Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pointe Preparatory

Charter | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

127 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2008

North Pointe Prepratory is an average school with potential for excellent ratings. I believe they are not an excellent school because they do not have the appropreate leaders in play with the organizational skills and vision for the future needed. This school has an extreemely low rating for students passing college tests, thus college credits earned on a high school level in this school are rare. The students are not taught on a whole that academics alone will not get you into the college of your choice. It takes acadamics, sports, and comunity service to have a chance to get into the school of the students choice. Just getting by and having the school with a high rating is no enough to be an Excellant school! The school does not inform the parents or encourage them to be involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

My child had to wait most of the year to attend NPP they had a waiting list since last spring. We chose this school when we saw how awsome the events were. Even though our child was not enrolled yet they allowed them to shadow at a spring shadow day. Since attending North Pointe my child has been able to bring home grades every few weeks in a check point and I am able to access teachers and staff by e-mail at any time and they respond quickly and efficiently to my questions. My daughters health issues were addressed immediately. The teachers and staff have been extremely helpful and Preptv really has wonderful daily announcements so I know what's happening continually. They do all their communication online and in this day and age it is a great tool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

While I have seen the changes in the past few years with NPP, I sure do notice it's ability to spend time with the students teaching them what will be required for college. Duuuhhhh it's a college prep school!!! Not for the ungifted student. Or for those who get C's or D's and have no parental support at home. Our household is a 2 parent working to survive household so we are glad we chose NPP, but our children are smart and are willing to work hard and do the work and have good study habits at home so they succeed! Maybe parents who don't want academics and extracurricular and college as an option shouldn't be in this school. I have a student who graduated top of her class last year and is now attending ASU with a scholarship in academics. That is what we all want. Don't we?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I was very impressed with the high standards they offered in 2004. I chose this school for my daughter for that reason. Then I watched the faculty and administration change yearly or more often, as did the curiculum. I had her there for 3 years. I regret that alot and am disappointed that the school did not meet its promises and would not recommend it .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

North Pointe Preparatory is a school with heart. The enthusiasm of the administration and teachers transcends to the students and it is truly one of those schools that makes a difference in a student's life. We are building our future here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2008

The Prep is an excellent school that just keeps getting better. It offers students more opportunities than any other small school I have seen. The current administration is both competent and caring. Lots of very involved teachers, too. I have been to other schools and done the research and I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

NPP is a horrible school. I am a student at the school and i will be leaving this year. The teachers are okay. Some are very good, but for some reason they get fired or they do not get asked back by the school. The administration tries to be friends with all the students when they should be teaching us. I am an athlete and they do have favorites. I am one of them. The way they run the school is horrible. They give no information.The only information they give is on there website, and most do not even read it. I would encourage every parent to pass this school and look for something else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

In response to the schools 'unique structure' It can deffinetly be VERY frustrating trying to get an answer when there are 5 different directors and not one of them will return your call. We had an incident which should have been handled by the Director of Student Services and the situation was ultimately handled solely by the Ass. Superintendent. How does that happen? It appears even though there are different Directors, there is still only one in charge. I hope the school re-thinks their 'unique structure'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

This school is improving everyday, particularly over the past year and a half. There is a dedication to the 'whole' child with very strong programs in both arts and athletics in addition to college prep academics. My children are receiving a quality education in a great environment. My wife and I could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

This is a great school with wonderful teachers who will bend over backward to personally help your child. Sure there are problems sometimes but there are problems at every school. You won't find better than this one for a high school or junior high. If you think you will, go try a local public high school for a week and see what you think. Those schools will never give the individual attention to your child that they will get from the teachers at North Point. I am very grateful for the Prep and don't know where we'd be without it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

I am just completing my first year at the Prep and I have found the students to be great. It clearly makes a difference when the environment is such that the parents made a conscious choice to send their kids to the school. Add the kids into the mix of a very supportive administrative team, and you have happy teachers. I can't wait for next year. Go Falcons!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2008

The school has a large turn over of teachers and the Admin does not work with the teachers. The teachers themselves are very dedicated. The Administration lacks commitment. tJust tries to cut cost at the expense of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

The Administration is very hard to communicate with. It is real sad because the quality of the individual teachers are great. It is really sad because there is so much potential and the administration does not call back parents when parents want to get involved to improve the quality of their children's education. The Administrative Staff either has a hard time coordinating things or do not care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

When we started at this school 3 years ago, I was very impressed. There seemed to be a more selective process about which students would be able to attend, due to morals, integrity, grades, etc. This year, 2007-2008, child now in 9th grade, too many administrators, don't know and don't care what each other is doing, parent association disbanded by district administration, seems all about the money now. Not the philosophy when we started 3 years ago. Really disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

Poor leadership, the administration never calls parents back, they have a secretaries return calls. Classes are always cancelled. teacher quality is not so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

Seriously, This is a great school that just keeps getting better. Newsweek named it one of the best schools in Arizona. Academic and behavior standards are high but not unrealistic. There are a lot of really nice kids at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2007

I am an alumni student of North Pointe. I enrolled in 8th grade and graduated in may of 2007. I can't express how impressed I am with the administration on a large scale, but on a one on one basis with the students, it's not so hot. I love that it's a small school where everyone knows everyone and there are really no cliques. It was a good school, not a great school, with great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

I'm curious to know the criteria for a top school. I'm not seeing this in the leadership. There is no parent participation. We have no voice at this school. Communication is viewed as 'go to the website'. This is ineffective. Have they realized effective communication occurs is several modes not just one? We had a band performance outside this week. It was extremely cold. The students had a great performance. Do you think the school should have planned to have the performance in the gym or the theater. Poor Planning. If the Jr High is any reflection on the school, I'm afraid to know what goes on in HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Money spend on big coach buses instead of athletic equipment or jerseys. Classes canceled. Teacher turn over every year. Kids with good grades told they can't play sports when they have played for 3 years, because they are homeschooled. Its the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Lots of classes/extra-curricular classes that were promised at orientation have been cancelled. Never got calls returned from the Administration. High teacher turn-over.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheri Kisselbach
Fax number
  • (623) 209-0021

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 209-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT