Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-4|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Awakening Seed School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The staff is very dedicated and focused on getting the students to work and think together.

Awakening Seed School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Our family come from Denmark and we don't speak English as our first language, so we were a bit anxious of letting our 5 yr old son start in pre-school. However, the AW staff were incredibly warm, inclusive and helpful and our son had a great start and quickly made friends with a lot of the other kids. The school offers lots of hands-on activities for the kids and a strong emphasis on positive group values. We can definetely recommend this school!


Awakening Seed School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Welcomed my 4 year old and went the extra mile to help him with his separation anxiety.

Awakening Seed School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Compassion is a big focus here. They make sure all students are included and valued.

Awakening Seed School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The school teaches respect and care for others, stewardship of the environment, and service to the community. Teachers are attentive to students feelings, help them solve problems if they have a conflict with another student, and listen.


Awakening Seed School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My two children have attended this school for nearly 4 years. We all love the school. My children are thriving academically and emotionally. They know their teachers and staff care about them and enjoy working there. I am continually amazed at how the teachers go the extra mile to develop creative projects and activities to learn in depth about a subject.

Awakening Seed School 5

Posted November 27, 2014
- a parent
Awakening Seed fosters an awareness level in children that is rare in many other schools. The level of respect for children is unequivocally clear upon observing the school's activities. Teachers place importance on the a child's unique interests and allow each child to grow their talents.

Awakening Seed School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a teacher
As director and co-founder of Awakening Seed, I d like to respond to the previous review. As with any organization, the Seed constantly changes as we strive to improve the quality of service to our families. Change happens organically and gradually. Rarely has it been extreme in the 38 years we ve existed. While many of our lead teachers are Arizona certified, we ve almost always had at least one who is not. One of our most talented teachers for over 25 years was not certified. Certainly credentials are important, and so are qualities that make a teacher a natural. On occasion, an individual will arrive whose natural teaching talents are exceptional. We work as a staff to help that person translate their talents into quality teaching practices. We invite feedback and dialogue with parents to ensure that each child has a successful school experience. Integrity is at the heart of our practice at Awakening Seed at all levels. We love to have visitors and I invite you to come see for yourself what a quality, child-centered program the Seed is. You will not see children in buckle chairs.


Awakening Seed School 2

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Awakening Seed School was one of the most amazing educational environments in Phoenix. The school has made some extreme changes over the past few years and its reputation and professionalism has taken a hit . The staffing changes (main reason for negative review) continue to cause parents to pause and keep looking for a school who's s The teachers are no longer required to have a teaching certificate and voicing your opinion/concerns about your child's education and daily treatment only brought unnecessary gossip and absolutely no support or plan of change in support of concerns. The school's mission is to respect all people from all walks of life but the people representing this mission have only shown my family extreme judgment and disrespect toward families who care about the well-being and education of their preschooler. If you want your child to sit in a buckle chair for over an hour and be taught by uneducated "teachers" this is the place for you!

Awakening Seed School 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
I am both a parent and staff member of Awakening Seed School, and could not be happier to be a part of this wonderful community. My children love being here and have grown and learned so much. The Seed provides a nurturing environment where kids feel safe and happy with an obvious love of learning. I wouldn't trade this experience for anything in the world. My kids are being given the opportunity to learn about clean eating, recycling, gardening, composting, empathy for all living things, as well as emotional, social, and academic progress and growth. We love the Seed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Awakening Seed School
6630 S 40th St, Phoenix, AZ  85042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (602) 454-2606
Last modified Awakening Seed School is a Private school that serves grades PK-4
Top