Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Phoenix Christian Elementary School (Central Campus)

Private | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $67,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

My son has been in the Preschool program for about six months now. I see him growing intellectually everyday. He has always been very social and easy to adapt. But I have seen him really mature as a little 3 year old. He loves his school, looks forward to going daily. He really liked Ms. Sinia, his 2 yr old class teacher, he is now going into the 3's room and hope he likes her too. Ms. Furedy is great, I had some initial concerns about my son adapting and she worked with me to figure them out. It took him about 2 1/2 weeks to adapt to a school setting but now abosolutely loves it. I made an awesome choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My son attanded his kindergarden year with Ms. Judy. My husband and I were verry impressed with this school. I am happy to say that he will be attending his first grade there also. His reading is at a higher level than my 11 year old little brother who attends a public school. The teachers here take pride in thier hard work on our children. They value each and every single one of them. I love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My children have attended Phoenix Christian Elementary since they began school and are currently in 4th grade. I believe that they have received a fantastic education and more importantly have been reminded that there is joy in learning. The previous post of that 'all' students make the honor list is inaccurate. Students with all A's make the Principals list and A's and B's make the Honors List. There are quite a few who are academic acheivers but this is a credit to the outstanding education. A great choice for Christian education in the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This school is dangerous. I did like my kids learning bible verses, but it seemed like every student makes the honor roll. If you want your kids to learn and grow as indiviuals in a caring, and diciplined environment this is not the school for you. But if you just want them to make the honor roll, sign them up today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

As a parent of 3 children who have attended Light & Life for the last 7 years, I'm extremely happy with the education they have received here. This school is more than a small gem in Metro Phoenix. It's a safe loving enviornment in which all of my children have flourished. They are well rounded, confident and most importantly have an appreciation for the spiritual emphasis the faculty demonstrates. I have always had such peace of mind when leaving my children in the hands of these specially chosen teachers. The principal is awesome, & is involved in all aspects. This is a truly a special place where each child is known personally & treated with respect. It's been so amazing to see them learn to read, write and maintain honor roll status. The friendships gained are also priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

My son has attended Light & Life Christian School for three years. He started out attending the Pre-K program, which was wonderful. The teacher at the time, Mrs. Walker was very dedicated to his learning. She made the transition from daycare to a school setting a lot easier on my son. He has since then been through Kindergarten with Mrs. Furedy and is now currently in First Grade with Mrs. Ross. My exposure to the teaching and office staff has been a delight. My son enjoys learning new bible verses, reading and working on his phonics. As with a lot of children PE seems to be his favorite class as long as it is football they are learning about. Mrs. Rogers, School Administrator and her staff are doing a wonderful job of helping us raise a happy and well rounded individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

Our children have attended since their preschool days. (FYI they have a preschool directly next door for 2 age groups: 1) 3 s & 4 s class and 2) Pre-K class.) Our oldest graduated three years ago, and is in the Honors program in H.S., mostly due to the quality education received at Light & Life. Our youngest is in the sixth grade and blossoming just as well. Academics are of the highest quality. Extracurricular activities for all students in sports are mostly coed: NFL flag football, soccer, softball, basketball, and baseball. They have a wonderful music program with offsite concerts performed by their Chimes, Bells and Honor Choirs. The Principal is loving, caring and very involved with students and parents. If you are looking for a quality education, a high involvement of both students and parents, and a warm Christian atmosphere I highly recommend Light & Life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

I love this school. my daughter is happy and wouldnt want to go anywhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2003

This school has teachers/workers that are unaccredited/certifed, which is a problem in itself. No real extracurriclar activity. This school has been around since 1955, but has not approved in all these years. On the Stanford 9 tests they are well below the national and even State standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Lou Rogers
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4002 N. 18th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85015
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 264-4338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clarendon School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT