Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Martin Luther School-Phoenix

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $67,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2010

My son went to MLS K-8 and K-5 was fine. But I now wish I had taken him out after 5th grade. Academically he was totally unprepared for high school. His 8th grade class had 7 kids and all but 1 was behind when starting high school. With only 7 kids in a class they all should have all been at the top of thier game but they wern't. The school isn't cheap either, k-8 cost over 25k which would have been fine if they provided a quality education. Turns out my son would have gotten a better education for free at a public school. I would NEVER recommend this school to anyone, actually I would discourage sending your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

My son is currently enrolled in Martin Luther School. The teachers are caring and wonderful. The staff is available for both the parents and the children. The environment is personal and nurturing while the academics are superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

This is NOT a Latter Day Saints school; it is an ecumenical Christian school housed in a Lutheran church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

I attended Martin Luther from 1st-8th grade. Although the rules are a little more strict and there are less after school activities than public schools, the learning environment is more personal and safe. While there I was in volleyball, softball, basketball, cross country and bowling and also in music class, choir, band, and handbells. The parents were involved all the time with sports and things like the cactus bowl (a basketball tournament for the MLS and other teams and also an alumni game for former students) I made lifelong friends there and when I graduated and went to a public highschool I was more advanced than many. What I learned there is what put me in advanced classes in high school. The teaching there is excellent and prepared me for not only highschool but life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2005

My daughter attended this school in Grades 5-8 and my son is currently a student there. This school provides good academics--they do phonics and Saxon math here. They provide good music and sports programs--a plus for a school of this size. What we like most about this school is the caring teachers and the small-school atmosphere that is much more caring, friendly, and social than that of the large public school my daughter attended. There are ample opportunities to help at the school; I chose to help drive my daughter's softball team to and from their games. This was great fun and gave me a way to get to know the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

Martin Luther School is a very diverse school. The musci program is wonderful, including band, choir, handbells, and music appreciation. There is a Cougar Support group; a group of parents that meet to converse about the school. The academics of Martin Luther are superb.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 42%
Hispanic 24% 39%
Two or more races 23% N/A
Black 11% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 11%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other lutheran
Fax number
  • (602) 604-8257

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Martin luther school offers an active parents/teacher league as one way for parents to support the school. parental involvement is welcome. parents provide transportation and support for field trips and sports events.
More from this school
  • Tuition assistance is available through ASCT, ACSTO, and Lutheran Education Foundation.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1806 W Glenrosa Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85015
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 248-0656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT