Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
162 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 198 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Pointe Preparatory 1

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
We enrolled our children thinking this was a good school but don't be fooled by the tours they give you and the friendliness. It's a terrible school!! Our boys hated the school and the fact that the school changed and fired teachers every week. There are no stable teachers there. They give kids tutoring but they don't help them at all! I withdrew my kids from there and have been waiting on transcripts for almost a month!! Their so-called system has been "down" the whole time!! This is a terrible school!!

North Pointe Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
This school is diverse and teaches the students understanding and compassion. No bullying is tolerated


North Pointe Preparatory 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a community member
My son has been at North Pointe since 7th grade. He is now a junior. He is a very talented artistic and intelligent young man. At the prep he has never felt he had to conform to specific standards. I credit this to the fact that there is a no tolerance policy and Mr. Gow (who is rough around the edges) makes sure students are accountable for their actions. My son has never been bullied because he isn't into sports and like to take art class. I can't say the same for public school. My nephew is in 5th grade and gets bullied and there is so much red tape that he ended up being the one in trouble! How do you like that. I love the Pointe family of schools! Falcon Awesome!

North Pointe Preparatory 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The Principal and his staff are amazing! They have created a culture where students want to come to school and learn.

North Pointe Preparatory 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
First let me start with the good. Overall the teachers there are good. Now the bad, the front office girl is as rude as anyone you will ever meet. She can careless about your child or you. She's nothing but a carbon copy of the principle. Now on to him. Richard Gow. He is nothing but a bully on a power trip. He will not take calls or have any meetings at all. He has a personal problem with me because I'm not a parent who will bow done to him. Warning if you stand up To him he will punish you through your kids as he has done mine. He has no teaching certificate so nobody can touch him. On top of that he's the assistant superintendent, so he's not biased at all and the superintendent will not bother to get involved. Richard Gow needs to be taken out of his role as principal and assistant superintendent immediately. We need better people in positions like his to guide our children. Until he loses his job given to him by the people I would not recommend this school.


North Pointe Preparatory
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 20, 2015
- a student
Ms. Richards, you are the best teacher! And all the teachers in the math department are really great at what they do! I thank you all!

North Pointe Preparatory 1

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
In an open letter published in both the 2013-14 yearbook and graduation program Richard Gow states: "Six years ago I (Richard Gow) stood in front of your class and told you my number one mission in life was to see that not a single one of you would graduate from North Pointe......to the 51 of the original 130 who actually made it, I'm proud of you." This is a published fact. Of the 130 kids who entered 7th grade only 40% made it to graduation. As a parent you can decide if that is the school for you.

North Pointe Preparatory 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
The October 8, 2014 post that says, "This school post great grades for the students but ask them why 20% of the seniors graduate" is just one more reason why sites like Great Schools can not be trusted. North Pointe actually has one of the highest graduation rates in the state among all public high schools. Utilize the Dept. of Education's website regrading statistics about North Pointe, not a site that promotes inaccurate information.


North Pointe Preparatory 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
This school post great grades for the students but ask them why 20% of the seniors graduate.

North Pointe Preparatory 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This is our second year. Some things we have seen: 1. The principal has zero tolerance. We appreciate that! We have seen kids that bullied other kids get suspended. Parents that just walk in the school with out authorization being asked to leave campus and get upset and yell when the staff is just trying to keep kids safe. Mr. Gow enforces the rules; keeps the kids safe and makes them accountable for their actions. 2. Some teachers do not know how to teach and that is why they get rid of them. Last year we had a Math teacher that played videos for every lesson, kids would fall sleep in his class, thankfully he's gone this year. 3. Most of the junior high teachers are wonderful. Can't wait to meet the High School faculty! This school is not for everyone, I recommend that you take the tour with the principal, consider what North Pointe has to offer and think about your child needs and personality. Not every child will be a good fit for North Pointe. Also consider yourself as a parent in the decision, Mr. Gow would not be holding your hand. If you chose North Pointe and didn't like it don't blame Mr. Gow, blame yourself for making the wrong choice for you and your child!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Pointe Preparatory
10215 N. 43rd Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85051
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 198 reviews. (623) 209-0017
Last modified North Pointe Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top