Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
560 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christ Lutheran School 2

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Bullying is a problem. Also the grades are very tight. A friend of mine said Ingleside middle school is much better I would reccomend ingleside

Christ Lutheran School 5

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
this school is a great school and prepares you for high school and has great academics!


Christ Lutheran School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
The staff at SJB are so amazing - what a gift to have these ladies who continue to love our children as their own.

Christ Lutheran School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
We have members of the SJB community for nine years and we have seven more to go. While the administration has gone through some bumps lately, overall my kids are well educated, happy and confident. I am excited for the future of SJB! The community created with the families, teachers, and staff generally create an environment to which I am proud to belong. The members of the community who are unhappy there and voice this opinion regularly (some, apparently, on this website) have options to enroll their children elsewhere- they are welcome to take those options. Families who participate and care about the school are those making it great on a day to day basis. The parents who complain are rarely there doing the work that it takes to make the school better. I am grateful that I am able to give this educational opportunity to my children - they will be well prepared to go on to high school and college and life. God bless all the wonderful members of our community!!

Christ Lutheran School 4

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
As a current eighth grader, I can speak from experience and say the homework is grueling. I am a straight A student, even on the excelerated grading scale where a 94.4 is an A-. The grading scaled at this school is ridiculous. The administration is very good and really care about the school. The students are all very nice but mostly come from wealthy, Arcadia backgrounds. There is nothing wrong with that but I wish it was more diverse. 7th grade English and literature teacher is a pain and is not very understanding towards parents or students. Other than that the staff is fantastic. The assistant principle teaches 8th grade math and he is the best teacher I have ever had. History teacher is great in preparation for high school! There is a lot of homework so be prepared for late nights or early mornings or both. There are many service opportunities with many clubs and things like that. NJHS and Leadership are very common in upper grades. Overall it is a great school for certain people. if your student is below average in school, do not send them here


Christ Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I think they are influential in the kids lives and help teach them how to live their lives as Christian leaders.

Christ Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I have had three children go through CLS and they are not overly academic but also didn't seem overwhelmed by daily homework.

Christ Lutheran School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
CLS is tough. Their expectations for academics, student leadership and behavior are high but it is presented in a loving way.


Christ Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
I think the teachers and staff show great respect to their students, which in turn helps develop respectful behavior in the children.

Christ Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
CLS works hard to develop service leaders, starting in preschool, culminating in a Capstone project in 8th grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christ Lutheran School
3901 East Indian School Road, Phoenix, AZ  85018
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (602) 957-7010
Last modified Christ Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top