Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pointe Preparatory

Charter | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

131 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2012

I am a Junior going to be a Senior. I have been in this district since 6th grade. Half of these Reviews that are bad are a joke. i personally LOVE this school. They give you a great curriculum, and truelly care about your opinion. They listen to your problems and try there best to help each student with them. Your class choices are taken into consideration, and you get a personal meeting to discuss your plans. The teachers are excellent and are picked out my the amazing Mr. Gow (principal) himself. If any problems, he takes the students and parents input on that teacher as well as grades and his personally known facts on how they maintain a classroom. I would recommend anyone go here for their excellence in balance of the 4 A's (Arts, athletics, academics, and activities). Not everyone will be satisfied with this school, simply because they do push you and they also include fun. However, you can always find a good friend here, for ANYONE, and you have a good opportunity to find new ones within every activity. Please choose North Pointe:) It is absolutely fantastic!!


Posted March 8, 2012

My daughter has been attending North Pointe Prep since the 7th grade. She is currently a Sophmore and has grown exponentially over the last 4 years thanks to Mr. Gow (the Principal) and his team of talented staff and faculty. I give props to a Charter School that delivers on the same level as a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I personally like that this administration doesn t take bullying from anybody . My ex-wife tried to talk the principal out of suspending my son, but it didnt work and I am glad. He needed to learn a lesson (good kid did something dumb doubt it will happen again.) When the principal called me he was to the point and professional. Solid academics. No game playing or favorites. Basketball team just made the playoffs. They aren t always asking for money and dont make my son sell stuff for fundraisers. Good School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

As long as you do not have an issue that needs attention from the office staff and/or principle, this is a good school. Teachers really care about getting the best out of their students and, for the most part, there is very little bullying that goes on. But do not be fooled, there is bullying that goes on from both the girls and boys. The principle rules the school as a dictator, not as an administrator; It is his way or the highway. And if you try to talk to him about an issue he will get annoyed and passive/aggressive. If you try to continue the issue he will just threaten to have you barred from school grounds and hang up. Then, when you try to go to his boss, the school superintendent, you will find out that she is just a figurehead and the principle will respond to you in his capacity as assistant superintendent and tell you to go away. The school's high grade standards are because they are very selective as to which kids get to attend. And if your child's grades starts to slip, they will attempt to make them leave. Just be aware of the principle's dictatorial tendencies and any lack of district over-site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

My child has attended this school for the last two years and the teachers are great but the administration is horrible as well as the athletic coaching. They talk to the kids in a manner that is not appropriate and getting anything resolved is almost impossible. The education is good but the administration is no good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Recent reports show that NPP has a very successful advanced placement program. Students not only test well, they also do very well in the advanced placement classes. NPP is concerned with the whole student (academics, athletics and the arts). My child has been with Pointe Education since 6th grade at Canyon Pointe and is now a freshman at NPP. Many of her friends have transferred to this school and their parents are thrilled with the result. Yes- the administration can get petty, but that happens at all schools. North Pointe is the best education for my daughter, with or without tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I think it is important that this school has less than 1% free/reduced lunch and a population of more than 75% white students. And, few special education students. Traditional, public schools in the area have a higher number of minority students, English Language Learners, students of lower income, and a special education population. I withdrew my niece when I finally realized the lack of diversity at this school and the fact that their competition in the public schools is rated the same or one point lower. With the lack of all of the extra challenges traditional public schools face, North Pointe's rating should be much higher than its competitors. As long as people keep pulling their kids out of traditional public schools when things don't go their way, kids aren't going to learn all of their lessons in the real world. And, our neighborhood public schools (the hearts of our neighborhoods) will not get better. If you don't like something, don't run away from it. Exercise your democratic right and duty to help fix it and protect it.


Posted March 11, 2011

This is not just a good school, but a fabulous one. My daughter has attended North Point since 8th grade and is now a junior. Every second at this school has been a joy and my daughter has thrived since she got there. After so many years in the public school system where my child was bullied, where teachers lost her work and blamed her, and treated like a criminal for something as simple as forgetting a school id, going North Pointe was like being on another planet. The teachers are among the most dedicated that I have seen anywhere, the kids LOVE going to school, and the administration goes so far above and beyond to make school a fun and exciting experience. When other schools are dropping arts programs left and right North Pointe is adding more. The opportunities to excel academically are there as evidenced by over 1/2 of the entire school either on the honor roll or principals list each semester. On top of all that the kids are taught to be good human beings through community service and mentoring projects. If there is a better school out there I haven't found it. I commend the administration and the teachers for creating a great learning environment. Keep up the good work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

I am now in my fifth year as a teacher at the Prep. I can say without reservation that the school as a whole is amazing and continues to strive to excel on all fronts. I honestly wish I had gone to a school like this back in the day; my high school was good, but the focus that NP has on the EVERY student (and not just the scholar, the athlete, or the artist) is amazing. Our student population is top-notch, and there is not a single colleague I have who is anything less than wholly dedicated to providing students with the best education possible. The students are here because they want to be, and the teachers are here because we have proven to be effective and engaged. Our retention rate is very high, and the diversity of our extracurricular programs is simply unprecedented for a school of our size. No school is perfect, of course, but the staff at NP does our best to make sure that every student who comes through here gets the best education possible. I am proud to be a teacher here and look forward to an amazing future!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2010

My daughter has been attending NPP for three years now! My other children attended a high school in Deer Valley district. I wish I had found NPP for them. My daughter is able to be involved in band, sports AND student government. She maintains a high GPA and does have homework! She is excelling in math. We love what NPP, its administration and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

Just went to graduation and was amazed by the feeling of community and celebration of individual students. So glad we chose NPP for our kids. don't know what some of the other reviewers are talking about regarding a "no homework policy." My kids have homework! However, I appreciate that they aren't given busy work. The handbook spells out the school's philosophy and I, for one, appreciate not having to buy glue sticks and craft supplies for homework "projects." I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love North pPoint, I have two kids there, both have been there since the 7th grade, one a Sophmnore and one a Junior, both are college bound and get straight A's and B's. I don't like that a college prep school does not have home work though, I have attended 6 years of college as a single mother and don't think that no homework is preparing them for college. I love the extra curricular activities, the football and band programs really rock, I love the theatre, the academia. I have heard the kids both complain about the unfairness of which some of the teachers have been treated. I love the friends that the kids hang out with, they have great values and are kids that at 16 and 17, I have never heard a complaint from another adult about either one of them. Both kids love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

This high school has/had some of the most amazing teachers I've ever met. They genuinely care about each student and will go to great lengths to make sure they succeed. Unfortunately, this school, or more specifically the administration, has chased away most of those teachers. More keep coming, but they won't stay for long. I can't even count how many one year teachers have come through North Pointe. It takes it's toll on students, especially those who are in there later years, since they've had to change teachers to frequently. This is partly due to one of the most frustrating administrations I've ever seen in education. If they don't like it, it goes. They can fire on a whim. On day a teacher will be going about his or her business; the next day they'll be gone because they rubbed the principal the wrong way. There is simply no accountability.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2010

I can't accept that the principle has decided that the students don't need to do any homework, this is not good for the students learning wise nor is it teaching them that their not going to go through college without homework. Certainly makes it easy easy for the students so they can play on the computer when they get home though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

My daughter has attended North Pointe since 8th grade and is now in 10th. It has been the best school experience of her life and she could not imagine going anywhere else. After so many years in the public school system dealing with bad teachers and and Cholla middle school that treated the kids like they were all criminals, it was great to finally find a place where the teachers care about all of the kids and give them opportunities to excel, encouragement to be their best, and have fun doing it. Their curriculum is based on AP and Honors classes which push the kids to exceed their limits but over half of the student body is either on Honor Roll or Principals List, so they must be doing something right. I highly recommend North Pointe to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I am a student here at North Pointe and it is a great school but they don't really have good career driven classes like most bigger high schools do. North Pointe is a much smaller school but they try their best to try and accomadate and meet most expectations. I love it here and would reccommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

My boys have been going for a few years. we left one year to try another school and we were so disappointed. We came back. Mr. & Mrs. Hutson (band) are great. My oldest is a senior this year and i am confident in what he has learned and know that he will be able to go to college and succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

This is my first year at North Pointe Prep as a 7th grader and I love it here. I'm glad I 'm going to this school, it seems way better then Cholla Middle School. This is a school I would really say any 7-12th grader should go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I'm a student at North Pointe Prep and it is the best school i ever been to. We have loads of fun but we work hard. The sports is awesome. The High School Girls Basketball team coached by Coach H. Almost went to state. The High School Cheer Squad got 1st place in West Coast Championships. Really good staff too. I love it here. I have cousins and sisters going to attend next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

I am a Sophomore at North Pointe, and have been going there since the 7th grade. I love it and it has improved every year since I've been there. I get help when I need it, the teaches are awesome and there's not a one that really dislike. I like that we have several directors instead of one principal. They're all friendly and fun and get rid of those trouble makers! Even though I am not in jr. high anymore, it is sad to see that they're area for the website is almost never updated They want pictures too!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheri Kisselbach
Fax number
  • (623) 209-0021

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 209-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT