Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Cortez Park Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2006

I was very disappointed this year with the teachers. There was no sld class nor teacher quilified to teach. One of my children had f's all year and the teacher not once called to inform us of falling grades. I felt this year was a total waste of time and they were better off in public school then maybe they would have learned something. The kindergraden teachers are excellent! Mrs V. Is a very good and fair principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

This is really an excellent school with great, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My child went to this school for less than half of the school year. I did not find the school stimulating for him. I felt he was ahead of others in his class. His teacher didn't seem very knowledgable either. This was 5th grade. Do love school uniforms! The Principal was awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I found this school on the internet looking for an all day kindergarden. Ms. Deise who teaches all day kindergarden was terrific, she taught my daughter about culture, art, science, along with the regular ciriculmne. As my daughter transited into 1st grade she was already a step ahead of the students who came out of other kindergarden classes. I also had a 5th grader going there as well and I seen the improvement in her acdemics within the first month of her attendences. I love this school. And when my youngest is ready for school I am also having him attend here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

I am very pleased with this school! It is wonderful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 5, 2005

I am very pleased with Cortez Park Elementary School. I was concerned about my child, who in the middle of first grade was not reading and seemed to be struggling at another school, so I transferred her to Cortez Park. Immediately I knew I did the right thing. Her teacher was amazing, and by the end of the year she was reading by herself! What a relief! The teachers are warm and caring, and the curriculum is outstanding. This is a top notch school in an area where these types of schools are difficult to find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

Decent school; interesting location may not be 'ideal' for all families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Cortez Park Charter School is a great school. It has an outstanding curriculum, teachers who are caring and effective, and nice big classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

This school is very disorganized. Not only in its classrooms, but also in the office, the aftercare and the afterschool activities. The cheerleading program is a joke. I think it does have some good points but quite honestly they are steadily starting to outweigh the bad. For a charter school, low grade. I think unfortunately the area along with the types of parents bring it down. In my daughter's class there is a high number of only spanish speaking parents. How are they suppose to thelp their children with homework? They can't so their children are failing. As a matter of fact, there is actually a male student in the class that speaks no english. I feel sorry for these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

I love this school and my son doesnt want to go anywhere else, he has been on the honor roll for 2years ever since he has been there. The teachers are really good,but they need to offer more sports for the younger kids. This year my daughter will be starting kindergarden there. I have never had a problem there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

I feel that this is an awesome school. My son has been attending CortezPark for 3 years and has excelled beyond what I expected each year! The teachers are absolutely awesome and most of the staff is really quite nice and approachable. The cafeteria food has also improved over the years. I recommend this school for your child's first years for the simple fact they learn so much more than standard public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2003

I'm very pleased with quality of education that my daughter is receiving at CortezPark.She was struggling at her other school and is now excelling.The teachers are dedicated and are committed to excellance. The one thing that sets this school apart from others is that they are about kids and the staff goes that extra mile to help all of the children to be successful.The school also has a Saturday School Program 'Smarts' to strengthen the children's skills with Reading and Math. The students really enjoy the oppurtunity to participate in this awesome program. As a parent, it is nice have school were I can send my child were she is safe, academically challenged and motivated to do her best.'Great Job Cortez Park'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I like this school! I liked it the very first time I walked down the halls. My child is learning and doing well, however the only complaint he has is that he says the cafeteria food isn't very good. Other than that, he likes his school. I like his teachers too, they all seem real healthy and kind. They are all young, fresh and vital, and so into the kids. They really do love our kids and they show it in so many ways. The teachers will stay after school to help tutor your child so there really isn't any reason for them not to learn a subject . Some of the Public Schools don't do that, so if your child needs extra help the teachers will help them. Learning is the purpose of school anyway, so I give this school a pretty good rating overall.


Posted April 27, 2003

My son was there for his Kindergarten year and it was the worst school I had ever seen. Though their disciplinary procedures were at least exceptable for a child with special needs. The only good thing I could say about this school is the fact that they have a seperate teacher and room for children with behavioral problems.


Posted March 27, 2003

it's like sending your child to school in inner city Los Angeles...no really- I withdrew my daughter after 6 days


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 3%
White 17% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 589-9841

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3535 W. Dunlap
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 589-9840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Accel
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT