Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ombudsman - Charter Northeast

Charter | 9-12 | 56 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2013

Leadership at this school is great. My son went to the district I work in, but he needed a change of pace. Ombudsman has allowed him to get back on track. He enjoys the structure and says the teachers are personable. The family looks forward to him completing his high school education at Northeast. Great location and easy to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My son was going to a public high school his freshman and the first half of his sophmore years. He was just lost in the sea of kids there and eventually got into some trouble. When we started him at the school during his sophmore year, he started to look at things differently and see how he had been going down the wrong path. He started doing well and feeling good about going to school. He has since graduated and is now attentding PVCC as a full time student. I am very proud of my son and very grateful fto the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

I used to be a student at Pinnacle High but found the environment very uncomfortable, the staff uninterested, and the student body quite materialistic. Since transferring to Ombudsman NE, my grades have improved, as well as my feelings on life. I highly recommended it to any others who feel too stressed in public school.


Posted August 29, 2007

My son just started at Ombudsman Northeast August 2007. Already he is greating excellent grades, his attitute and behavior has completely turned around, his self esteem is back and he is happy about going to school again. Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

my child dislikes ombudsman. She says its the most boring school she has ever been to. One teacher in particular is very mean to all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

A great school for kids looking to get on track, teachers are helpful and a quiet environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2004

This is a student oriented program that works with each individual childs learning skills. Great program
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 42%
Hispanic 43% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3242 E. Bell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (800) 833-9235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pvonline
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT