Advertisement
Advertisement

Christ the Redeemer Lutheran School and Preschool

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2010

Staff is overworked and spread thin. Discipline is not what I expected in a Christian school. Teachers do not have a handle of the classroom. Poor leadership.Extra curricular activities are low quality. Before/After school care is low quality. Low standards and poor attitudes from the top to the bottom.


Posted August 9, 2009

The students spend less than 7 hours a day in school compared to other private and public schools with at least with at least 8 school hours. On top of this, they have a lot of half days ... almost every other friday is halfday. I find this ridiculous.


Posted July 30, 2009

excellent school, values, teachers! Christ centered education, caring teachers, friendly parents, many innovative ideas for fundraising and parent participation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

My daughter started in Jan. 2007 after her school closed in December 2006. I was hoping to find a similar school. CTRLS far exceeded my hopes and needs. My daughter LOVES her school. There is a family environment among staff and students. My daughter wants to stay for after school day care just to play with the kids! The hot lunch program is great. For a small school, CTRLS has it all...Great academics; Computers; Spanish; Art; Library; Before/After School; Hot lunch program; Christ based education/environment; And very reasonable tuition rates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My son Attends this school as do many of our family friends. The school is wonderful and my son is scoring 2 grade levels above what the public schools are teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

My son has attended this school exclusively since Pre-K. He is very involved in all the activities that they provide. He has been able to achieve the 95 percentile in the nation for 4th grade on the Standardized tests. I am forever getting comments from other parents about how well mannered and behaved my son is and although I would love to take full credit this school has had an enormous impact on his excellent overall successes. As a single mom I have not been able to be as involved as I would like to be but I have over the years come to see how this school functions as a family and truly cares about everyone. My son may not be able to attend next year unless they have 6th grade but I would recommend this school/family to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

This school is fabulous. The kids get a lot of attention. They come home with great morals, excellent spiritual vision, and tremendous enthusiasm. All of these are directly attributed to a supporting staff and church congregation. The before/after school program is excellent. My daughter is always happy, caring, and respectful. These qualities are taught at home and continued at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

This school has low classroom size, great test scores and a community feel. Parents are very involved, mini-ministries & fundraisers are commonplace through the active PTO. There is also before- and after- school care available. Children also actively worship in the chapel. Spanish & computers are featured classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

Very nice school. The teachers are very involved & the principle is awesome. My child is learning at an accelerated rate that far exceeds other children we know who are in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

My kids love this school! The teachers are caring and make them feel loved and welcome. The small classes are ideal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

Awesome school! My son is in Kindergarten and he is reading! They also offer Spanish, Music & Art as part of their studies. The teachers and staff are very professional and supportive.High quality parents and students! A+++!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 9% 39%
Black 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 11%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (623) 934-3298

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8801 N 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 934-5896

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Horizon School
Glendale, AZ




Sunset School
Glendale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT