Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Bell Canyon

Charter | PK-8 | 455 students

We are best known for small class sizes.
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $81,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 84 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

186 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

My school is Imagine Bell Canyon.... From the minute you walk thru the door you can see that the teachers and staff are happy to be there! Smiling faces and positive attitudes towards the kids and parents Classrooms are small and the teachers know the needs and wants from each and every one of their students. I had the mommy fear of leaving my kindergarten, but as soon as he got home and told me how much fun he had, that fear was gone. I will gladly tell anyone and everyone about this school! Keep up the good work Imagine Bell Team! Kindergarten takes a lot of field trips which is always fun for us mommy s to join and help the teachers. I work a full time job and my schedule is very crazy at times, but Mrs. Mandell has gone above and beyond to make sure I m always updated and informed about homework, projects and my child s behavior. She is an amazing teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I think is a good school,my child has learned alot and they encourage kids to do better, and my child it's been there since kinder garden thought third grade and all the teachers had been wonderful I recomend this school for your.kids.!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Imagine Bell Canyon has the most wonderful community. This year alone, there has been several fun events. My children went to their 1st school movie night and had a blast, then we attended the Chili Cook Off and now, my son and daughter are looking forward to the school dance. The front office crew is amazing and has so much knowledge and so supportive. Come to our school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Look no further! IBC is the school you've been waiting for. Great teachers who take the time to work individually with each child, small class sizes and amazing front desk personnel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We have been at Imagine Bell Canyon for four years and we love it! Everyone at the school is so friendly and helpful. My son is enthusiastic about learning and the teachers have done a fantastic job teaching and supporting him. Thanks to Imagine Bell Canyon, my son has a great foundation to be successful in school and in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My Kindergartner Sophie loves Bell Canyon. She is very fond of Miss Mundell. I am very proud of how well she is doing in school and I believe the school has an excellent program and I highly recommend this school to anyone who truly cares about education. Debby Yetka
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

We LOVE our school! We wanted our child to belong to a school that had full day kinder and we wanted a curriculum. Everyone at the school is always so willing to help in any way that they can. We will continue with Bell Canyon through 8th grade. They only thing that would be an improvement, is the pick-up and drop-off area. If it was bigger it would be so much better, but with that said they only have so much property right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

This is my childs first year and I ABSOULTLY LOVE IT! I have never been so much happier with a school my child has been to. they are so involved with the children. I am definitely keeping my child there up to 8th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

teachers are amazing. Everyone Is very nice. This is my sons first year. He has improved so much. he is in kindergarten and is now reading 1st grade level. The teachers work so well with the children. I plan on keeping my son at this school up to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

the teachers are amazing. the front desk lady is amazing, her name is debbie, she is kind 7 wonderful. the principals that have been here are not so great. we have a new one (again) not sure about this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I love the people that i work with at this school. Everyone is always helpful. They look out more for the kids then they do them self. I have seen lots and lots of extra effort be put in over one child, by many different people. Everyone that works here love kids and loves to whach them grow and learn. We all do the best we can every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2014

The new principal Joshua Jordan at Imagine Bell Canyon is just great. He actually takes his time every morning to greet and interact with the children as they walk through the gates. I am so glad he replaced the old principal and hope he will be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

I am just overwhelmed seeing my daughter progress this year. I cant speak higly enough and i do recomment the school to other parents. This also goes for the team of staff that work there teachers listen and everone is on board about success of our children. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

The school structure of character development and real life skill learning from the Micro Society is why I had chosen this school. Due to this, my son is already becoming a well rounded young man. The teachers at this school genuinely care about each child and are always ready to assist with anything you may need. Keep up the good work IBC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

I love working at Imagine Bell Canyon. The atmosphere is inviting and enjoyable. The staff works so hard to help each child be successful. From the minute you walk into the building you know that you are in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2014

My son has just blown us away with his reading abilities this year in first grade. I love the advanced placement classes that he is so that he is continually challenged. I do wish that the administration was better at communicating with the parents. Information is sent home without enough time to prepare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

It has been a pleasure to work at Imagine Bell Canyon. The staff works very hard as a team to help the students succeed in school. They bounce ideas off each other and they are there for support when any students are struggling and are all willing to help even if it is not there student or grade. Teachers also go above and beyond for their students to help they achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2014

We enrolled our son in the kindergarten class this year and he has excelled greatly. The staff are excellent, always available and willing to help in any way. We are enrolled for next year as well. Our son tells everyone, "I love my Bell Canyon School". I have told all of our friends to consider enrolling here. What a joy to have a school that is so involved with the growth of our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Imagine Bell Canyon is a great school with caring teachers and staff that genuinely care about the students. Decisions are made in the best interest of the students and parent involvement is highly encouraged. Parent communication is a high priority with face-to-face meetings, phone calls, emails, and letters sent home regularly. Teachers and staff truly believe in the success of all children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2014

My child has completed her second year at imagine Bell Canyon and me expectations for her have far exceeded what I expected. She loves school and loves reading. Her teachers both years have taken a one on one interest with each child to make sure they are living up to their potential. Parents and staff are very interested in the future of each child. I will continue to have her enrolled in this school through eighth grade and will definitely recommend Imagine Bell Canyon every opportunity I get. I love that she loves school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 28% 43%
Black 12% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • North Central Accreditation (2009)
  • Top 10 Most Improved Schools (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joshua Jordan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 547-7923

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Singapore Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Honors Program in 7th and 8th
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Flag football
  • TBD by incoming staff
Girls sports
  • Flag football
  • TBD by incoming staff

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Imagine Bell Canyon practices the three Rs. We teach a Relevant curriculum with Rigor and we Respect our students in their individuality.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18052 N Black Canyon Hwy.
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 547-7920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT