Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Bell Canyon

Charter | PK-8 | 455 students

We are best known for small class sizes.
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $81,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 84 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

186 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2010

This is the first year my children have attended Imagine Bell Canyon and my fourth grader and my kindergartner absolutely love it. My fourth grader finally is being challenged by a great teacher; Mrs. Patterson. Mrs. Zinn is a warm,friendly teacher who has really been able to get my son to enjoy learning. Let's not forget the most friendly front office staff. I have never experienced the kindness and love for the children at that school; not to mention the entire staff tries to get to know all the parents and children of the school. The Micro Society is a great experience for the children to prepare them for the "real world." I am very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

My Daughter is about to complete her first grade and she loves her teacher Mrs. Klein. She has grown a lot since the beginning of the year and she loves reading books and enjoys math homework. Everyday my daughter comes home excited about her school day and tries to explain to me the work she has done and the fun stuff she has learned. Mrs. Klein has done an outstanding job in making school days more enjoyable yet at the same time she made sure that the kids are learning. In my opinion, Mrs. Klein deserves kudos for her effort and job well done. Also, the new leadership team direction and vision (such as the introduction of Singapore math, micros city) has been proven to be effective and useful for all kids. I do believe the school deserves a better rating from last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

As we all know there is never such thing as A perfect school....sometimes you can send your kids to a great school, but they get a teacher that makes their experience not so good, and vice versa a not so great school with a wonderful teacher that reallyhad an impact on your childs learning experience...but no mater what the most important thing wih any school is "improvement" bell canyon has shown that they care enough to make improvements where needed..This is the 2nd year here for my children and I must say they would be upset with me if I told them they had to attend another school..The teachers this year have made the school a wonderful place for my kids. The improvements and growth of the school was simply amazing. It started a little rocky an I had concerns as any parent should, but hanging in there was worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Excellent Teachers this year, Safety and Discipline excellent, Parent Involvement is significant, Principal is the Regional Principal for all Imagine Schools and happens to be acting as a Principal for this school directly, I am impressed about the huge change in staff this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My daughter is in kinder this year & I love this school. Her teacher, Mrs. Merrifield is wonderful. They are learning so much & I'm very excited about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My daughter loves this school. She enjoys the amazing new art teacher, and loves her microsociety job. She adores her wonderful teacher too. Mrs. Ross is amazing! We cannot thank the school enough for what they have done for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this school! My son comes home excited about the things hes learned and the teachers are AMAZING. The Microsociety class alone is reason enough to put your child in this school. The day before Thanksgiving break as I waited to pick my son up from school the teachers and staff came out of the school first and lined up on either side of the sidewalk. As the kids left the school the teachers began clapping and cheering for the kids. Soon parents joined in. The kids were smiling ear to ear and my son said that it made him feel like the teachers really care about them. It was called The Tunnel of Hope. The teachers high 5 and knuckle bump the kids, pat them on the shoulder and ruffle their hair and most of all they smile AT your child. Incredible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

This is our 4th year at this school; my daughter started in 2006 in Kinder. I LOVE the changes that are being implemented under the new principal! One of my favorite changes is the addition of smart boards in every classroom (3rd and up; K-2 have 'floating' board to share). The PreK curriculum is great. I can't wait until my youngest is old enough to attend! I definitely reccommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I LOVE this school!!! They let my daughter start kindergarden this year even though her B-day is in Oct. My 3rd grader went from D's to A's and the work she is doing is more challenging! The whole staff cares about not just there education but them as a person. They have uniforms! No more fashion struggle it's all about the learning. They are doing new innovative activities that have the kids thinking outside the box: Singapour math, mircosocity to name a few! #1 thing is they want parent involment! This is tution free Charter school with a private prep school feeling! And it's K-8! This is the school I've been looking for and my children will reap the benifit of an amazing 21st centry education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

From the 1st impression through 1st quarter progress reports, I have had nothing but postives from this school. My oldest daughter was struggling at her previous school and beginning to hate school. Right now, her reading has improved and she is an 'A' student. I believe the quality of teachers has a great deal to do with that. The Teach for America program is one thing that caught my attention, the Kids at Hope approach to learning was another, and let's not forget Micro-Society. My wife and I are convinced that the small class size is another contributing factor. The classrooms are equiped with computer interactive whiteboards which help to engage the students. Also, my 4 yr old would have had to wait to start Kindergarten anyplace else, NOT at Imagine Bell Canyon. We love this place, and want our girls to grow with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

As of last year, if there was a negative star rating I would have given that. But this year really appears to be hopful and from what I am hearing, sounds like it will be an awesome year!!!!!! I really hope that all of these new teachers bring their fresh and creative ways of thinking to the table to better our children, because as cheesy as it sounds they really are our tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

I am so excited to have both my girls at Imagine Bell Canyon next year! The administration is caring, the new staff sounds both highly qualified and highly motivated and the new programs (Micro Society and the interactive smart boards) are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Hooray for the change at Imagine at Bell Canyon! The new Leadership Team has gone above and beyond to move this school to the next level. The new 2009-2010 school year is going to be the best yet, with new programs in place and new staff to carry them through. It is time for change at Imagine Bell Canyon and like I heard at the last parent meeting, I believe this new Leadership team will be successful in moving the school from a good school to a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

The new approach and vision of Imagine Bell Canyon is the reason why my child will be enrolled next school year. The dedication and determination of the new administration to provide the best educational environment for each individual student is taking this school to a whole new level. Parent involvement is increasing, communication has greatly improved, and a new standard of professionalism is present. As an educator and a parent, I believe I am ensuring a successful future for my child by partnering with the new Imagine Bell Canyon staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am so excited to have a brand new administration team at our school. The new changes are going to make a huge difference in the lives of our children and their families. A microsociety and kids at hope program are just the begining of a great school year. Our administration wants only positive, caring, and top notch teachers and that is why many teachers were not asked back for the 2009-2010 school year. Free pizza night, bowling & laser tag are some of the wonderful ways we keep in touch with our families and our community. Bell Canyon Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Kudos to the new administration for having the guts to start fresh! It's true that many teachers are being replaced. I see this as a good thing! The 4 out of 10 rating this school has is because of the staff. Time to start fresh with new ideas and new minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Recently, 3 teachers from Bell Canyon were rehired, 3 decided to obtain a position at Adams Traditional with Mrs Malone the fromer principal at Bell Canyon, 2 decided to look elsewhere for employment and 9 teachers were let go via a mass email. As a concerned citizen and a parent, I would question the reasons behind so many changes at Bell Canyon. The current staff was turning the school around and is very dedicated. Why are they trying to fix something that isn't broken and was finally starting to work?


Posted May 7, 2009

I am thrilled at the changes that Imagine Bell Canyon is implementing the 2009/2010 school year. Bell Canyon is a great school, but now it will be excellent. The new leaders of the team are positive, caring, passionate and determined to improve what is good to make it better. Go Imagine Bell Canyon!!! I am behind you 100%.


Posted March 3, 2009

I like the small atmosphere of the classrooms, the tech classes and that they have PE. My son moved here after being in another charter school that worked for my other kids but not him. He needs more one on one attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

This school was blessed by a strong leader in the principal. She had made many wonderful changed and strides with her approach to education. After two years of positive changes (look how the reviews improved) she is leaving. She will be missed, but hopefully we can follow her inspiration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 28% 43%
Black 12% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • North Central Accreditation (2009)
  • Top 10 Most Improved Schools (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joshua Jordan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 547-7923

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Singapore Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Honors Program in 7th and 8th
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Flag football
  • TBD by incoming staff
Girls sports
  • Flag football
  • TBD by incoming staff

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Imagine Bell Canyon practices the three Rs. We teach a Relevant curriculum with Rigor and we Respect our students in their individuality.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18052 N Black Canyon Hwy.
Phoenix, AZ 85053
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 547-7920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT