Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 1299 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $81,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2005

Great school, teachers are very involved and caring. Programs are good for a school of this size. Class sizes are small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

The finest decision my wife and I ever made was to enroll all three of our children at NCS. THe teaching staff genuinely care about our children's Spiritual and Academic growth. Only at NCS did a qualified teacher and staff recognize my son's learning disability, one that had been over-looked,ignored and dismissed as 'lazy' or 'under-acheiving' by the public school system. The Teacher and Principal assisted us in the proper way to address his situation. Since then, we have seen our timid and otherwise academically insecure child soar above expectations. We are highly impressed with the caring and skillful academic structure of this school. Pulling our children from public school was the best academic gift we could bestow upon them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

My child goes to the small Peoria Campus, which has its own staff and principal. I think the education aspect is wonderful. The Ratios are low. The teachers care immensely about their students. I wish the main campus did more for the satelite campus. They treat it like an afterthought. This makes some parents feel uneasy. I sometimes wonder about what message is being sent to their kids and friends of their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

NCS offers a great Christian environment for students and parents alike. The teachers are wonderful and genuinly care for each student. The academics is first rate, and students excel. Parents are kept informed and are always welcome.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2005

Every teacher from Preschool through 4th grade (that's the grade my child is currently in) has been outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

This school has a very good academic program and is ahead of most public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

I am very thankful my 2nd grader was accepted at NWCS. She is excelling in reading and math and spelling. One issue I do have since I have a preschooler in the school also is that NWCS strongly discourages the entrance of 5 year olds into kindergarten. They prefer waiting until age 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

This school stands for Christ. My kids attend Northwest and I could not imagine them anywhere else. The example they have in these teachers who care and nurture them in the thing of the Lord, I am thankful for such a place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

My Son has gone to NCCS for the last 10 years. I have had nothing but good things to say. The teachers truly care for the students, and the admistration is great! I have no regrets, and plan on watching my son graduate form here. This school has more than 2 acredidations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Matt Davidson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16401 N 43rd Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 978-5134

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT