Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Faith North

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 299 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

Both of my children have now graduated from Faith North and both are excelling at their new, traditional schools. This is such a testimony to the wonderful and valuable education they received. Faith North gifted them with a love of learning and s sincere curiosity for the world. The principal knows each child by name and does such a superb job of creating a community and a sense of inclusion. I will be forever grateful for the many years that the teachers and the staff of Faith North fostered their interests and a sense of peace in my girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My granddaughter is learning so much at Faith North! She's in the first grade and loves school!


Posted January 17, 2014

I love this school. I have been at this school for almost 10 years. I have first hand knowledge that grace and courtesy permeate every aspect of communication at this school. I interact with parents on regular, day-to-day basis. Parents are overwhelming positive and regularly express that they feel this school is blessing in their families lives. This is their phrasing, not mine.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2013

My children have attended Faith North for 9 years. The education has always been and continues to be stellar. The blend of Montessori pedagogy with the public school curriculum has been wonderful. The ability to see my children and the other children at Faith North blossom over the years while following their natural curiosity and having their test scores reflect the educational excellence of the school has been very rewarding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I started working at Faith North in February and couldn't believe the oasis I found in the middle of downtown Phoenix. Not only is the campus beautiful and inviting, the students are just phenomenal. The children are polite, well-mannered and excel in their academics and afterschool activities. I am so grateful that this was the school I landed in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

Faith North is one of the few free Montessori schools in Arizona. The staff are highly trained and qualified. The curriculum passes state standards. The children are nurtured and encouraged as they develop academically, socially and physically.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2013

Faith North is a free, public Montessori preschool - 8 school in downtown Phoenix, and the staff is awesome. It has an "A" rating by the state of Arizona. Also, it is easy to get to if you work in downtown Phoenix and want to drop off your children. It's on the light rail line. You will love this school.


Posted June 27, 2013

My daughter started this school when she was in kindergarten as she got older the teachers got better until fifth grade, the teacher she had was the worst of the worst. The school did nothing when I complained. I used to love the school but obviously, it's gone downhill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I love this school! My daughter has been attending Faith North since Pre-K. She'll be advancing to 7th grade this fall and I couldn't have picked a better school for her to attend. Going through public school myself I see the differences. The community is close knit and the support is wonderful! It amazes me how it feels like a family more than school. The opportunities for outside learning is endless it seems! More than what I got at my traditional public school. As a parent, you strive to give your kids the best. I believe a better opportunity, if not the best, in education. I see that in her love of learning, everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

We really LOVE Faith North!! From Ms. Engdall (principle) to the teachers, there is nothing more we can ask for. Our daughters have never expressed any disinterest in attending school. In fact they're disappointed during breaks (winter, spring, summer and even weekends :-D). The Faith North community is very welcoming and provides a great environment for families!! Our children have grown so much (as a whole person) since beginning at Faith North!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Our Grandson is starting his second year at Faith North. So far so good, but would really like them to teach spanish from preschool all the way through 8th grade. They learn so much easier at at early age and being bilingual is so important these days. Would really like to see them incorporate this into the program. Have spoken with many other parents that feel the same way. Pls consider!!! Thanks.


Posted July 18, 2012

We love Faith North! My daugter started here in Pre-School and is about to start First Grade. I'm impressed with how much she has learned already (starting Multiplication and reading extremely well.) I especially find the small community at Faith North enduring and incredibly diverse. The teachers and principal appear to be genuinely interested in their students. We've looked at "10" school throughout Central Phoenix, and haven't found any reason to move her to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

After reading many of these negative reviews I felt it necessary to respond. This is my daughter's second year attending and I've never seen the discrimination that is repeatedly mentioned. I've also had nothing but positive interactions with the Principal. I'm especially pleased with the social worker, who has gone above and beyond helping my daughter academically and socially. My biggest complaints are the vast amounts of homework, extensive fundraising "opportunities" and a teacher that is sometimes too busy to help in the way needed. I see these negatives as a result of the school budget cuts, not a reflection of the school itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I am so happy my son was able to do 7th and 8th grade @ this school.The teachers he has are wonderful and understand the behavior of this age group.My son started @ faith north in the 6th grade after leaving a different montessori school in the area.The other school he went to was a horrible experience the last 2 years he went there.Thank you faith north for making him enjoy school again and making me remember why i choose montessori10 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Faith North is the school of choice for my 2 older boys and my youngest will attend next year. The teachers are committed and devoted, parent community supportive of staff and students, and children kind and respectful. I have been involved with the school for the past 6 years. Needless to say, the original draw and continuing high point is the years of experience, immense patience, and grace of the principal, Mrs. Engdall. She welcomes and listens to parents, treats students with kindness and dignity, choosing not to punish but rather teach in their weaker moments. The teachers, parents, and most of all students respect and admire her for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I can't say I wasn't warned about this principal but read thru this site and consider it carefully. My child attended this school at age 3 1/2 -4 and we were pleased but did not interact with the principal until this year. This year he got a new teacher and I started to get reports of behavior issues in class. We went in for our 1st parent teacher meeting eager to find a solution to help our child and instead of guidance we were told to never bring him back. Our child is bright, already reading and doing math but they flat out told us he wasn't their problem. This was days after his 5th birthday, a month into the school year... and they just gave up on him! We really liked his assistant teacher but she was not allowed to talk to us about what was really going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Diversity is a HUG issue! The school was made for the neighborhood kids and the principal don't want them there. In a district in which 90% of the student population is Hispanic, this particular school has a huge Caucasian population! I think there is lack of integrity in administrators. I really like some teachers because there are good and dedicated teachers there. I will never take my kids there nor recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2010

I love how the school feels like a big family. The teachers truly want to teach our chidren. They have out of town trips with their classmates. Its great for developing a childs independnce. I drive from Metro Phx to Downtown everyday and I wouldnt change it for anything. Faith North is a wonderful school in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Stellar school! We are so fortunate to have a public Montessori school here in downtown Phoenix. Our kids are going on 4 years at this awesome school. They are self motivated hard workers with a love of learning and exploring. Thanks Faith North!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Greatest free Montessori School in Phoenix. Devoted Staff. Excellent Administration. Hugely Supportive and Caring Parents
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 43%
White 30% 42%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 E. Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-3790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Garfield School
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT