Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pointe Preparatory

Charter | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

127 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2007

I am a teacher at the prep and have decided to leave. The school has begun to spiral and I don't think that it will recover. This school needs quality leadership and guidance. The teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2007

North Pointe Preparatory used to call themselves a college prep school. We were excited at first. We saw great things at first, but after two years of watching good teachers and administrators leave or be asked to leave, we are taking our children out. The curriculum is not college prep in quality and the school doesn't even call themselves a college prep anymore. How can a school change its philosophy mid year? Six administrators have left in the last 7 months from the three schools. The upper administration is disrespectful of its parents and employees. The last few months have seen a great decline in many aspects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter has been going to NNP for three years now and it has changed. The academics have gone down . They are not required to fullfill all the previous credits in the years before this next schoool year.They have taken away the nearly year round school year, which I liked very much. To say that my girls are challenged in this school, some classes they are others they are not. The school definitly needs better administration and a better hand book that explains why parents have to have a doctors note every time that their child is sick. I do not see alot of parent involvement and with the gates being lock so quickly after school it makes parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

Academic programs are good, but high teacher turn-over. My children have been through 4 teachers this year so far. Administration is weak. Good club choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

The quality of the curriculum is good, the teachers are acceptable, a couple are very good teachers, but the administration is weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I have been very impressed with the majority of teachers. They show they care about the students being successful. However, I think the Administration very week. Like others have say, they show a lot of favortisms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

I have 2 kids who attend this school and they are both doing very well there. Principal Kisselbach and her staff are caring and professional. The Falcon Check Pointes come home every two weeks and are a great way to know how my kids are doing in their classes. We never had that kind of feedback in the regular public school. There are a lot of extracurricular activities available for school this size. My wife and I have been very pleased with North Pointe Preparatory and I recomend it to everyone I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

north pointe academy is a part of north pointe prep. My little girl went there for a year and by the end of the semester we could not wait to take her out and to a (believe it or not) public school. She would have been going to the prep the next year. Really bad administration and the requests for reams of paper and the request for us to go out and buy from bookstores our own textbooks for history because the school does not supply them was too much. This school is run on a shoestring and the money coming from the government that they get for each student makes me wonder where it goes. Go somewhere else and spare your kids the ordeal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

Good Philosophy, poor administration. My kids are out as of today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

This school is highly recommended. There is just enough structure and fun to make a great learning experience for teenagers! Sure, a bit of confusion at the beginning of the year, but everything has been rectified. I know my son would not choose another school now, but had reservations when it came time to make our decision to attend NPP. The staff is absolutely wonderful! When you need to count on them you can! I think, the community as a whole is awesome. I have never felt as comfortable with parents, staff, and students as I do with the NPP bunch. Thanks for everything! Kudos to NPP and NPA. The BEST PRINCIPAL'S!!!!!!!!!!!!1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Good philosophy, but high teacher turn-over. As soon as my son got used to a teacher, they were gone in a blink of an eye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

This is my son's first year at NPP. I have to say that there was a bit of concern coming in since the transition from 6th to 7th grade can be very trying but NPP has been wonderful. They have made the transition for him seamless and effortless. The staff makes itself readily available for any concerns and has been very welcoming and family like. There was a bit of pandemonium the first week with getting classes straight but it was taken care of without any ill effects. My son loves all of his teachers and couldn't be happier. We're looking forward to a long and learning relationship with NPP and I can't wait to enroll my youngest when he is ready. Thanks NPP you made what could have been a nervous disaster into a smooth and easy switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

PrepTv, along with other classes have been canceled. After we registered our child. There is a lack of leadership at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

The school has high teacher turn over due to the lack of support from the leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

2005-2006 was our first year at North Pointe Before making the decision to move our kids to North Pointe, we did much research, soul searching, prayer. Sacrifices had to be made. For example, just getting them to and from school and activities requires driving 700-1000 miles per week. has it been worth it? Absolutely! All three of our children have done better academically and socially than they have ever done in any previous school. They have all been Honor Students for the entire year. They have all mixed socially without pressures and conflicts experienced in previous schools. They have all matured mentally. Each of them has (on their own) made significant decisions concerning their life-style, acquaintances, and activity participation with only minimal guidance from Mom and Dad. We look forward to our future at North Pointe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

Safe school that really cares about kids.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 10, 2006

North Pointe has an always improving sports program which is what attracted us to the school. I was hoping for more push academically - my kids get A's and B's in advanced classes with almost no effort and with very little actual teaching. Communication needs much improvement. The parents' group tries to be a 'presence' but very few parents choose to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

The students at North Pointe seem to act on any changes in a passive manner. They don't get involved as much as i'd expect them to. They don't seem to attach themselves to the teachers or curriculum. The extracurricular activities are a good time-consuming portion of a student's day to day routine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I am currently a senior at this school. I started going here last year, and I'd have to say it was the best choice I have made my whole life. This school is amazing and is continuing to excel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2006

My son is in seventh grade and it is his first year at NPP (obviously). I have found the staff to be very available to talk with parents when necessary. My son was pushed to do his best. This is important because too many times children do not develop the skills needed to acheive and it becomes ok. When children have to work for their grades they feel rewarded in their efforts rather than just giving them a passing grade to become a 'perfoming' school etc. I do notice that cheerleaders are a main focus but as the school multiplies and other extracurricular activites acheive this focus can become school wide. I haven't seen favoritism yet and hope that I do not. There is no comparison with the other JHS in the area. Drawback not a 4 or 5A school for highschool sports!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheri Kisselbach
Fax number
  • (623) 209-0021

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 209-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT