, and when I got to the office, there were four sets of parents completely uninvolved in the incident there all against me. I felt so attacked! It got so horrible that we had to change schools. We ended up switching to another school mid-year and I can say that she made so many friends and got just as good of an education that she did at cls, and for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I'm a certified teacher, I worked in the public schools for many years. I sent my children to Christ Lutheran School. If you want to be comfortable and confident that your child is receiving the best education possible, this is may be the school for you. The administrators and teachers are dedicated and gifted. The school is blessed to be supported as a ministry of Christ Lutheran Church. Thank you Christ Lutheran School for all you have done for my family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Hispanic 4% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Hebrew
Spanish
Thai
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Exemplary School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Greek, Swedish, Farsi, Irish,
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • Thai

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cheryl Ehlers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (602) 955-3191

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Greek, Swedish, Farsi, Irish,
  • Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
  • Thai
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Homework Club, Barton,
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Bus Routes Available
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Leadership
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We love our students and families!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Hopi /Kiva
Desert View
PCDS

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
VLHS
Brophy/Xavier
Arcadia HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 East Indian School Road
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 957-7010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Phoenix Country Day School
Paradise Valley, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT