Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

91st Psalm Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 140 students

91st Psalm offers a safe, healthy, Christ-centered learning environment.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

I love this school. The staff is well educated and collegial, the students are creative and well mannered, and the campus is clean and safe.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2013

My children graduated from this school and my grandchildren now attend there. Many improvements have taken place since the older reviews. Most of their seniors are eligible for college scholarships. The teachers are caring and will take the time to help you. Through the Smithsonian Institute and ASU in Tempe this school was only one of 8 schools in the nation chosen to participate in an educational exchange of classroom learning with the country of Panama. They were so impressed with our staff member that they asked her to oversee part of the project this year. This school has produced students who are now in the medical field, education, NASA, pastors, the arts, managers of companies. While receiving an excellent education they are taught to love God and love people. They may not have all the amenities that a public school offers, but they are producing quality educated students with great character traits who are motivated to be a success and contribute positively to society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My daughter attended the Pre K program last year. Over the summer she attended a summer camp. The teachers at the camp worked with the kids on reviewing their skills. My daughter was reading at a first grade level thanks to the solid program from 91st Psalm. I was very pleased with the Pre school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

My two children attended this school and received and excellent education. God is interjected in all things. They have come along way in their sports programs and always receive awards. Children that want to go to college are well, prepared and most receive scholarships. My grandchildren are now enrolled as well. Very loving and disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

its a half descent school..when it comes to academics test scores arent the best for this school. my child went there and i eventually pulled him out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

91st Psalm Christian School is a safe haven for my children. I've had 2 children graduate from this school and I still have a high school student here. I feel like they care so much for my children. The principal is always willing to spend time counseling the students. We went through a situation with my daughter this year and I so appreciated how it was handled. I have thought about sending my children to larger schools because I want them to be seen in the sports area but we have chose not to because we believe that God always makes a way. Incidentally, my daughter is being looked at for college volleyball because God did make a way. The children are protected at this school and the education is way ahead of the public schools in Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

not the best christian school i belive there are better for how much they make you pay for there are better christian schools that put christ in the school this school doesnt really


Posted January 19, 2010

We are very pleased with this school. My student is in the high school. He has struggled with academics, yet he is now earning good grades. The principal and teachers have been very supportive and have emphasized Christian values. I believe my student is getting a first-rate education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

91st Psalm has lost focus on their priorities. We sent our children to this school because of our desire for them to be in a Christian enviroment, challenged, encouraged and be exposed to others that share their beliefs in Christ. Instead, they were discouraged and exposed to the reallity of 'Its not what you know but who you know'. The staff including the principle showed favoritism and was bias towards staff kids and church members. The school also lacks culture and the staff is in need of some diversity/interpersonal communication training. I will not send our children back to this school and continue to pray that God opens their mind and hearts to be TRUE examples of how we should live in CHRIST
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

i am a highschool student at the Psalm... and i LOVE it... i wouldn't switch schools for anything... the teachers love us & want nothing but the best for us... i'm not just another kid passing through... i'm that girl that needed extra help in chemisty and i got it... i can not only give you the name of every kid in my class but the name of every one in high school and jr high... small classes= more 1on1 time= better education... i could talk to ppl for hours about my school and say not one bad thing about it... how many highschool seniors can say that?!?
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

My child attended in preschool and it was horrible . She was left outside unattended once after school, I did take her out immediately! I also think the teachers there need to have more experience in dealing with children because clearly they lack that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

I have three children who graduated from 91st Psalm Christian School. They have excelled in every venture they have undertaken since graduation including college, work experiences and beginning their own families. They received a solid education from 91st Psalm Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

91st Psalm Christian School is a solid educational environment that focuses on the whole child. Education, Health, Family, Spiritual and Social growth are encouraged. The teachers are great and will give each child individualized attention. The school puts God first, thus a successful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

I have 4 children and 2 have already graduated from this school after attending since kindergarten. My oldest child was awarded a full tuition scholarship to Grand Canyon University for their Scholars 100 program. She graduated from Grand Canyon and is now teaching Honors English for an Arizona High School. I currently have 2 children still at this school in 9th grade and 6th grade. This is not the 'perfect' school as there is no such thing, but we love it and it has served our family well. The teachers do an outstanding job from Pre-K all the way through high school. There is not really an 'arts' program to speak of but the strong academics will prepare your student for their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

Excellent educational opportunity. Significant amount of homework. Very family oriented. Christian influence is basic to everything and is Bible based. Not much in the way of sports should that be your interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

My youngest child has attended this school since Kindergarten. My older children attended other parochial schools. 91st Psalm has the highest standard of education along with the moral discipline that enhances and supports the parents vision. The academic standards are high and each student is held responsible for his/her behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2003

I beleive my children received a good education and attended school in a very supportive environment. They had a competive edge in college. They also graduated knowing the Word of God and how to apply it in their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 34% 42%
Black 18% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 20% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Grand Canyon University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Scott Ranney
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (602) 243-5919

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Dual-enrollment through GCU
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chosen
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • By bringing God and the Bible back into education, 91st Psalm Christian School offers a safe and healthy learning environment for its students. With small class sizes and teachers committed to raising children in a Godly manner, 91PCS students not only graduate with the best education, but with a purpose and vision for what God has planned for them!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
School Tuition Organizations

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
U of A
NAU
South Mountain Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 60%
Military - 20%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2020 E Baseline Road
Phoenix, AZ 85042
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 243-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


T G Barr School
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT