Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Pointe Preparatory

Charter | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

131 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2007

I am an alumni student of North Pointe. I enrolled in 8th grade and graduated in may of 2007. I can't express how impressed I am with the administration on a large scale, but on a one on one basis with the students, it's not so hot. I love that it's a small school where everyone knows everyone and there are really no cliques. It was a good school, not a great school, with great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

I'm curious to know the criteria for a top school. I'm not seeing this in the leadership. There is no parent participation. We have no voice at this school. Communication is viewed as 'go to the website'. This is ineffective. Have they realized effective communication occurs is several modes not just one? We had a band performance outside this week. It was extremely cold. The students had a great performance. Do you think the school should have planned to have the performance in the gym or the theater. Poor Planning. If the Jr High is any reflection on the school, I'm afraid to know what goes on in HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Money spend on big coach buses instead of athletic equipment or jerseys. Classes canceled. Teacher turn over every year. Kids with good grades told they can't play sports when they have played for 3 years, because they are homeschooled. Its the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Lots of classes/extra-curricular classes that were promised at orientation have been cancelled. Never got calls returned from the Administration. High teacher turn-over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

This is our second year at North Pointe and we are very happy with the school. I have had no problem getting responses from teachers and staff when I've had questions. I like the fact that check sheets come home every two weeks so I can keep tabs on my son's academics. The sports are wonderful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

My son is a new freshman at North Pointe, coming from Carden Traditional School. So far, I am thrilled with almost everything. My son has great, involved teachers, challenging classes, and great extracurricular activities that he wants to participate in. Our only concern is that his math teacher knows a lot of math, but seems to have some difficulty teaching what he knows to the students. But, all in all, it has been great! Thank you to the staff and leadership at North Pointe Prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I pulled my daughter at the beginning of the school, there is alot of favoritism with the administration. I never had my calls returned. I truly believe 'status' is the only thing this school is about, not educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Yes finally a school with respect for parents and children. Very organized and profesional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

NPP has really gone down in the last couple years, seems like the school only cares about looks and status not about our children's education, it is very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I agree with the Great Schools ranking - 9 of 10!My kids have attended this school for the past 5 years and we love it there. I believe that the new administration is much more responsive to parents than last year's was so I don't agree that all turnover is bad. The school sends home grades every 2 weeks and teachers are great about returning calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

It is sad when an administrator must write a review of its school. The turnover at the Prep reflects poor leadership. It is that simple.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

I also am very concerned about the turn-over of Directors. I just wish they could keep the same staff for two weeks so the website could have a contact list. As the administrator's comment so elequently expressed...they are all about the experience, which is great, I just hope the education will get the students into college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I agree and have mixed feelings about the school. In all the years my child has attended this school. They have had alot of teacher and administration turn over. I don't believe the school is a College Prepratory. The school doesn't treat all the students fairly because of much favoritism by the teachers. Very unorganized they have plenty of updates on the school sports ect. but no faculty and administration contact information found on the school website. I would not recommend this school to another parent I wish I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

We were in North Pointe Prep for 7-8 grade, and I have mixed feelings. Some of the teachers were terrific, while others seemed to have no academic standards. However, almost all of the teachers I met cared about their jobs and the kids. The school was very disorganized and it's frustrating. There was an unspoken pressure on the teachers to give a's and b's - in my opinion not good. I want to know my child is learning and have a true read on how he is doing. It is not a college prep school in terms of curriculum or standards, so don't expect that. However, it is a small-school atmosphere, so your child will get to know people right away and have more opportunity to play if involved in team sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

My kids have been attendind this school since the 7th grade and are now in 10th and in the beginning it was the school that we dreamed of! But as the years passed by its 'greatness' dissapeared! The quality of the teachers was decreasing and most were unqualifyed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

There is arts program there and I was impressed with that. But if you arnt intrested in you kids experiencing a great arts program I reccomend looking somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

We have decided to leave after 5 years of dealing with Pointe Educational Services. I suggest choosing a different school than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

This school does not apeal to me or my kids! Yes there has been some good things about it like drumline and other ats and such, but what really gets me is the lack of adminastrative responsibility! There is great potiential but there are a few roadblocks that have to be overcome first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My kids are very happy st this school. My son is into sports and my daughter is into the arts and they both excel academically. No other charter school has this combination of Academics, Athletics, and Arts. Also, this school has a district administration that is committed to finding the right teachers and leadership. The standards are high and 'okay' just isn't good enough. This school isn't afraid to replace an ineffective teacher or principal. Too many schools just keep them because getting rid of them and finding good ones is too much work. If the new principal didn't work out and left this summer, well, I am glad that they figured out it wouldn't work before school starts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I have attended npp and still am. In some aspects the teaching is above and beyond a normal level but some of the teachers need to step it up. I think that the people incharge of hiring should make sure that they are hiring a good teachers so they dont get fired 1/2 a year later. I sugest before enrolling to npp really find out the details, good and bad, about the school before enrolling, just to make sure it is up to your standards.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheri Kisselbach
Fax number
  • (623) 209-0021

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10215 N. 43rd Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 209-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT